We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a one night stay to relax, staff, food and facilities were amazing. There is a really high standard with taking care of guests. We had a lovely time at meals and were looked after well at breakfast by Colm . I'm defiantly coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to read you had a wonderful stay with us. Colm is so thrilled with the special mention.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

A really efficient & friendly run Hotel, wheather you are staying with them or just popping in for lunch or a evening meal, They cant do enough for you, the food is wholesome and they have a great variety menu wise , all the classics that you expect in a well established Hotel, They have a wide screen T.V in the lounge for sports fanatics that are passing through the Downs.. Ahem !! , The views from any window is breath taking and a real treat while your eating . Their woodlands walk is prefect for after your meal, " The healthy option" I highly recommend it, This hotel knows its customers and inturn provides a realy good service. Well done & keep the good work up. see you soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toxmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. What a lovely compliment that you feel the Glenview was "A Home from Home".

We are so happy to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us and you hope to visit us again in the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We are a family of four with two young children aged 7 and 5. Booked into this hotel for a one night break. The room was without a view, but comfortable and suited us well. We had Sunday lunch while waiting for our room to be made ready as we arrived early. It was chosen from a varied carvery, and eaten in a conservatory with an absolutely fabulous view over The Glen Of The Downs. The extensive gardens and rambling paths made an excellent after lunch walk. It was off to the pool next, where the water was the set at the best temp I have ever experienced. The complex is modern, bright and relaxed, with little spas throughout the pool which the children loved.
All the staff we encountered were polite, helpful and professional. If there was one point that could be improved, the bar menu was a little limited, excellent choice for kids, less so for adults. Overall a beautiful experience, wonderful views, relaxing atmosphere and incredible gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Glenview hotel. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit from your accommodation, food, leisure and our friendly efficient staff.

We look forward to welcoming the whole family back to the Glenview in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was on a course from work & stayed here for 6 nights with good food, good views, good service & all in a lovely setting.If I were to find any fault it would be with the decor in the bathroom, wi-fi included here & two choices as to where we wanted to eat. The Bar restaurant gave superb quality & quantity food & there is no way you could leave here hungry, it was a little slower with service than the one on the first floor which also had the more scenic views.The food here is a bit more up market & the choice of meals was very good also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of your recent business trip to the Glenview hotel. i am delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lovely Hotel, really enjoyed the swimming pool. The gardens and beautiful woodland walks a real bonus. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety and the staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanda2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and delighted to read that you are planning a return visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Checked into the hotel after booking it at least minute. They put us in a very small room only fit for two people and with no view. But I went down to tell them the room was too small for a family of four and they noticed there was a mistake on their side with the booking and we were upgraded to the presidential suite which the kids loved especially the jacuzzi and all the room to play hide and see,. The pool area is great for kids not so great for adults to have a comfortable swim. The staff were helpful. The restaurant was nice but the steak is not worth the supplement .

Room Tip: Try to get one on the front because the back has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gedIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your accommodation. We were also pleased to hear your children loved the pool. Many thanks also for your kind comments regarding the team – they are indeed a wonderful asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just back in Cork after a 3 night break in this hotel with my fiance. Our room was on the ground floor 120 which I would not recommend if you were out all day trekking and hoping for a good nights sleep. Everynight we were awoken to a staff member making noises outside the door as they were putting away ware and cutlery into the room across the corridor. As for the room itself was very small, bathroom sink cracked and floor in toilet very dirty and stained with what looks like false tan, a bit of parazone would fix the problem. The hotel was also very cold with the heating on a timer. The only great thing we found with this hotel was the Staff in the conservatory bar were outstanding. We ate here for the 3 nights and the chef was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am very upset to read of your disappointing experience. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these matters in further detail.

Please contact me on the telephone number below.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
01 2873399

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,111 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,045 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $91 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing