We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œDisappointing”
Review of Courtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Cold food, left waiting for ages, poor service and no manager available on a bank holiday Sunday. I know there's new owners there only starting up, but they would want to get into action quick or they'll have no business left

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank BigEater71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Hotel has been open under new owners and management since Easter 2014 ,and it is now absolutely lovely ,the food is good and it is now a nice clean welcoming seaside hotel,i feel that some previous comments and reviews going back as far as 2009 is now a bit unfair to the people who now own it ,back then it indeed had gone a bit run down i suppose at that time the Celtic tiger was terminally sick and maybe things weren't going so well for the owners ......HOWEVER the new people have revamped it and it is totally different so give it a try .....i like to visit for a meal or a night out with family & friends ,i am quite local so i haven't stayed over ,but i have seen the rooms and they are lovely and clean and fresh ..i hope this is helpful to anyone who may be in doubt.......AND i am not related what so ever to the owners or have i anything to do with the place other than being a customer.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a Steak in the bar whilst watching a match it was super enormous and delicious huge quantity of chips onions and mushrooms just what you need while watching Ireland playing Rugby. Cant knock it What a good pub meal should be. No idea about the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is under new management and I cannot believe how nice it was. All the rooms and common areas are clean and nicely decorated, and the food.... Wow! We had a large group and they took such great care of us all, and on a personal basis. Everyone seemed to order something different at the restaurant and we all raved of the quality the food was. Kudos to the chef and to the new owners, and thank you for taking such great care of us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joekenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

On arrival we noticed the carpets and hallways leading to our rooms were dark damp cold and riped when we entered the rooms they were fithly with prices left on things dirt and mould in the wardrobes , moths and various bugs stuck un the lamp shades with ear wigs in the curtains . The facilites in the hotel were lacking with no wifi , in house phone or basic tea and coffe provissions . The rooms were freezing cold with broken showers only pouring out scalding hot water . We booked 5 rooms and found them all to be the same with are complaints failing on deff ears even the next morning over breakfast which we waited 40 minutes with are orders mixed up we were given no apology or discount only for the fact we were staying for one night and had to pay on artival before viewing are rooms we would of walked out i wouldnt recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A pleasure to eat here. A great job has been done. Well done. My family and i had a delicious meal and were very well looked after. Surroundings very well refurbished bright and positive. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary190957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely and revamped by the new owners. Literally just reopened last week and its great. Bar redecorated and food is great. Lots of variety. Very pleased with the place. The hotel has regular live music too which is always good. Locals and visitors using the bar. It's nice to see as if the locals use it then it really says a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhianne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
3.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
2.9 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
2.1 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
25 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
23.3 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtown Hotel

Address: Ballinatray Lower Courtown Harbour, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: $134 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
28 Bedroom, family run hotel in the heart of Courtown Harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Courtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtown Hotel Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing