We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just spent a weeks stay at this campsite. Had a few concerns before going due to a few reviews here. This is a lovely campsite with lots of plus points including really helpful and polite staff, location so close to the a wonderful beach and with easy access to the beach, good security, clean (& I'm very fussy on this point) toilets and showers and a site which provides lots for its visitors. Reviewers have commented on caravans and tents being crammed in. The pitches are a fair size and clearly marked with wooden markers unlike other sites we have stayed on. However nearly all visitors completely filled their pitch with caravan/camping van, tents, awning, seating area and miles of windbreaks!! With a number of pitches like this, on the days the site was fully booked, it did feel a little squashed in, but through no fault of the site. The playground on the touring site was good but just too small for the number of children around. The under 16 curfew was great, as was the midnight light outs. However, some of us with young children are to bed before then (10pm) and frequently had unsupervised groups of children charging around the site between caravans where people were asleep, running over waste containers and windbreaks. This wasn't the fault of the campsite, but rather parents allowing their children to do this. It did create a nuisance every night though. Overall a lovely holiday and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twtsandrupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    35
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one weekend in July. Lovely location beside beach. Amazed that few campsites available in north Wexford, due to undesirable elements from Dublin. Hence security is high here so happy family camping atmosphere. Safe access across dunes to Fabulous sandy beach. AstroTurf for football and tennis courts. Minor drawback is paying 1€ per 6 min shower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just Visit and experiece the beautiful beach and campsite here. The location is excellent just step onto the miles of clean sandy beach. Staff cannot do enough to make your break the best it can be. Shower blocks and toilets always spotless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good campsite, well run and very relaxed , lots of facilities. One area that could improve and that is the take away. Staff lack experience , very slow service and poor value.Lawlors take away only up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a week long family holiday in Morriscastle Park !!! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was a truly amazing family holiday !!! When we arrived the staff were very friendly and assisted us in all ways possible !!! Our tent pitch was perfect location !!! The kids had a brilliant time in playground and you could not get closer to the beach !!! We were there last year for few days but spent the week this year !!! It is such a fantastic park that once you go there you know you will be going back !!! For the week long trip the weather was amazing and this will definitely be a yearly holiday !!! Thanks to Niamh and all staff at Morriscastle park for a brilliant holiday !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Oaksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend in our new tent. From check in to check out the staff were very friendly, we had two pitches, one with electricity and one with out. We were a stones through from the beach wich was one of the best if not the best I have seen in Ireland (I think), I counted 3 small but nice playgrounds and I felt safe when my 5 year old went to play with her new friends in the playground. Quiet time was midnight and it was always silent come that time. The Cafe is a bit over priced but it is up to you if you want to eat at it. The tennis courts, football pitch, games room are very well kept and are used by putting your name on the board ( so everyone gets a turn). Overall myself and the missus had a nice time because the kids loved it and did not want to go home, I will be back no doubt about that.

Room Tip: If you are given a pitch and you see another free one in a better location you can go bacvk to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieM843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just back from a weekend in morriscastle strand holiday park and we loved it. Given the good weather in Ireland, the site was very busy and we were a little concerned when we arrived on our first evening as nearly every pitch was occupied. However we need not have worried, the campsite went so quiet after 10 pm and remained so until the morning. The security staff were great and seemed to have their eye on everything which was really reassuring. There are a lot of privately owned mobile homes with generations of families so it has proved to be very popular down the years and the lovely family atmosphere is delightful. Plenty to occupy the children with lots of playgrounds, beautiful beach right alongside the site, sand castle comp as well as football matches etc etc. The reception was very welcoming and food in the cafe was lovely - really enjoyed the take away of an evening and enjoyed sitting outside sipping my coffee. Pitches are close together but to be honest it didn't matter, everyone was so friendly whilst being unobtrusive at the same time. Loved looking at the many snazzy tent types, picking up ideas and tips for our next camping trip. Minor niggle was the toilet block in the camping area, had a lot of traffic, with hard to flush toilets, so could have done with a bit more daily attention but was fine for the most part. Shower block nearest reception seemed more updated and less frequented. At peak season and good weather you will prob need to book in advance so ring ahead to make sure there is space. It is a testament to the owners and staff that they can so smoothly run a busy and active place. Am looking forward to a return visit and would love to try out some of the other activities they have on site.

Room Tip: The seaview section of the campsite is a little removed from the main area and looked somewhat expos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
2.3 mi away
Upton Court Hotel and Holiday Cottages
8.8 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
10.4 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
11.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
15.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park

Property: Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park
Address: Kilmuckridge, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gorey
Also Known As:
Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing