We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashton House
Nearby Hotels
Lawless Hotel(Aughrim)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
The Glendalough Hotel(Glendalough Village)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
151
12
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
12
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercakeshomemade jamson arrivalbiscuitsb bwicklow mountainsperfect hoststhe pubsky tvbeautiful surroundingsporridgenext morningstayed longergreat overviewtravel advicework hard to make your stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 167 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from a trip round Ireland where we stayed in 5 different B&B’s. They were all rated with an overall rating of at least 4.5 stars on Tripadvisor. We had a vote on the way home as to which one was the best and the result was unanimous, all four of us picked Ashton House. My wife and I had already stayed at Ashton House last year and Shane and Caitriona have maintained the same excellent standard - if we were going that direction again Ashton House would be the first place we would try. The other reviews have covered it well but one thing worth mentioning is the breakfast - it is amazing. The porridge was the best I have ever eaten. The homemade Rhubarb and Vanilla jam was so tasty. If you are going to Wicklow (which is a beautiful part of Ireland) check if Ashton House is free, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 408Geoff408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Catriona and Shane are wonderful hosts. They are so friendly and helpful- it was no problem to bring food back to eat outside (Catriona left a tray with all equipment needed, and more cakes!), or to put a bottle of wine in the fridge. We were welcomed with drinks and home-made cakes on our arrival and helped with the luggage. They are both so knowledgeable and friendly, suggesting places of interest to us and how to get there. The setting is beautiful - next to a field with horses and donkeys, the flowing river at the bottom, and not even a 5 minute stroll to the pub! The house is clean and airy with sitting room provided, and the bedroom large and comfortable.The breakfasts were wonderful and the whole experience was relaxing and peaceful, just what you want on holiday! I would recommend Ashton House to anyone. Top marks for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed 1 night at Ashton House, and found everything to be excellent. Shane and Catriona are excellent hosts. When we arrived, there was a choice of coffee or tea, served outside on a warm day, and with home-made cake and biscuits. Shane was quick to help us with our large suitcases, and provided advice on local attractions and the best places to eat. Catriona serves an outstanding breakfast, probably the best I have had in years. Nothing was too much trouble for either Shane or Catriona,, and we would have no hesitation in recommending Ashton House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Catriona and Shane were really welcoming and helpful. Great service and value for money, from the wide choice of freshly prepared breakfasts to the tray of tea, coffee, biscuits and homebaked cake waiting for us on arrival and when we returned from days out - and excellent advice on places to see. The room was simply but tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The house is in a lovely setting. The food at the local pub was fine, but Bates Restaurant in Rathdrum is well worth a visit. Altogether a very pleasant stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ashton House. The location at the Meeting of the Waters is unique and very scenic. It is a rural setting with horses in the paddock next door, the two rivers close by and a trio of pheasants strolling the grounds.

On our arrival we were made very welcome by Shane who gave us tea and cake after showing us around. Catriona served us breakfast the next morning which included a variety of options on the menu from the full Irish to the more simpler tea and toast. A highlight was the selection of homemade jams and marmalade made by Catriona's mother.

Our room at the front of the house was clean,quiet and spacious.The rooms are furnished in non cluttered fashion which was great and certainly made it easier to spread ourselves out without fear of knocking the 'antique china vase' off the table.
WiFi is also available and unlike other B&Bs we stayed in we could access it quite easily from our room. It was great to be able to use this to plan our exploration of the area the next day.

Ashton house is right next to the Meetings of the Waters pub and we spent a very pleasant Sunday afternoon there listening to music.
This was one place which we wished we could have spent more time in and would certainly return to if we ever get the opportunity.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house and had a lovely outlook over the property.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews