We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepared to be spoiled!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilmaneen Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Cashel, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prepared to be spoiled!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The biggest drawback about this place is the withdrawal symptoms that you will feel when you leave! I am thinking of a support group maybe? Who will feed me fresh ruby red strawberries for breakfast? is just one such dilemma....
The place is perfect for a relaxing break with as much or as little activity as you want. 2 local websites visitcahir.ie and www.knockmealdownactive.com give you all the details of what to do in the locality
Kilmaneen is situated on a quiet road near the knockmealdown mountains. There are loads of opportunities for hiking and biking near by
I took my dog and he was treated like a prince. The highlight for me was being able to take him swimming in the river suir which bounds the property. The short walk down to the river was awesome. Through meadows with curious cows:-) The day was clear and i had a 360 degree view of all the mountain ranges that surrounded it
The food is top quality - all fresh and homegrown as much as possible in their extensive gardens.
Ber and Kevin are very warm and kind people who will help you in everyway to enjoy your stay. As a solo traveller I was totally relaxed and at ease

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helens044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It was great to have you back to stay with us Helens044 along with your well-behaved labrador Finn who was quite content to sleep in your car after cooling down in the river. Swimming is proving to be a very popular activity this year with the heat wave that we are enjoying so the fishermen don't have the river all to themselves as they usually do. The strawberries are one of the gems of our summer fruits but our raspberries and other summer fruits are ready now too. As before, you got the most out of your stay with us by exploring routes on your bike and on foot that you missed last time, with Kevin as your guide for some of them. There are still more adventures to discover too (maybe a canoe trip on the river which we can arrange for you) so hopefully you will come back again to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
26
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Kilmaneen Farmhouse was recommended by colleagues who stayed there in 2010 and we were not disappointed. The Farmhouse is set in a lovely part in the Irish country and an attraction for me was the opportunity to fish the River Suir.

Upon arrival Kevin provided a very warm and genuine welcome with tea and biscuits and information about the Farmhouse, the working property and the location. We met Ber (Bernadette) next morning at breakfast. The breakfasts were very good with fresh fruit as well as cooked choices. Our bedroom and ensuite (# 3?), with a large wardrobe, was reasonably large and quite comfortable. We had initially booked for 2 nights but stayed for 3, moving for the third night into part of River Cottage. Our only small, criticism was that our room could have done with a bit more of a clean…a few cobwebs in the higher parts of the ceiling and some bird dropping outside of the door into River Cottage. The rest of the Farmhouse and the ground around the house were very clean and tidy.

Ber and Kevin were very pleasant and busy hosts and I was happy they were able to provide me with waders to use while fishing the Suir. The fishing was not great, but I hooked a couple of small brown trout…at least I can say I have fly fished for trout in Ireland. Accessing the river was a little difficult as the banks are quite high. On the day we left the Farmhouse we left a jacket behind and Ber kindly texted us hoping we had not gone to far and return to pick up the jacket.

Overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay and we have no hesitation in recommending Kilmaneen Farmhouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It was great to read your review of Kilmaneen Farmhouse today Greg S, thank you very much. We really enjoyed having you both to stay and we are glad that you enjoyed your fishing which was your big draw to us. Yes, we have a lot of birds around the garden and we failed to notice the birds nesting in the little porch outside the cottage door where you stayed for your extended stay on the last night of your visit. We have not dismantled the nest but we have now put a sheet of wood underneath the nest to stop the droppings from falling down. Similarly, we have removed all cobwebs and will pay more attention to them in future although they can develop in a matter of a day or two after the rooms have been thoroughly cleaned. We hope that you enjoyed your overall visit to Ireland and that you return home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I cannot rate this guesthouse more highly-we were given such a lovely,warm genuine welcome and made to feel very much at home throughout our stay. Kevin gave us great advice and stories from the local area and Ber's food was really delicious. We came back very relaxed from the fabulous long weekend we spent down there even if the predicted sunshine didn't materialise!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you Traveller1208 for your kind review. Our quiet, rural location lends itself to relaxation and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy it. You got quite a lot of sightseeing into your stay too and it gave us great pleasure to share our lovely area with you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Thank you Kevin & Ber for a wonderful stay. I stayed 2 nights in Kilmaneen with my boyfriend and really appreciated the warm welcome- as well as the delicious home-cooked breakfasts! Freshly baked rhubarb muffins were the highlight!
The B&B itself is an old farmhouse, beautifully decorated and is located amidst the idyllic mountain scenery of south tipperary. We flew to cork airport, just over an hour's drive away- Kilmaneen is only 15/20mins drive from the Dublin/Cork road.
Kevin is a local mountain guide, and we took his advice and did a lovely circuit walk in the Knockmealdown mountains, which are practically just outside the door. Mountains in every direction! We also took a drive the lovely waterford coast and did a stunning cliff walk. This is a great base to explore the best of Irish scenery. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Catie D. We're very happy that you decided to make our review your first and thank you for your summary of your stay with us. We hope that you will try out the recipe for the rhubarb muffins and maybe think about your visit to this part of the world when eating them. It is good to know that you found Kilmaneen Farmhouse a good base for touring the south east of Ireland and you certainly made the most of every opportunity to explore. Hopefully you will come back to do some more sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and my dog Harry for two nights some weeks back. We had such a really nice stay, it's in the middle of the countryside on a working farm surrounded by green fileds and two rivers. The accommodation is cosy and comfortable and our large dog was more than happy there. The double bed is actually two single beds pushed together and is a little uncomfortable but the room is restful and cosy. An open fire would have been the icing on the cake but the little cottage we stayed in was so cosy it didn't matter after 5 mins. I would recommend Kilmaneen Farmhouse to any dog owners looking for a quiet rural escape, there's lots of lovely walks close by and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay any more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pozscanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you Pozscanners for your complimentary review of our self-catering River Cottage at Kilmaneen which is indeed a dog friendly property unlike Kilmaneen Farmhouse B&B. It is an extra facility that we offer which our Cottage guests find very useful. We are happy that both of you and Harry enjoyed your stay. The big 6ft bed is a zip & link bed which does not suit everyone but for the most part a good night's rest is enjoyed by those who like separate but linked mattresses. I appreciate that is it a matter of personal preference. Our location is, as you stated, out in the countryside (although only 10 miles from the M8 motorway) and Kilmaneen is set in rich farmland, tucked under the beautiful Knockmealdwon mountains and on the banks of the river which makes it the perfect location to escape the hustle & bustle of modern life. We hope that you, your partner and Harry will come to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

After just spending 11 nights in Ireland, we came home & realized that perhaps our most real view of Ireland was at Kilmaneen. A beautiful farmhouse that is literally in the middle of nowhere out in the country. Because of this I highly reccomend printing off the driving directions on their website. However, once you find it it is like finding a hidden jewel. Extremely friendly hosts that are happy to share any & all advice including how to make the drive into the nearest town for dinner. One thing to be aware of is that because of its remote location it is a 10+minute drive into the nearest town & there aren't alot of choices for food unless you drive further. However, this is the real feel of the Ireland countryside & the B&B experience. Friendly hosts, great breakfasts, beautiful countryside & a very spacious farmhouse room.
Thank you Kevin & Bernadette for the great stay & we would highly reccomend the Farmhouse!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmaneen Farmh... T, Owner at Kilmaneen Farmhouse, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Adam D. Thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to give our guests the 'Real Ireland' experience (as you mentioned) and to experience what life is like on a working farm and in our family run B/B. It is a pity that you were not able to arrive a little earlier so that you could have availed of the refreshments that were offered or to explore the beautiful scenery along our river walk, all of which would have added value to your stay with us. As you pointed out it is important for guests to print off the direction that we give and also the GPS co-ordinates. We really appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon. Kilmaneen Farmhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

For our tenth wedding anniversary my partner and I shunned Paris and took the road less travelled to Tipperary.
We woke up in Kilmaneen Farmhouse in Newcastle Co Tipperary, a rural idyll light years away from commuting, meetings, deadlines and unreasonable bosses. We woke up to a very strange sound, something I haven’t heard in years. Birds! The little guys were chirping contentedly in the trees outside this 200 year old farmhouse. I grabbed my camera and got some lovely shots . Our genial hosts Kevin and Ber greeted us with a smoothie of the season, strawberry, raspberry, and blackberry – all from their own garden. After a leisurely, home cooked breakfast we relaxed for a while and pondered on what we would do for the day. We checked out walks in the area on our IPad. We found The Liam Lynch Loop a stone’s throw from the farmhouse. Armed with a packed lunch we headed off for a day of exploration. All we really wanted was some fresh clear country air and to stretch the legs a little. We had no real agenda and wanted to play it by ear.
It was a cold and sunny morning, with a clear blue sky over these hills called The Knockmealdowns. The higher we went from the trailhead through the forest, the better the view became. Kevin had given us an overview before we left. Several other mountain ranges were in view the Galtees, the Comeraghs and Sliabh na mBan. We were basically on the edge of an amphitheatre looking down on the rich pastoral land of The Golden Vale. The walk is a 12km looped walk that includes a round tower that must be at least 60 feet high. There were four cast bronze Irish Wolfhounds, guarding the base of the tower. We ate lunch in the shadow of the round tower.
After lunch we took Ber’s suggestion to visit the nearby Mitchelstown Caves about 20 minutes away through a sleepy valley.
They were amazing – a real find. We took a guided tour through three massive caverns, the largest measuring 51x31 metres, with the roof tapering up to 20m height.
The guide told us that in this cavern many concerts had been performed. The superb acoustics and the vast natural auditorium of the cavern make for a unique and unforgettable experience.
Hungry now after all our exploring we headed to The Old Convent for dinner.
The Old Convent is nestled at the foot of the Mountains and serves up award-winning Irish artisan cuisine. Before dinner we took a stroll through the mature gardens and stopped for a swing in the hammock. I loved the 30 Hour Slow Roast Rare Breed Pork with Crozier blue, poached pears, Highbank Orchard syrup, and crispy walnuts. Simon being vegetarian waxed lyrical about the St. Tolas Goats Curd Gnocchi with baby carrots and mange tout. They actually had a full vegetarian menu which was a huge plus. Sipping a brandy I thought to myself - A day doesn’t get more perfect than that.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helens044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
6.9 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
108 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
7.9 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
105 reviews
16.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmaneen Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmaneen Farmhouse

Property: Kilmaneen Farmhouse
Address: Kilmaneen Farmhouse Kilmaneen Farmhouse Ardfinnan | Clonmel, Newcastle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmaneen Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevin and Bernadette O'Donnell offer award winning, family run 4* star Bed & Breakfast and 4*star Self-catering accommodation in Co. Tipperary near Clonmel and Cahir. Members of the O'Donnell family have lived and farmed here for six generations and the Farmhouse is over 200 years old. The accommodation has a quiet unspoilt rural setting and we endeavour to give our guests a very personal service in a genuine Irish home where they can enjoy....- Fishing on our farm in our private stretch of the rivers Suir & Tar- Walking in the Knockmealdown, Comeragh and Galty mountains- Courses including gardening, art & craft, beekeeping and others- A peaceful and relaxing stay which combines the solid comforts of the past with the modern conveniences of today- Freshly prepared, home-cooked breakfasts and evening meals (on request) made using home-grown fruit/vegetables. All dietary requirements facilitated- Nearby heritage sites - the Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle and the Swiss Cottage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kilmaneen Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmaneen Farmhouse Ireland/Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing