We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Coach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lawless Hotel(Aughrim)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
The Glendalough Hotel(Glendalough Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
121
34
7
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
34
7
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhonesty barliving roomfantastic stayopen firewonderful hostsmade us feellovely placeon arrivaldown the roadtroutscenic driveat homewarm welcomenice breakfastcould not have been morehelpful advice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mick, Barbara’s husband, was a fabulous host. Mick shared some local history with my husband and I. It would have been nice to have more time to spend chatting with him. In the evening, Mick had a fire going in the fireplace when we returned from dinner. The breakfast Mick served was outstanding. The room was spacious, clean and charming, as was the whole place. We were able to enjoy a view that included local wildlife, ring neck pheasants, in the pasture across the street. (I love to be in rural open and natural spaces) The location is a bit far from the town of Avoca, but close to the “Meeting of the Rivers”, and the natural environment suited my taste perfectly. The charm of Avoca Coach House can’t be beat. Mick was very accommodating, getting us back to the train stop in the morning, given that we were using public transportation. Thanks, Beth

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the first place we stayed at during our trip in Ireland, and probably it was also the best one. We called in because we were going to be late for the check-in, but Mick - the owner - said it would be no problem. When we finally got there, he gave us a very warm welcome. He learned all of our names, even if we were a group of 9 Italians (!), and used them to call us when needed. We really liked this, as it made us feel friends, rather than guests.

The B&B itself is set in a lovely place, at walking distance from the Meeting of the Waters. It is nice and clean and has a deep traditional feeling. The rooms are quite large and comfortable. There is a "common room" with a fireplace, accessible at all times. Breakfast was freshly cooked and just perfect: this was the only time we got beans in our Full Irish Breakfast.

Mick and his wife Barbara, whom we met the following morning, also gave us a lot of useful tips, recommendations and brochures to help us get the most out of our trip.

I don't know if we will be visiting Avoca again, but if we do, this will definitely be aain the place we will be staying at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukkoPera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Made extremely welcome by Barbara and Mick. Homebaked cake and tea on arrival even though we just appeared at the door ...roaring fire leather chairs chess set left out. Confortable rooms lovely view and atmosphere,. Friendly helpful hosts ...Mick kept us entertained with jokes and chat. Warm relaxed happy stay lovely breakfast with fried bread yummy all freshly cooked. Avoca has red kites reintroduced and we could see them soaring as we ate breakfast ...Great stay great value

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galwaywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara1959, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,pleased you saw the Red Kites on their daily fly
over The Old Coach House.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review its really appreciated.
Look forward to welcoming you again

Kind Regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent one night in The Old Coach House last weekend and we had a fantastic time from the minute we pulled into the driveway. Firstly we were greeted by a mob of 15 very curious hens of all colours, shapes and sizes that came waddling towards us as we got out of the car. This sight gave us a right giggle and instantly put smiles on our faces! As we entered the house we received a lovely, welcoming greeting from Barbara, were offered a cup of coffee and shown to our beautiful, extremely clean and spacious room with a gorgeous view of the Valley. As it was a sunny day Barbara suggested that we take a walk up the hills to a cross erected in memory of the Avoca miners. She also suggested that we take a bottle of wine with us as there were benches up there and the view was stunning. So we did just that and it was perfect!
In the evening we asked Barbara to suggest a nice place to eat and we followed her advice again and headed to Bates in the nearby town of Rathdrum. It was a bit pricey in a taxi to get there, but the food and ambience was amazing and there was a lovely pub beside the restaurant so the trip was well worth the money.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with a menu featuring free range eggs produced by our feathered friends from the day before. But the highlight of our breakfast was meeting and being served by the charasmatic Michael. Quite the comedian, Michael entertained us no end with his stories and interesting facts about Wicklow and the surrounding area and once again put smiles on our faces!
Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Old Coach House. The only downside was that we weren't staying for another night.
We would highly recommend this B&B to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Wicklow with a bit of character, warmth and charm and we will definately be returning in the near future! Thank you Barbara and Michael - Loraine and Keith x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraineD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara1959, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Loraine and Keith

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it really means a lot to Michael and me. We look forward to meeting you both again on a return visit

Kind Regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

5 stars across the board. The room was fantastic, the breakfast was great and the atmosphere created by our hosts was good as it gets. We will be returning for sure and I will be highly recommending The old coach house to all our friends and family!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara1959, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay with us at The Old Coach House we look forward to your return visit, thank you for this great review

Kind Regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews