We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rathsallagh was the first venue we looked at and after being there nowhere else compared. It is absolutely beautiful. Having the house exclusively for the day is wonderful and a definite selling point. As each room is decorated differently it gives a homely feel unlike a hotel. We are living in the UK so most correspondence was done by email, Catherine and all the team are brilliant and were always quick to reply to any queries. As our wedding was in October we were worried about the weather but thankfully we had a fine sunny day. This was brilliant as we had photos taken in the gardens which are lovely.

We used the pavilion as we had just under 100 guests. This room is lovely as it looks out over the grounds. All the guests were full of praise for the food which was excellent, the room and the venue as a whole with all guest rooms drawing lavish praise. A great day was had by all. Breakfast the following morning was also very good.

My parents are from the neighbouring village Grangecon so having our reception in Rathsallagh made our day very special. I really cannot recommend the place highly enough, it gave us the perfect day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07cinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review, yours is all the more appreciated as it comes from someone with a proven track record on TA. Catherine and her team of wedding coordinators are absolutely thrilled that you gave them a mention. Wishing you both long life and happiness and thank you so much for supporting us here in Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    57
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
104
197
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am a huge fan of Blue Book destinations. I enjoy their charm, individuality and rustic ambiance. However, my stay in Rathsallagh didn't quite live up to expectations. It was an average stay and the rooms look pretty tired.

I stayed here with my scrawny friend who treated me to a night away as a gift so I have no idea how much it cost. We stayed in the Coral Room which was pretty bland but comfortable and clean. However it wasn't really the kind of room one would want to spend too much time in.

On the plus side, the grounds are pristine and there are beautiful walks through the golf course which looks fantastic in the Fall with multicoloured leaves confettied on the grass.

Also worthy of note was a great jacuzzi room. Jacuzzi's are best enjoyed with a bottle of bubbly and we enjoyed an hour of bubbles in bubbles.

Staff were friendly and food was good.

Overall, I probably wouldn't return here in a hurry but would prefer to sample other Blue Book destinations.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Coral Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Rathsallagh. The Coral room is a lovely room on the ground floor looking out over those beautiful pristine grounds that you enjoyed so much. I would not normally reveal the price if I felt it was a surprise / present etc , but in this instance I feel you should know the value you were getting. Your friend booked your stay on a Megal Deal voucher and although the voucher had expired we were delighted to accept his booking for one nights B&B,( in a Standard room ) €30 dining credit and the bubbles all for €120. I know both you and he enjoyed the private Jacuzzi room and of course use of that was included as well . The Coral room is a little over 265 sq feet and, and although it is in a part of the house that is over 300 years old it could not be described as tired, but its not over modern either and matches the period of the place. If you ever do decide to visit us again and would like a room where you could spend more of the day then one of our 570 sq foot Superior rooms might be a nice option. We are delighted to be part of the Blue Book for over 20 years, and of course you must try out our Member properties, they will be as delighted to welcome you and your friend as were we.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Homely, authentic with warm hospitality. I’ve been to Rathsallagh several times in the last number of years and each time it delivers on what it is; a genuine Irish country house. The bar has a good natural atmosphere, no annoying background music here, and the drawing rooms are relaxing with big open turf and log fires. The staff appear to be mostly local and are professional and friendly. The bedrooms all have names which can be confusing after hours but adds to the appeal. We have stayed in rooms overlooking the court yard and walled garden and all had excellent finishes and luxurious products….and great big bathrooms as well as beds. The menu here is classical French with some modern influences, the dining room itself having timber walls and a great big fireplace, again it fits the period of the house, this is a place to relax and unwind in genuine old world luxury. Lovely walks, views and golf on site available if your thing. We will be back again.



.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff at reservations and ask for a courtyard room as closest to main house, easy parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oenophil1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for coming back to stay with us again. Apparently an oenophile is a lover of wine . More intriguing is a restaurant of that name in New York that had a sign in the window giving its definition of oenophile as “ an affliction of the senses characterized by intense cravings for good food and service and vintage wines served in a tasteful, comfortable setting at reasonable prices” A restaurant reviewer of the time said that Oenophile sounded like a disease one could catch, some times when replying on these pages I rather think it would actually be a cure for some far worse afflictions. Thank you again and we hope we will see you again soon. From the Rathsallagh team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rathsallagh has a lovely ambience about it. The turf fires in the sitting areas are instantly relaxing. However the gas fire in the restaurant was disappointing - why gas?!
We stayed in the Lily Room which was a fine sized room with a lovely big bed, big bathroom and especially appreciated - a big bath. Overall the decor of Rathsallagh is a bit tired - especially in the dining room, and some elements could be improved. The bar area is really disappointing - boring bright lighting and no music make for a strangely silent experience, with the hum of the fridge and the dishwasher behind the bar being the only noise. We opted to have our drinks in one of the sitting rooms in front of the turf fire instead.

Dinner was also a disappointment to us - the dining room is visually dated, and the menu was similarly dated. Old fashioned faux-leather menu holders, and old-fashioned food descriptions - and when our meals arrived, they were heavy and drowning in sauces. I had cod which was overpowered by heavy sweet sauces on the plate, and my husband's duck was cut into thick slabs. There was nothing wrong with the food but it was all very heavy with too many sauces for our taste - even the potatoes were swimming in butter. My mussels starter was delicious but again, the sauce was so rich and heavy - a bit too much.

The gardens are beautiful and a lovely surprise - Rathsallagh's setting is superb and the gardens are so well tended they are a pleasure to walk through. Our room had doors into the courtyard but no mat inside the doors; walking in and out from the courtyard meant we were dragging leaves and muck in onto the carpet. We asked one of the staff for a mat and they said they'd see what they could do, but nothing appeared and it wasn't mentioned again. Similarly, in the entrance to the accommodation building from the courtyard, there was no mat and we felt we were walking dirty boots onto the floor and the large rug.

Overall a very nice night away for us, the staff were a pleasure, the turf fires were great and the grounds are fantastic. We'd hope the chef might update his menu with lighter, less fussy dishes, and the management might update the dining room itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Manager at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for your visit to Rathsallagh on our 2011 Pigs Back deal ( €120 for B&B, Prosecco on arrival and a €30 dining credit ), I do hope you will keep on eye out as the 2012 version of this offer is due to be released soon, although the number of vouchers available is very limited .
I am sorry you were not happy with our dining room, Rathsllagh is over 400 years old so we cant unfortunately remove the oak paneling on the walls and replace them with stainless steel. ( we do replace the carpet every year however and the linen tablecloths, linen napkins and fresh flowers are replaced every day ) You asked re the gas effect fire, and you also noticed the lovely smell of turf smoke around the place, and we cant have that in the dining room obviously . The old kitchen bar is a similar story ( it has no dishwasher and you cant hear the fridge ! ) but it has an old clock on the wall ( beside the turf and log fire ) and you can hear that ticking if its really really quiet. Rathsallagh is a Country House for relaxing in, a place to give you time to listen. Your feed back on the food is appreciated, we are not sure where you managed to get your ideas on heavy sauces from however. In addition the leather covers on the menu are real, but then as we are all exposed to so many conveyor belt style operations these days sometimes we lose our ability to distinguish quality from mass production. Thanks again. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently visited Rathsallagh for dinner. The chef has just started his autumn menu, and let's just say the food matched the season/weather perfectly! Smokey mussels, venison vol au vent, stuffed quail, pumpkin rissotto, and the list goes on. Everything was cooked perfectly, very good clean flavours! I have eaten at many star rated restaurants, and Rathsallagh is keeping right up with the big city places, in the quite rolling hills of Co. Wicklow! Fairly priced, nice portions, friendly staff. This is definitely somewhere I would recommend trying, I know I'll be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review As you have noted our style of cooking here is French classical with some modern influences resulting in a clean light style. Its heartening to know that you have appreciated our efforts in designing our menu to incorporate as much local produce as is possible. Sometime its frustrating to produce such food from scratch and then have it misrepresented by amateur restaurant critics, more used to simple fair and with no idea or understanding of classical cooking. So refreshing then that you took the time to write such an informed review. Thank you. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Having had a wonderful experience at a friend's wedding some years back, we decided to treat ourselves before the school hols were over. Travelled down on a Friday pm to meet the couple who's wedding I spoke about.
First thing you notice as you get out of the car is the amazing smell of the turf fires. Relaxation starts here.
Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed by the rooms.
We were staying in Rose Cottage. The smell of damp was overpowering. The cobwebs on the ceiling were enormous and the carpet didn't lend itself to being stood on in bare feet. Bathroom was very dated and the sanitary wear was stained and dirty looking.
The restaurant experience continues to be amazing. Food is stunning & service excellent but with prices to match.
Breakfast without doubt is the best I've ever experienced.
All in all a good experience but I won't return unless the standard of the rooms improves significantly

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were invited to attend a wedding taking place in Rathsallagh House. To say it was wonderful would be an understatement. The Civil ceremony was conducted in The Orangery which provided a lovely backdrop to a happy occasion. Then out on to the lawn for champagne and general mingling. The meal was a wonderful, tasty treat and the dancing in excellent surroundings. This hotel really knows how to do weddings. It is set in beautiful gardens and the staff were in attendance constantly with a wonderful friendly attitude. Our room was spacious anfd luxurious: we were on the ground floor in the courtyard area. Breakfast next morning can only be described with one word: magnificent. I shall look for an opportunity to return. I loved it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherBird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for a great review, it is in itself a “treat” for all the staff here , a reward for all the hard work and effort they put into every wedding at Rathsallagh. We are very proud of our food quality and particularly our breakfast and we get such a buzz when guests let the world know that they enjoyed what we had to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
11.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
9.9 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Tynte House
Tynte House
#4 of 4 in Dunlavin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Property: Rathsallagh House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing