We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word - Dump”
Review of Tynte House

Tynte House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tynte House
Ranked #4 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2010

One Word - DUMP. We stayed at this location for two nights with friends over the weekend of the 12th of November. As soon as we sat down in the front room I began to get very itchy - one of my friends actually got nits ( although having said that it was no more than he deserved given the fact that he destroyed the wedding we were at the previous evening ). We stayed in on the saturday night but the scratching got so bad I could not wait to get a few drinks in to ease the pain. Without doubt the absolute highlight of the weekend was waking up on the sunday (after a terrible nights sleep) and realising it was just about time to leave.... Should I ever go to Dunlavin again I would rather sleep in a ditch than at this location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank assasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

The house was beautiful with roomy bedroom/bathroom. No hair dryer. The host was very hospitable and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Once in Dunlavin there is nothing to do. There are a few stores and pubs. The town itself was littered and there seemed to be many teens and young adults with nothing to do but hang out in the streets. Once at Tynte House, plan to stay there or drive to another town for restaurant/pub.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank calajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This was our first visit to picturesque Dunlavin and to Tynte House, a beautiful house full of character which occupies a special place in the village’s history. It is ideally placed for exploring the beautiful Wicklow Mountains but for us the warmth of the welcome & the convivial company of Caroline & John is what really makes this B&B very special - the hearty Irish breakfast takes some beating also!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My family and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Tynte House over a weekend. The hosts proved to be a delightful and genuine family who welcomed us warmly to their establishment. The house is an authentic Georgian building with bags of character and personality and a welcome change from the usual 21st century blandness often on offer. Dunlavin is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Wicklow Mountains and getting a feel for a more rural location. The breakfast was excellent and included local produce, well cooked.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabufster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Tynte House is a lovely, period house right in the middle of Dunlavin village. Very quiet and peaceful. Comfortable bedroom and great welcome from mine hosts, Caroline and John (and their polite, friendly children). Formidable and delicious Irish breakfast. Walls covered in fascinating old pictures of the village. For a poor benighted Englishman, it feels like a taste of the real Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Caroline and JJ run one of the most charming and cosy hotels in Ireland. As well as being superb hosts, their house is beautiful and the rooms clean, warm and very comfortable. Their location makes it ideal to explore the stunning countryside and the nearby lakes and mountains, and the tasty Irish breakfasts are just the thing to get your energy levels up for a nice days' walking. Would definitely recommend this hotei to anyone travelling to Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WakeVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

What hospitality!. For someone new to Ireland, this was the place to be.. out in the country, an hour from Dublin, beautiful weather, a fascinating place to stay with lots of local history. some uncomfortable for an English visitor. Its the people you meet that make the difference. The couple wjho own it with their friendly children are excellent hosts full of warmth , humour and local stories, and a great breakfast the next morning

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordboyWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
0.0 mi away
Rathsallagh House
Rathsallagh House
#1 of 4 in Dunlavin
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Calverstown
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knockree Youth Hostel
Knockree Youth Hostel
#1 of 7 in Wicklow
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynte House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range: $92 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynte House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tynte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing