We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good little Hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013..

My partner & I had visited Ireland, to watch the hare coursing in Clonmel..

Hotels in middle of no where.. However that was perfect for us.. We drove every day to Clonmel the roads and secenary was breath taking..

The Hotel is clean,warm & value for money..

We never had a evening meal in the hotel but if it's as nice as the breakfast,you cant go wrong !!

Very positive experiance..

Chris and his Brother are great hosts !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomin3oouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
16
47
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not the usual identikit hotel.
The friendly and helpful hosts have created a warm and welcoming, old-fashioned ambience. We loved the bedroom's traditional furnishings as well as the spacious bathroom (great shower btw). And it's a great base for exploring the surrounding mountains, set as it is on the slopes of the Knockmealdowns.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 39parolles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

4 reasons to chose this 2 star over a 3 star.
1. The house itself is reminiscent of a big old convent, and it's not far from it really, as it was in times a lodging house for ladies receiving religious instrucion at the adjoining monasterey. The banisters, floors and doors are all original.
2. The furniture. Wardrobes c 1950s mahogany and rosewood , I think, occasionals post-mad men.
3. The bed. Can't remember when I last slept so well.
4. The bathroom. Spacious, large bath (they are all converted bedrooms), lots and lots of hot water and a decent strong shower. Lots of nice loo-rolls, none of that scratchy stuff you get lately in 3 stars Cathereine Lansfield towels, fluffy and lots of them.
5. Moving along. The heat. Nice little led wall mounted telly. The bookcase., And, to top it off, the value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the pilgrims rest hotel with my girlfriend last month for a weekend. From the moment we walked in we felt extremely looked after, the owners couldnt do enough for us. They helped us with directions to places we wanted to go. The food was so tasty, and the most relaxing atmosphere. Warm log fire and they even went to the trouble of lighting a candle for us when we dined in the evenings. We slept very soundly and in the morning after a declicious breakfast we settled up the bill and were shocked at how reasonable the whole weekend holiday was for us. We will come again and i would like to thank David and Mary so much for their kindness. I strongly recommend this hotel. Thanks,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

OK, so we thought we were booking a B&B somewhere in Waterford and then realized it's not quite "in" the city. In fact, it's a long way out of the city! We had it booked and stuck with our plan and boy are we glad we did! The journey there was country roads which we love to travel and the views were awe inspiring. It's located next to a VERY old monastery which we spent time taking photos the next morning. Food was fabulous and so were our hosts. They could not accommodate us enough. The chill of the evening was out and the little fireplace lit. That along with a nice bottle of red and the relaxing atmosphere.... couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o2bnkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arrived late afternoon to be greeted by a strange Englishman who showed us to our room. He quickly informed us that breakfast was not included in our prepaid room price and it would be €10 per person if we so desired. He also promoted evening meals served in their "dining room".
We decided to head into town where we dined at an amazing restaurant, the Malt in lismore. Upon returning from our night out the creepy man questioned us as to where we had been and why we didn't dine with him. We explained ourselves, not that we were obliged too. We were then asked if we would be having breakfast. We declined as those prices are outrageous. The strange man then turned rude and aggressive asking why aren't we enjoying our stay, that we gave him bad vibes. We reassured him in person just to pacify him but were very hurt and angry with his comments. Next morning we avoided conversation and left promptly.
As far as the accommodation is concerned; every spring in the bed was felt, no toiletries provided, the building was cold and dark and the communal areas looked more like a cheap Chinese restaurant rather than a hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Shereethediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pilgrims Rest was a delight, Mary the owner was warm and welcoming, no other family members were there. Suggested we visit the the Abby for the 8pm service and what an experience, peacefull and serene. Mary was helpful, friendly and provided a good breakfast including our first (and last) taste of black pudding. Rooms were comfortable, clean and lots of hot water.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 361Mountainlaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cappoquin
2.6 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#1 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
11.6 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
13.3 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims Rest Hotel

Property: The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
Address: Mount Melleray | County Waterford, Cappoquin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Cappoquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pilgrims Rest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful part of the magnificent Irish countryside, The Pilgrim's Rest Hotel is your choice for peace, rest and retreat! Beauty, style and elegance. Our beautiful Georgian country house has been transformed into an unusual and magnificent hotel. If you are looking to relax and enjoy a more peaceful lifestyle then The Pilgrim's Rest Hotel is for you. The Pilgrim Rest Hotel near the heritage town of Lismore is surrounded by beautiful mountain views and is adjacent to the famous Mount Melleray Abbey. The Pilgrims Rest Hotel near Lismore, County Waterford is set in 2 acres of delightful gardens making it an excellent base for touring, golf, walking and fishing. All rooms en-suite. With prices of €35 Euros for a single room and €49 Euros for a double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Pilgrims Rest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing