We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and lovely surroundings”

Hillside House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Gorey B&B and Inns
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and lovely surroundings”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

You need a car/taxi to get to this small hotel, but once there the view from the house is breathtaking. The breakfast was a good quality meal. The breakfast room and sittingroom for the guests were nice and cosy. What was not nice was that after having opened the window in my room, it would not shut close. It was not a very chilly night, but but still something I would have expected to function in an otherwise cosy and nice hotel. I could also not get my shower to work !! If I needed to do something beforehand (i.e. pull a cord or what ever) I should have been informed about that when I was showed the room. I would still recomend this hotel, but the shower problem and the window should be checked if you should stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
369 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Larger that average room with average size bath. All rooms on first floor nice for bringing in luggage. Very clean room, nice lighting throughout. Spended breakfast. Better than most. Definitely recommended.

A note about B&B's: We stayed in 7 B&B's duing our trip, all 4 star or more. Generally they do not provide any wash cloths and just hand soap, no shower soap. As a rule the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, about 3' x 9' with just enough room for the shower stall, toilet and sink. The showers are snall some just 2' square. Most do not have any alarm clocks, have dim lighting especially the bathrooms and few or no outlets for charging phones, tablets, etc. That being said they were all clean with nice bedding, all provided a full delicious Irish breakfast and all the hosts were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

There were 7 of us aged from 6 to 74 staying for a family wedding nearby and Ann made us feel at home, nothing was too much trouble, the children were made especially welcome and we could all relax, our rooms were together away from the rest so the children could wander in and out since we could leave our doors open. From the scones and home made jam on arrival to the delicious breakfasts the food was excellent.
The only drawback was the distance from the town which entailed taking taxis or driving though the views went a way to compensate for this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 153pamandgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

High quality comfort and attention to detail. Food fantastic,home made scones and tea cake on arrival and freshly cooked breakfast. Nothing too much trouble, even my unusual request for compost to complete a plant arrangement for a gift.
Thank you Ann, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed last weekend for a family function. It wasn't my first time there, and the place is still top drawer. We awoke to a sunny view of the Irish Sea on the horizon and a herd of dairy cows making there way back out to the fields ! The owner is a real lady & afforded a real old fashioned Irish welcome

Room Tip: Front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franfield68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived at the B & B to check in before a local wedding in Tara Hills Church. Ann the owner welcomed us warmly and suggested we attend the service and return to the B & B in order that we could leave our car and that she would bring us to the hotel reception, which we accepted. When we returned Ann had tea & sandwiches ready for us , explaining that it might be a few hours before dinner at the wedding reception. She was quite correct!!. The B & B is very homely and well appointed over looking Tara Hill and the valley below leading down to the sea. A beautiful location. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. This was preseeded by a selection of cerials, yougarts, Cheese and frech fruit. The breakfast would leave many hotels in the dark shade. A truely great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Tara Hill. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our stay at the Hillside was fantastic, We arrived after a wedding mass and Ann kindly dropped us to the reception. Breakfast next morning was divine, best breakfast I ever had in a b+b. We had a large selection of fruit, cheese, yoghurt and hot food to choose from. Very short but enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gorey hotels
2.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
2.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
3.3 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
106 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ballinahoun House
Ballinahoun House
#3 of 14 in Gorey
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tuberduff, Gorey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillside House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Bed & Breakfast Gorey, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing