We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding venue & incredible staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently got married in Marlfield House. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend Marlfield for a wedding! The setting, the staff & the food is incredible!
We really had the most perfect day and would recommend it without reservation!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 316 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

i recently attended a wedding at marlfield house and was very disapointed to see that it was just a house with no characteristics of a hotel, the bar was a little counter in a living room, and when i asked for a pint of guiness, i was told they didnt serve guiness, our native drink. i wont be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went to a wedding reception here yesterday and stayed overnight. It is at least 30 years
since I was there for dinner, as we moved from Dublin to Limerick trips to the west coast became scarce. The memory of that dinner so long ago, still lingered. I was not disappointed this time .It was as good if not better .
Dinner was wonderful, but the staff were exceptional. They were attentive and anticipated all needs.
Water was topped up repeatedly, my wine glass was never allowed to be emptied, and spills were promptly attended to. Staff were friendly and no request was forgotten as can happen.
Furniture was replaced tables were promptly cleared and reset. All in all it was a super experience. The rooms vary in size and some have suites and 4 poster beds with lots of room to relax and chill out. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order with lots of fruit and freshly baked bread and scones which were gorgeous. Must make the effort to return. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Request a room with space if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabriel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Marlfield House Hotel is my favourite hotel venue in Ireland and indeed beyond. From the very first time I came here in 2009 I experienced the hotel's most wonderful & charming atmosphere, coupled with exceptional 5-star service and an outstanding restaurant. That is without even mentioning the sheer beauty of the house & its décor – from the moment you step over the door you are transported to an elegant & luxurious world, which you never wish to leave.

I loved the venue so much so that my husband & I recently celebrated our wedding here in late August 2012 and I wanted to share our and our guests' amazing experience.

We met owner, Margaret Bowe, in April 2011 and from the moment we sat down and spoke with her we knew the venue had everything we were looking for and more. The team at Marlfield know how to execute everything to perfection, from a quiet cup of coffee in the lounge to a 5-course banquet for 125 people.

The food at Marlfield House is simply outstanding: all vegetables are sourced from the house’s kitchen garden; all other produce have local provenance; the wine list encompasses the globe and the excellent sommelier, Jacques, is always at hand to give advice regarding your selection. My husband & I are food & wine lovers, so the calibre of food & wine menus at our wedding were as important as the venue itself and Marlfield delivered beyond our wildest expectations.

Our guests have all come back in floods to commend the quality of the food, the service, the wine, the hospitality & general brilliance of Marlfield House. Since returning from honeymoon we have received floods of compliments about Marlfield and to quote but a few: 'it was the best food ever' or 'the best wedding we've ever been at' or 'we can't wait to come back to Marlfield for a romantic break'.

Margaret & all the staff ensured that every little detail was executed perfectly and nothing was too much trouble; we had the best day of our lives and whilst a wedding is always a joyous occasion, the team at Marlfield made it a day to remember not only for us but for all of our guests.

Marlfield House Hotel is a stunning place to visit & stay and I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

my brother, my husband, my son and myself drove up with no reservation at an ungodly hour of the night...we had been on the go all day and had not bothered to call ahead...of course, they were almost full but gave us 3 rooms that were left...they were exquistely decorated and furnished. very welcoming...my brother who happens to be a famous ny figurehead, although unknown to the irish, received a room about the size of a closet....a bit of a comedown for him as he has superb taste...my son received the most luxurious room with a large full marble bath room....breakfast was fantastic, the brown bread, the home made marmalade...dinner was lovely and the gardens were well kept...when we return to wexford, we'll definitely stay again....though we'll have to coax my brother to give it another try because of the closet memory he had.....

Room Tip: call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbarak211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent a night in Marlfield house and it was everything and more that I expected.Room was gorgeous with lovely view over the garden.Dinner was fantastic ...as good as is possible.A word of warning if you are in any way physically challenged request a room on the ground floor as there is no lift and the second floor rooms are quite a climb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whoishungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently got married in Marlfield House. We had a fantastic wedding and would highly recommend Marlfield for a wedding, quiet romantic break and or dinner. Everybody has different taste's & perceptions, this review is based on our experience and the feed back we received from our guests. The setting is quite unique - old world style, elegant country house with an abundance of character, situated on beautiful grounds. The house and gardens are very intimate, creating a 'magical' atmosphere with an instant sense of calm upon arrival. The bedrooms are luxurious and very spacious. The food is Michelin star quality, we can't praise the chefs enough!
The staff are very attentive without being intrusive. We had great advice and support in the build up to our big day and on the day itself, no stone was unturned.
We had the most amazing weekend and magical experience in Marlfield House and look forward to future stays. We are delighted we came across it and recommend it without reservation!

Room Tip: State rooms are top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraD781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.6 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,045 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
23.8 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlfield House Hotel

Address: Courtown Road, Gorey Co. Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: $217 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlfield House is a luxury country house hotel set on 40 acres of lush gardens and located just outside Gorey town in County Wexford, one hour south of Dublin City on M11. Golden Wexford beaches are also close by with only 10-15 minute drive from the hotel. Bedrooms overlooking the gardens and are filled with beautiful antiques, paintings and art. The conservatory dining room with frescoed walls is highly acclaimed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marlfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlfield Hotel Gorey
Marlfield House Gorey
Marlfield House Hotel Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing