We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour guides, a great place for all ages”
Review of Ferns Castle

Ferns Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ferns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The castle was built in the 13th century, possibly by William, Earl Marshall. Originally, the castle formed a square, with large corner towers. Only half of the castle now remains.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour guides, a great place for all ages”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have visited Ferns castle several times over the past 3 years.

It is a striking castle, most of which is in ruins, however the tour brings visitors right up through each floor of the remaining turret, which is beautifully well preserved.
The tour guides are excellent and are all very knowledgeable about the history of the castle and the area so they are really interesting, even for my kids (7 and 10) who never fail to be fascinated by their stories of battles and kings and queens.
When you get to the top there is a spectacular view in all directions which is quite a treat after climbing so many stone steps!

There is a visitor centre with some tapestry on display and a tiny coffee shop which never seems to have much available to purchase!

Best of all, entrance to the castle with a tour guide to show you around and tell you all about it is completely FREE.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenFFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    39
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Laois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Took my boys aged 8 & 10 here yesterday
Really great tour guide Larry made it so interesting and great fun for both adults and kids and involved the kids in the whole experience This a great day out and very I formative in a fun way.
Thanks Larry

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Feelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History comes alive”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Was here on aug 21 , with 2 adults and 2 children , guide ( graham ) was brilliant , it was very educational and tour guide made it so realistic for all. A big thanks again to graham , the only pity is that there was not enough time to see the tapistries , anyway well done , we will visit again, we will go earlier next time

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Bdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chapel and Towers worth the visit”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We made a special trip to Ferns Castle as my ancestors once occupied it - we went on the Tour twice, two different guides provided the rich history of the castle and it's occupants over the centuries. The ceiling of the conserved 3rd floor chapel were beautiful, as were the tapestries, and views from the one remaining tower. Gave me goosebumps to think of all that happened within those walls over time. Nice restoration job on the part of OPW.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishEwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Authentic Castle”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our trip to Ferns castle and all the history by the great tour guide. The chapel is very interesting and the view from the roof worth the trip alone. It's all free folks and not to be missed. Check out the Ferns Tapestery while your there and have a nice coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BigEater71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferns Castle also viewed

Enniscorthy, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
Enniscorthy, County Wexford
 

Been to Ferns Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing