We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary celebration”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Meath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“anniversary celebration”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in early November 2012. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with a balcony which had amazing views of the Glen of the Downs . We had a dinner included in our package which we availed of on our second night and it had great choice and tasted fantastic as did the house wine . The pool was of great benefit to relax in after we did quite a lot of walking - exploring the woods around the hotel and Delgany village and also the lovely cliff path from Greystones to Bray. We also walked one of the trails in Glendalough which is only a short drive away . The wonderful buffet breakfast gave us the energy for all the exercise ! The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our enquiries for information on where to go and what to do . We would highly recommend this hotel for good value and only a short drive from Dublin .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycoupleMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. I will share your kind comments with my team. Everyone will be so pleased to hear their efforts to deliver an exceptional service have been appreciated.

Many thanks again for such a wonderful review.

We look look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    318
    169
    52
    39
See reviews for
342
406
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with my family not too long ago for a wedding, The staff were very helpful and courteous as-well as lovely, as was the hotel. With plenty of views and scenery around the premises, The rolling green hills and the beautiful Gardens surrounding the hotel really made it easy to relax.
The food was Delicious and very reasonably priced. The rooms were a good size and always kept spotlessly clean, including the comfortable beds that were changed daily. The staff and standards of the hotel are a credit to the owners and managers and i would have no hesitation in returning to this establishment. Thanks to all who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

It gave me great pleasure to read your review. I was delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. I will pass your kind comments to my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I visited the hotel for a wedding reception in September 2012 and stayed two nights. The room was excellent and breakfast each morning was a self serve buffet which was superb and set us up for the day. The staff were very helpful and always smiling. The wedding reception was excellent and food and wine was served up by a very efficient welcoming staff - congratulations to all and thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandMeriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your views on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We are delighted to read you had a superb time and your kind comments regarding our team are very much appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our second trip to this hotel, first time we were attending a wedding and had a room on the ground floor, which was just ok. Our latest trip was for one night just to unwind and relax. We requested a room with a view, and had a lovely room on second floor with lovely views. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was spotless, and breakfast was good. We chilled out in the spacious seating area, and enjoyed our walk around the gardens. The hotel has a pool, but we did'nt use it. Had a lovely stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are thrilled to read this is your second visit to the Glenview Hotel, that in itself is a tribute to the great team we have here.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I am delighted to hear you are planning a return visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I had meal in the Woodlands Restaurant last week. The restaurant overlooks the Glen of The Downs which makes for a very pleasant view. The restaurant is bright and modern. The food was excellent and the wine was very good value (Chilian). The sorbet between courses is a nice touch. The deserts were something to be seen.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bilcar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review of our Woodlands Restaurant. Yes, I must agree the views from the Restaurant are fabulous.

I have passed your comments regarding the food to our Head Chef and he is delighted to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable meal experience.

Thank you again we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Kind Regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Woke up to a beautiful view of the small mountains surrounding the hotel. Rooms not very modern but warm and comfortable. Breakfast is usual fare without great panache. Avoca shop just up the road and Powerscourt not far either.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views on your recent trip to the Glenview Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you have a car, it is very easy to get into Dublin, to the shore and into the mountains. Most of the staff is friendly. Nice breakfast.

Apparently booking a room doesn't mean the room is actually available when you arrive. We've booked a family room for 3 nights. But the first night we had to stay in a 2-person room with camp beds because no family room was available. There was no financial compensation.
Bathrooms are outdated. The pool is nice but very outdated. You have to wear swim caps!

Room Tip: The family room is spacey and nice. Just make sure you get it when you've booked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jorg_janssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am sorry we did not have a family room available for your first night. I am delighted to hear we could facilitated your request for your other two nights stay.

I am also sorry to hear you felt our pool is very outdated. We ask our guests to wear swimming caps for health and safety reasons. I would like to apologize if this caused upset.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,044 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
508 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
450 reviews
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing