We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I think this has to be the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are fantastic, staff welcoming and friendly, food amazing. I'm running out of superlatives! After dinner we retired to one of the drawing rooms with a big open fire where there was no TV which was great. The whole place is really cosy. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night so we didn't get a chance to explore the area but we did have a walk around the golf course the evening we arrived. The icing on the cake was that we could take our dog with us and he loved it too! They have accommodation for dogs in an old stable and an infra red bulb overhead to keep them warm. He was welcomed by the resident dog who was adorable too. This place is as close to perfect as you can get and we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pride&prejudice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for a “superlative “review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed Rathsallagh so much. We love to see our guests having a good time here, and even more so when they can bring “man’s best friend “ along, it was a great pleasure having him to stay as well. We are celebrating 40 years of Ireland's Blue Book this year and have a lovely weekend offer available to celebrate the Blue Book and Blue Book Gift Vouchers, check out our web site for details, and please don’t forget to bring the dog as well, you are all so welcome. Wishing you all the Compliments of the Season and thank you once again for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 441 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I love Rathsallagh. It's got everything going for it. The most beautiful house where you truly feel like a valued guest. The rooms are spectacular. I've stayed in about ten of them at this stage - most recently the Garden Room which has fantastic views of the walled garden, complete with birdsong. The room has a massive bathroom with a huge bath in the middle of the room where you can soak and gaze out at the garden. Or you can have a power shower if you're in a hurry - but try not to be! Unless you are rushing down to have a G&T in the bar! Dinner is divine. All fresh local food with herbs and veg from the garden. Relax with the papers in front of a log fire in one of the sumptuous sitting rooms or go for a walk around the beautiful grounds with ancient trees lining the driveway. Breakfast is legendary. You'll gain a few pounds but what of it! This place is an escape from the real world. All the staff make you feel so welcome - it's like staying in someone's home, only better. The only bad thing is having to leave.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and I've loved all the ones we've stayed in. Some people like to be in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi Thora. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a beautiful review. It was lovely to see you back here ta Rathsallagh again. You know you are right, you must have stayed in about 10 of our rooms by now, you only have 19 left to go !. The Garden Room is one of my favorites, I stayed in that for my own wedding night at Rathsallagh - many moons ago. Thank you again for such a kind and detailed review, it is so much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back in Rathsallagh soon. From the O’Flynn’s and all the team at Rathsallagh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Was here at a family wedding. The staff were some of the best at any hotel I've ever stayed at. The rooms are fantastic every one of them different. Would recommend this to anyone. Didn't play the golf course but it did look good. Basically loved the stay here

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank soceal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We love your description of Rathsallagh as fab and quirky, thank you so much. The team here are also thrilled you gave them a lovely mention. It’s a pity you missed the golf course this time around, but please od come back soon and bring your best game !. Thank you again from all at Rathsallagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in Rathsallagh House hotel using a Megadeal voucher. At the outset I must state that the voucher made no difference whatsoever to how we were treated. It is as close as you are ever likely to to " home from home".We were made feel most welcome and were immediately provided with an upgraded room. A casual thank you brought a question as to whether we were celebrating an event . I happened to mention that it was my wifes birthday. I mention this as after a delightful meal my wife was presented with a small birthday cake on the house.The accommodation and sitting rooms are most comfortable with big open fires.The location is superb and only about one hour from Dublin.Its not cheap but is definitely on my list for a return visit. Incidentally the golf course and spa rooms are excellent. A little bit of heaven.

Room Tip: I liked having a room in the main house as it was a wet evening and some of the rooms are across a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. It should never make a difference as to what voucher or other offer you are on when you visit Rathsallagh, we are so delighted when we have guests to stay and you are all so welcome no matter how you got to us. We are celebrating 40 years of Irelands Blue Book this year and have a lovely weekend offer available to celebrate the Blue Book and Blue Book Gift Vouchers, check out our web site for details. This little bit of heaven is ready and waiting for your next visit, please do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Coming from the UK we were in a mad rush from Roslare to meet friends for dinner, so a little stressed out before we arrived. It was like arriving home...The O'Flynn family put everything on pause..driving like a bat out of hell from wexford , we were "made" slow everything down and by the time we got to the dining room we were superstars. There is nothing that can relay what Rathsallagh is .Words are useless. 5* Thank You

Room Tip: Every room is different and special - nothing will disappoint :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

On Trip Advisor words are never useless – although in the wrong hands they can be devastating on the livelihoods for those upon which they are unleashed. We don’t always get it right, sometimes we do get it disastrously wrong, but we always try our best. And for you it seems we have succeeded in presenting Rathsallagh in the way would like all our gusts to find it, a warm welcome and a breakaway from the pace and stress of life. Thank you so so much for your very kind words. We do hope you will come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and festivities at Rathsallagh in June 2013 and I really couldn’t speak highly enough of the venue, the team, the food, the service... the whole experience. It’s such a beautiful location, very well maintained, comfortable, relaxed and so welcoming. I felt at home from our very first visit.

Nico, the head chef, was fantastic and catered for our every quirky need!... tailoring the menu to our exact wishes. The cuisine was perfect. I had some doubts whether they could provide meat to order for so many guests (circa 140) but they pulled it off superbly. It transpired that we had a number of celiac guests, one allergic to butter, some vegans – all catered for without a fuss. There were so many complements to the chef from our guests.

Catherine and her team were excellent, very generous with their time and thought of every detail. They are so professional with a soft touch.

The only upset was that our wedding day was the only rainy day in June!

So we would like to say a huge THANK YOU to all at Rathsallagh and look forward to returning on our anniversaries to come.

Room Tip: Don't miss the award winning breakfast - yummy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susankfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Our team here at Rathsallagh are ecstatic from the praise you have lavished upon them. Thank you. We don’t blame you for having doubts about our ability to cook meat to order for so many guests, but you know Nico and his team are very dedicated and talented and they just love to go that extra mile. A review like yours is what we live for, it’s a testament to the delivery of a great service from a great team, and we thank you having having the trust to let Rathsallagh host the most important day of your life. We wish you both long life and happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This a charming place for a family (or any other) reunion. An old stable yard exquisetely converted into a charming family run country house hotel nestled adjacent to the Wicklow Hills and surrounded by a lengthy and challenging golf course. The en-suite bedrooms are delightfully furnished and comfortable and each is as unique as its name. In addition to the personal touch of the O'Flynn family the supervision of the dining room by their experienced chef is the high point of the Rathsallagh stay- the dinner menu is short but sufficiently diverse to suit all tastes and the food is delicious. With such good dining the wine selections could use a little expansion. For the traveller breakfast is magnificent - a full Irish extravaganza complete with fresh farmyard eggs made to order and rarely served traditional kedgeree. The beauty of the location together with a welcoming, accomadating and well trained staff make the Rathsallagh stay a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podge747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write you lovely review. Rathsallagh is indeed an ideal place for a family or other reunion or celebration, particularly since you can take over the place exclusively. This creates a lovely house party atmosphere while at the same time giving you and your guest’s great privacy. We will take on board you comments re the wine list and will work to expend that. Thank you also for your lovely praise for our breakfast, the kitchen team are only delighted. We do hope you will visit Rathsallagh again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
11.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
9.9 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
923 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
593 reviews
24.9 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range: $186 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing