We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Marlfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently got married in Marlfield House. We had a fantastic wedding and would highly recommend Marlfield for a wedding, quiet romantic break and or dinner. Everybody has different taste's & perceptions, this review is based on our experience and the feed back we received from our guests. The setting is quite unique - old world style, elegant country house with an abundance of character, situated on beautiful grounds. The house and gardens are very intimate, creating a 'magical' atmosphere with an instant sense of calm upon arrival. The bedrooms are luxurious and very spacious. The food is Michelin star quality, we can't praise the chefs enough!
The staff are very attentive without being intrusive. We had great advice and support in the build up to our big day and on the day itself, no stone was unturned.
We had the most amazing weekend and magical experience in Marlfield House and look forward to future stays. We are delighted we came across it and recommend it without reservation!

Room Tip: State rooms are top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraD781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

It’s a while now since I visited Marlfield House. It is a beautiful elegant house set in glorious gardens and I was there for an operatic recital that I had found advertised online. It was advertised as a concert and lunch but also added that recital only visitors were welcome. Being as I am, unaccustomed to 4 courses mid-day I opted for the recital only reckoning that as the website also proclaimed to offer light bites in the bar, that would meet my needs nicely.
On arrival all seemed well when we were shown to seats in the bar area and offered an aperitif …. Shortly afterwards, when it was discovered that we were not partaking in a full lunch we were banished from the bar and told seats were for those having pre-lunch drinks and furthermore we would not get any food in the bar until much later. We duly left and travelled to New Ross where we had a light lunch. We then returned for the recital which was beautiful and only marred by the fact that I was so annoyed by our previous treatment. I decided to approach the offending member of staff and voice my complaint pointing out that even as we entered the House there was a sign saying that food was available in the bar. She said “I am sorry you misunderstood”!!
I have discovered since then that she is one of the proprietors with something of a reputation; known to be less than polite. If I may, I’d like to suggest that she be deployed elsewhere, possibly to the kitchen so the unsuspecting public might not fall victim to her ill-mannered, careless and intimidating ways.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank mayigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

To end our birthday celebrations my hubby and I booked afternoon tea at Marlfield house for just the two of us......it was fantastic - the food all freshly prepared consisted of dainty open sandwiches on beautiful brown bread - we had a chicken in a creamy herb sauce, a ham with poached pear (divine), a cheddar cheese with roasted tomatoes and a smoked salmon with capers and lemon served with a bed of lettuce direct from the garden. Next came two very large scones complete with home made jam and vanilla cream followed by two enormous home made cookies and also two buttery shortbread biscuits all accompanied by pots of freshly brewed coffee (replenished for us). Having stuffed ourselves to capacity we took a leisurely stroll around the magnificent garden be sure not to miss the wildfowl reserve we very nearly did! The Dining area was beautiful with period furniture and open fire (yes in July!!!) - a beautiful marmalade cat curled up in the chair next tom throughout! The staff were very pleasant and efficient. We really enjoyed this treat and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneyfansWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked this lovely inn on our recent trip to Ireland. It was highly recommended in our travel guide but I was worried it might be a bit formal. When we arrived I was stunned by how lovely it was but I didn't expect it to be a very friendly place. In spite of my misgivings it was a charming spot with fabulous food and very helpful and friendly staff.

The grounds are a delight. I especially loved the peacocks who stayed outside right near our room. The landscaping was gorgeous and a great spot for daily walks. The vegetable garden was very fun to look at and wander through. Lots of cats to play with outside and several sweet horses peeked over the fence at us.

The dinners were absolutely wonderful and so were the dinners! The dining room is actually a large solarium with a beautiful atmosphere.

Our room was gorgeous and very romantic. The bath was incredible.

I would love to go back to this beautiful spot on our next trip to Ireland.
Maggie and Rich, Orange, Ca

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

From the moment of arrival we were greeted with kindness & professionalism. The ambience of this Country House hotel is delightful.
Service was very very good without being intrusive.
Food was absolutely top class, added to by an excellent wine list.
Room was old world charm & elegance with beautiful view of wonderful gardens.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

DAN &ANN DALY & FRANCES KIELY.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have had the warmest welcome, beuatiful room, delicious dinners, breakfast etc in the most beautiful country house hotel in Ireland.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully furnished and most comfortable with large king size beds and all the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moandto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The rooms were breathtaking. Service was exquisite. Staff was warm and inviting. Food was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better start to our journey. We will definitely return. Laura, thank for your welcoming kindness and your very beautiful home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.6 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,046 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
24.3 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlfield House Hotel

Address: Courtown Road, Gorey Co. Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: $218 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlfield House is a luxury country house hotel set on 40 acres of lush gardens and located just outside Gorey town in County Wexford, one hour south of Dublin City on M11. Golden Wexford beaches are also close by with only 10-15 minute drive from the hotel. Bedrooms overlooking the gardens and are filled with beautiful antiques, paintings and art. The conservatory dining room with frescoed walls is highly acclaimed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marlfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlfield Hotel Gorey
Marlfield House Gorey
Marlfield House Hotel Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing