We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but won't be rushing back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tynte House

Tynte House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tynte House
Ranked #4 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine but won't be rushing back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here while attending a weekend in Rathsallagh last weekend. Tynte House was close to the venue and easy to locate within Dunlavin village. The host John was lovely and very obliging. Room extremely cold. Some paint/wall peeling on the corridors. TV didn't work. Breakfast the next morning was average (and included instant coffee). Shower warm but not that powerful. Clean and plenty of towels. Overall an average experience outset by a kind friendly host.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
18
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Tynte House for a wedding in nearby Rathsallagh. John went above and beyond to help us during our stay. The airline had lost our luggage during our flight over and John, not only called the airline & customs every other hour for 2 days, but also drove us to the nearest mall (~25 mins away) to buy new clothes for the wedding. And when we had to go to Dublin Airport to pick up our luggage, he gave us instructions on how to get there via public transportation and drove us 30 mins to the bus stop. The breakfasts were classic home-cooked food - filling & delicious. The rooms were vintage victorian style with high ceilings and classic decor. The bathrooms were a bit on the smaller side, but expected for the period.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Tynte House for a couple of nights because we wanted to go walking in the Wicklow Mountains and it welcomed our dog (a pity that the Wicklow Mountains didn't welcome our dog ...) I thought it looked very grand from the pictures on its web-site but in reality it was rather shabby. John, the host, was very friendly a welcoming but the room was rather old-fashioned. There was no guest information in the room at all - not even instructions on how to make the satellite TV work! Breakfast was quite good and portions were generous though the coffee could have been much better. We didn't think it was particularly good value in comparison to other places we stayed on the same trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tynte House recently for a few nights, to attend the Dunlavin Arts Festival. The house is very centrally located and does indeed have bags of character. We were made enormously welcome by John, who told us fascinating stories about the history of the house and the Tynte family etc. I had a particular interest in the local history and John was a mine of information. He kindly arranged for us to see another relevant property in the area, where we were greeted with equal warmth and hospitality by his brother. The old photos on the walls are brilliant.

The breakfasts were lovely and the rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable and had a fading charm befitting their age. Dunlavin was a most friendly place overall and we really enjoyed meeting the locals. Do not drive through Dunlavin, but walk or drive around it. The countryside is stunning. There is good food to be had at the Meitheal Cafe right opposite the Market House, home made cakes, lunches etc., though it does not open in the evenings. The only slight downside is that there is really nowhere to eat in Dunlavin in the evenings (apart from the haute cuisine and high priced Rathsallagh) and it is necessary to go a little further afield. John will, by prior arrangement, provide an evening meal however.

Do check out the sights around the area - Blessington, with its lakes, bookshop-cum-coffee-shop, etc., and Russborough House and take a drive up the Wicklow Way, where the river runs as black as treacle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Tynte house for a night as we were passing through Wicklow and really enjoyed it! The owner John was the nicest guy in the world! He drove us to the Wicklow mountains and our bus station, and became somewhat of a tourguide telling us all about the area and it was really interesting! The B & B has a very Victorian-esque feel to it. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The decor was a little outdated, but all in all it was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is old world- bags of atmosphere! Real log fire on entry and friendly family welcome. I half expected to see a friendly ghost. Seems like the same family have lived there for over a hundred years! Clean bright rooms and good breakfast with homemade brown bread. Go for it its a no brainer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

On arrival we could not get in, banged on doors and windows for over an hour. Bathroom was dirty, room and whole house smelled of damp. It was very old fashioned and over priced at 80 for double room. We would not have stayed there only we had a Wedding in Rathsallagh and that was booked out. The person "in charge" (who did not seem to be the owner) had no manor for dealing with the public and was of no help at all. Very disappointing stay, woud not recommend to anyone - do not stay there!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunlavin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
0.0 mi away
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Calverstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathsallagh House
Rathsallagh House
#1 of 4 in Dunlavin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynte House

Property: Tynte House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynte House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tynte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing