We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Return trip - fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Return trip - fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

As the title states this was a return trip. Having had a relatively disappointing first time visit last year and put a review on this site to that effect, we were offered a very generous complimentary one night return stay by the owner, Mr O'Flynn.
Credit where credit is due, our second visit here was exceptional. The evening meal and breakfast were both top class. Our room was faultless. The staff are just incredibly friendly and helpful.
There is a lovely ambience about Rathsallagh and I think everyone should try to at least stay there once.
Again, many thanks to the owner for his kind offer to stay here - my mind was definitely changed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PadraigOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for coming back to us and thank you for your great review. You know we don’t always get it right, and when we don’t we will put up our hands and apologise. Your original review was fair and constructive, and your additional private correspondence was extremely helpful. You don’t know how much that is appreciated. Sometimes we receive vindictive and spurious reviews ( Lidl lady above ! ) that are very hard to either correct or to respond to, dealing with you has been a pleasure and we hope it will continue to be so for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    56
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
93
186
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently spent a "treat" night at Rathsallagh House with my partner. And can only say it was the most relaxing overnight I have had in years.
The hotel and its staff are warm and welcoming as soon as you come through the door, until you, sadly, leave. The location is stunning, my only regret is that I did not bring my walking shoes as there are lovely walks around the gardens, and lovely drives in the vicinity. We stayed in the Garden Room and I could have spent all day sitting in the comfortable chairs listening to the music provided, and looking out onto the beautiful spring garden. Another great bonus was the huge bathroom and bath - gorgeous. We had our evening meal there and it was delicious from start to finish. Also a very good breakfast, before we sadly had to leave.
Go to Rathsallah and relax, revive and refresh.

Room Tip: My favourite would be the Garden Room, in a word gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrustyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that Rathsallagh appears to have worked it’s magic on you, its such a relaxing place when you get into it. The Garden room is one of the older rooms as you say looking out onto the Walled Gardens, the funny thing about the bath room is that even though the double ended bath is in the middle of the room looking out the window, you can see out , but no one can really see in. A bit daunting at first , but a lovely experience when you get used to it. Thank you also for the lovely review on the food here. It was a pleasure having you to stay and please do come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the very first day we went to view the house as a prospective place for our wedding we knew this was the only place for us to have our wedding & we are so glad we did, The house and surrounding grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the house itself really is old world meets new world full of character and charm. The staff could not have been any more helpful and everything we asked for was met with nothing but a can do attitude, We opted to stay the night before with the Bridal party and had dinner and drinks which was just a lovely start to our wedding and the wedding day was very relaxing partly due to this. We had our marriage ceremony in the orangery which has perfect surroundings and the perfect alternative to not getting married outside. Our guests where then greeted with cakes and scones along with tea , coffee and cocktails .We used both the drawing rooms and grounds for our photos and regal is the only way to describe some of them, Our reception was held in the Pavilion ( permanent marquee) which is just enchanting. The food was delicious with a fantastic ambiance and all our guests have made sure to tell us this and what a fantastic time they had and how Rathsallagh was the perfect wedding venue for all the reasons above, We are just looking forward to the day we get to experience been a guest at a wedding there sometime and experience all the magic Rathsallagh has to offer to make this the perfect place for a wedding again, but meanwhile we will happily look forward to a romantic escape away in the future and we just to like to say thanks to all the team there for making our day what it was.

Room Tip: Rooms are each unique and full of character with names on them not numbers to reflect the individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We were honoured and privileged to host your wedding, and now you have written such a beautiful review as well, we do not know how to thank you enough. At our weekly management meeting your review was read out to the team, and the beaming smiles just said it all. We do hope you will come and visit soon for a romantic break, please get in touch ( or have a look at our web site for some great summers specials ) and we will be sure to look after you. Thank you again. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I got married in Rathsallagh and have stayed there a number of times since. My wedding was all I could ever have hoped for. The night before and the day of the wedding could not have been better, a fact which was also confirmed by so many of our guests. The food is always delicious and the ambience is always fantastic. I love Rathsallagh and will return many times, of that I am sure :-)

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiiiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We were delighted to read your review. We absolutely love to see our past brides return. Do you know that last year we had the first wedding for the daughter of a bride that was marred here herself, yes we have been around for a long time !. Please do keep coming back and thank you again for your loyal support, it very much appreciated by us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a typical old Irish farm house in beautiful grounds with some lovely walks. You can either stay in the original house or in a mews building. The rooms in the old original house are very quaint but the sound proofing is poor so if you are easily disturbed by the noise of staff moving around the place in the early hours of the morning or people making noise late at night – the modern rooms in the mews building are a better option. The dining room and sitting rooms are beautifully furnished with oak panelling, large open log fires etc. The food is very good – fresh ingredients and Irish country cooking style. The breakfast is particularly impressive with a huge side of cooked ham, mouth- watering smoked salmon and excellent selection overall. Would definitely recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are not as quiet as those in the mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Rathsallagh is a very popular place for a romantic break, and we glad that you found it so. Right now the tress are all in leaf – after a long winter – and the walks in the walled garden and woodlands are just wonderful. Thanks you for you praise of our food, our kitchen team are absolutely thrilled. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is situated a couple of miles from Dunlavin village, but well signposted. Lovely grounds. We were in the main house. Some other guests were in other buildings. The room was spacious and cosy. The reception was in an adjacent building. The layout was superb. The food excellent, and service great. The band were good at several musical types and catered for all ages there, and conjured up a good atmosphere. Next morning we were allowed a unhurried departure after an excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We remember this wedding well, it was a really wonderful affair and it was a delight looking after you all . Thank you for your lovely review and in particular your comments on our breakfast. Made up of our own free range eggs, local hams and breakfast meats and of course my Mothers homemade preserves, this breakfast is a pleasure to serve to someone who knows how to appreciate it. Please do come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Rathsallagh for two nights bed and breakfast with two dinners included. The reception was most warm and welcoming, we stayed in the Lavander room which was beautifully decorated with three piece suite and huge bathroom.
The hospitality we received from the owners was outstanding and made us feel so welcome and relaxed.
Dinnder was simply amazing from start to finish, both food and service was five star plus.
Breakfast is a culinary feast, the best you could ever have.
Sitting at the log and turf fire after dinner was so relaxing
Overall our stay exceeded our expectations and we have stayed in many hotels worldwide and none could match Rathsallagh.Congratulations to the O'Flynn family and thank you for giving us two nights to remember.
We woul highly recommend Rathsallagh.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joydek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Also thank you for buying into what Rathsllagh is really all about, a family run hostelry with long serving and loyal staff working in beautiful surroundings. . It was such a pleasure looking after you both . We look forward to seeing you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
0.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
0.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Property: Rathsallagh House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing