We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Wicklow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockfield Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Avoca B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Wicklow!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Rockfield is quite a discovery - while driving up a narrow road you wonder what awaits you. Well, spectacular views, an immaculately kept bungalow and a five star welcome from the wonderful Edna who gave us tea and coffee and beautiful apple cake on our arrival which we enjoyed in the spacious guest living room. Edna recommended local tourist attractions to us which we hadn't thought of as well as giving us a selection of places to go for our dinner each night. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The ensuite bathroom was the biggest I have ever seen in a B&B or hotel - the type of bathroom you wish you had at your own house!! All in all, this was a very successful trip - we spent four nights at Rockfield and hope to return very soon. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found this B&B to be of a very high quality. The room and bathroom were like a 4 start hotel. The host, Edna, is so friendly and kind . She gave us tea in a lovely sitting room complete with home baked goods, and recommended a hotel for dinner.I wished we could have stayed longer. The views from this B&B are amazing.

Room Tip: We had an amazing room looking out on the vale of Avoca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jboakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My family and I just returned form a trip to Ireland. We all agree that Rockfield was our favorite B&B out of the whole trip. Edna (the hostess) was THE most gracious, kind, and wonderful person. We had some problems finding the place so we called her and she gave us great directions (problems were my fault as the gps guided us wrong!) to their absolutely lovely house in the country. We arrived and asked for advice for dinner; she gave us two recommendations and then told us she'd bake something and have a treat waiting for us when we returned. Sure enough, we had tasty little bars waiting in our room. For breakfast, we not only got a traditional Irish breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon etc.) but also a fresh fruit salad, juice, tea/coffee, hot chocolate, yogurt, AND fresh, homemade scones and croissants. As if the giant breakfast wasn't enough, she sent the leftover scones and croissants along with us as well as snacks. If I get to return to Ireland and Edna is still hosting people (not chasing after her adorable grandchildren whose pictures decorate the living room!), I will DEFINITELY be returning to visit her!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rockfield is on a quiet country road close to the village of Avoca. We stayed two nights in this beautifully kept house with wonderful views across the gorgeous Irish countryside. Everything about our stay was perfect. Our host Edna Crammond not only provided a delicious breakfast but also samples of her home baking in the evening. She suggested excellent nearby dining options and places of interest. Our beautiful bedroom had the largest ensuite we encountered during our ten day visit to Ireland and it included a bath. A hug from Edna on departure was the final wonderful gesture of a truly memorable stay. Gwen M. Tasmania

Room Tip: The front bedroom has beautiful views over farmland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Every single aspect of our stay was absoluetly fabulous - and beyond - who expects to find a little piece of cake in their room every night? The rooms are spotlessly clean, large and with all the amenities. If you can, spend some time on the terrasse enjoying the view.

Edna, the host, explained us (as an answer to our compliments) that she simply treats her guests like she'd like to be treated if she were a guest herself. We could really feel that attitude during our stay, it's been such a pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrizia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Rockfield is an outstanding place to stay. Edna was such a gracious host and helped us arrange a guided tour of the Ballykissangel locations in town. She also recommended great places to eat while we were in the area. The home is fabulous - beautiful views, wonderful guest sitting room and spacious and clean rooms. The homemade croissants are delicious and such a wonderful treat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen55057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Edna's home was amazing! The rooms had plenty of space and the bathrooms were huge. The location was perfect for driving into Avoca in just a few minutes. Edna was so welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. The best homemade croissants I have ever had! It was an overall wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mef789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoca
2.3 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
6.3 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,020 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,044 reviews
20.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,039 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockfield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockfield Guesthouse

Property: Rockfield Guesthouse
Address: Avoca, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Avoca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning choice for guest accommodation located in the picturesque Vale of Avoca, County Wicklow. A warm welcome awaits you at our award winning guesthouse where you will be greeted by Edna and offered a cup of tea or coffee with some of Edna’s wonderful home baking. Enjoy wonderful views of the Vale of Avoca and surrounding countryside from the dining room as you enjoy Edna's delicious Irish cooked breakfast with free range eggs from the family farm, croissants, fruits, cereals and yogurts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockfield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing