We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stayed longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the moment we rolled in the gates Hugh made us feel at home, he really went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, fantastic location right on the beach with every amenity you could want available in the well kept, spotless park, our only downside was that we couldn stay longer, cant wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dmcd1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Dmcd 1180,
Thanks for your great review of Morriscastle Holiday Park last September - hopefully you might be able to come and visit us again this year so that you can stay a little longer this time!

Many thanks again,
Niamh
Morriscastle Strand Holiday Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having been in lots of campsites here, in France and in Italy, we can definitely recommend this as one of the best.

Clean, direct beach access, friendly and really well maintained.

If you are in the south-east, make this a definite for your overnight or weekend.

Lovely coffee shop (Kates) just opened in village 2 kms away.

Great time here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Birrdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Birddots,

Thank you so much for your very positive reviews of Morriscastle. Your kind words are very much appreciated after a tough summer! Kates cafe in Kilmuckridge is fab and is staying open all winter thankfully, for me its essential to get good coffee every morning! - but dont forget our own lovely new on-site cafe will be open again in June of 2013 for the season!

Thanks again, and hope to see you next summer.
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I've read a couple of reviews of Morriscastle and would agree with the more positive ones. we stayed in Morriscastle for nearly a week at the end of July. We would usually choose off the beaten track accommodation when we holiday and were initially a little put off by the 'estate' like set up of this caravan park. But my 12 year old daughter came across a friend from school that would stay there regularly and we decided to give it a chance as it may not be our usual type of holiday but obviously people did enjoy the 'closeness' of caravan living. This park was very well monitored and maintained. The proximity to the lovely beach was a great plus and we found the place to be quiet in the evenings and pleasant with people barbequeing and calling hello as you passed. The toilets and kitchen were basic but I found them to be clean and adequate. Electricity and water was close to hand and you weren't switched off by boiling a kettle (something which happened to us in another caravan site). The shop was very handy and the whole site provided a very safe environment to let the children roam around. There were plenty of organised activities for the children and it's obvious the staff put a lot of thought into providing good facilities and entertainment for the children. I really enjoyed this holiday and the only drawback was the hard cushions after two nights in my own caravan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leinsterfamilygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Leinsterfamilygal,
Thanks for your review of your stay at Morriscastle. I was delighted to read that you stayed longer than planned. We do spend a lot of time over the year focusing on our plans for the summer - from Kidsklub to Archery and any new ideas that might work for our guests throughout the summer months so it was great to read that you thought we did this well when you were with us. I was glad to read that you were also happy with our levels of hygiene, facilities and security - all of which are at the top of our list of priorities here.
With regard to your comment about the sites - the layout of our structured pitches are more to make sure that all guests have the same amount of space when they stay as I really dont like the idea of families in their tents/caravans or campers piling in on top of each other during our very busy time.
Many thanks again and hope to see you throughout the 2013 summer!
Niamh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Havn't camped very much recently and didn't expect much but this campsite was lovely. Right beside the gorgeous clean beach. Very child and dog friendly. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good clean faciltiies. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Clampetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear The_Clampetts,
Many thanks for the great review of your stay with us at Morriscastle.
I was delighted to read that you were pleasantly surprised with our staff, facilities and hygiene - hopefully we'll see you again next summer for more of the same now that you are back to camping!
Kind regards, Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Tried to book two pitches on this campsite the week we were travelling. Was told they were not taking bookings due to the bad weather. When we arrived we found that the pitches we wanted to book had been booked by somebody else. We'd wanted these pitches because with 6 kids we wanted to be as isolated as possible so as not to disturb other campers. We then checked the other two places which were available for tents. One was semi cirular with all the pitches separated by fences. The other was just a row of pitches without fences. Both meant we would be right beside other tents.
Seemed to have good facilities but the pitches didnt hold up well to the rain(the free pitches were covered in puddles) and the fact we weren't able to book the pitches we wanted, I suspect this place would be suitable if everybody on the campsite goes to bed at the same time and dont mind being on top of one another.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank BRIAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Brian F,
I was confused to read your review of your stay with us at Morriscastle and would like to clarify a few of your points. First off, you were told [as was everyone during the bad weather] that we could not take any reservations at the time due to the fact that if it continued to rain, there was a very strong possibility that we would not be able to use ANY of our pitches due to flooding. There were not other families 'booked' onto the pitches you wanted, they simply arrived before you and were told to take any sites they felt were dry enough for their tents. This was explained to you on arrival.
Our main camping areas are organised so that the pitches are divided by fencing giving ample space to all units. We have over 120 pitches and most are located in the same main area.
You mention that our pitches were wet and had puddles on them - this was due to the fact that it rained for an inordinate amount of days throughout the season, all of June and pretty much all of August as well! From talking to other park owners around the country, this massive rainfall affected their pitches too so unfortunately it was a countrywide problem with sites.
You note at the end - 'the fact we weren't able to book the pitches we wanted, I suspect this place would be suitable if everybody on the campsite goes to bed at the same time and dont mind being on top of one another'.
Just to clarify -
- When the sites are dry and we havent had rain falling for a month, you are welcome to call to book sites in advance but it does depend on availability [we take bookings for July and August from Feb]. In fact, we recommend pre-booking to secure pitches due to levels of business in July and August.
- Obviously not everybody on site goes to bed at the same time but we manage just fine with security and noise levels even when we have over 120 families staying with us. We have security on from 9pm to 3am every night which guarantees this.
- We are very generous and above average with the pitch sizes at Morriscastle so no over-crowding occurs. I feel that this is a very important policy so everyone can enjoy their space and children can play outside their tent/caravan safely. When we are full in peak season, we have no empty pitches, but this does not equate to 'people being on top of each other'.

Kind regards
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend at the end of august .It had rained heavily so pitches were very very muddy .I fairness "Niamh" the site manager did post this on Facebook and was very helpful when i called to check conditions .When we arrived it was very bad on some pitches but the welcome from the staff in what was trying times for them was excellent .

We spent the weekend on the fab beach adjacent to the site and had coffees in the excellent coffee-shop on site . There is also a very reasonable take away attached to the coffee shop and the staff there are lovely .

The only gripe i had was the hard stands . They do need work as the are a little worse for wear and need an upgrade to make a great site perfect .

See you next season Niamh ..Thanks for a grat weekend @ Morrisscastle

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Locker14,
Thanks for taking the time to write up a review of your time with us at Morriscastle. You stayed with us in the middle of the worst summer of rainfall we have ever experienced so I appreciate your nice words about everything except the weather! We worked very hard over the winter to build our new reception building and cafe and its great to read that you enjoyed that part of the experience here. I have to agree with you about our hard stands - after this summer of constant hard rain, we definitely need to do some work on them which I'll update progress there on Facebook as and when we do. Good to see my postings on facebook works too!
Many thanks and look forward to seeing you back here in better weather next year.
Niamh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the new 'Beach-House' at Morriscastle Strand for the weekend with my hubby and our 11 year old son. We were joined by 6 adult friends and 2 kids. The spacious 3 bedroom house is fully equipped with EVERYTHING you could possibly need/want. The garden is enclosed so is safe for kids. We were a very short stones throw from the beach and we swam every day. The kids lived the table tennis table on the campsite and buying sweets in the shop!

The house is fab and we had a wonderful time there.

Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyBennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neevo74, General Manager at Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear JennyBennys,
Thanks once again for a lovely review on a different part of our holiday business here at Morriscastle - the Beach House. I'm delighted to read that your family and friends enjoyed the space and location. When we were planning the house, I was hoping that the layout and rooms etc would suit two or three families sharing and I was glad to read that it worked well for your group.
Hopefully see you again sometime in 2013.
Many thanks, Niamh - Morriscastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
10.9 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
8.8 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Upton Court Hotel and Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
17.5 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
18.0 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park

Address: Kilmuckridge, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gorey
Also Known As:
Morriscastle Strand Caravan Park Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing