We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, we felt at home!”
Review of Mobarnane House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fethard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mobarnane House
Ranked #3 of 3 Fethard B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Richard and Sandra are very charming, friendly and helpful! We felt at home. The suite was excellent, the warm welcoming, the wonderful garden and last but not least the tasty dinner like in a five star restaurant!
Keep it as a secret and tell it only to your very best friends, Mobarnane is a hidden gem! We hope to come back soon,
Veronika and Jörg from Switzerland

Room Tip: The two Suites are very large and cosy the best rooms you can find in this region!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Mobarnane House is quite simply splendid. Hosts Richard and Sandra are completely charming, while Daniel the spaniel welcomes guests too. We stayed for two nights and had dinner on both evenings. Richard is a wonderful cook and invariably uses local fresh produce from the Golden Vale, Ireland's premier farming country. The delightful dining room is a perfect setting for Richard's food while the drawing room balances splendour with comfort. A blazing fire on a chilly September evening was almost luxurious as we lazed in front of the fire with Daniel for company and chatted with our hosts.
The house dates from the 18th century and has been meticulously restored. Richard and Sandra have filled it with family heirlooms, resulting in a wonderfully stylish yet comfortable house.
A stay at Mobarnane with such a delightful couple is a privilege.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed with our wedding party for my daughter's wedding in early September 2011, some of whom came a long way. Everyone found it easy to locate as motorway from Cork to Dublin is now only a few miles away. The house was scrupulously clean and Sandra made sure that the very favourable first impressions were maintained. By virtue of having to organise things we cannot have been easy guests as we came and went at all hours, but Richard put himself out to accomodate this.

The house is wonderfully peaceful and furnished with family items so it is easy to relax from the outset.

We did not dine there, but the breakfasts left nothing to be desired and all in all everyone agreed that our hosts made it a very pleasant long weekend.

Having travelled all over the World over many years I would count this as amongst the most positive of many such experiences

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I can not say enough positive things about Mobarnane House and the hospitality that we experienced while there. The house, the property, and most importantly, the owners and their sweet dog Daniel made us feel right at home. My husband and I arrived on a chilly, rainy afternoon and were greated with warmth and the offering of borrowing some Wellies so that we could go on a walk around the property. Supper is not to be missed at Mobarnane House. Each course was better than the next - simple, fresh ingredients done just right. Our hosts spent lots of time with us talking about the culture of the countryside, which we loved, though I'm sure that if we had wanted to be left alone they would have given us as much space as we needed. Breakfast was again a treat with homemade bread, fresh eggs, and lots more. Although we were only able to stay for one night, I left with tears in my eyes and with my husband promising that we could return soon. Just a lovely, authentic experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hollyh480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stay in quite a few 'off-the beaten track' places in order to get a bit more personal service and not feel like a reservation number! Mobarnane is a bit difficult to find and could do with som local low key driectional signage as we have seen in other Hidden Ireland accommodation. However we found it and receieved a very warm welcome from Richard & Sandra. We were disappointed to hear we were the only guests that night as part of the atmosphere is there being a few couples staying and we felt a bit of an intrusion. Both hosts are very warm and chatty and quite open to letting you relax. The house is quite lovely and fitted in an understated manner with we like so it is nice and relaxed. Dinner was a good home cooked meal and the wine accompanying it was very fine though the meal would not have been gourmet as suggested on this website.
We did have a problem with the fact that we had to retire to our bedroom early as the downstairs alarm system had to be turned on! It seems a bit much that after having decided to come here we had to go to our bedroom pretty soon after dinner and were not allowed downstairs again until 8am. I personally do not like being restrained that way expecially as we are paying for the pleasure of the house not just the room. Breakfast was ok and we left pretty soon after that. The rates I feel are overpriced and I doubt that the recent VAT reduction had been applied. I found it a bit cheeky to have been charged for what I felt was a complimentary cup of coffee on arrival (€4) seeing as the place we had stayed the previous night gave us tea and sandwiches for nothing on arrival!! Overall a wonderful house and setting but far too pricey for one night away.

Room Tip: get the front of house suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saville0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Manor house- with large comfortable rooms- with attached sitting room!! Ultra comfy bed/ duvet and pillow.
Fabulous food for dinner and breakfast. So fresh they ask you what your likes/ dislikes are to cater for even the fussiest eater.....
Great hosts, able to judge just how to give the guest space but also welcome into the house.
Really enjoyable experience. A taste of a hidden personal Ireland.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Holidaymaker-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This B & B is really a small manor house on a large property with a lake. The location is on a small country road, not much more than 1 lane wide near Cashel. Getting there was slightly adventurous. However, once arriving everything was great. The room was large and spacious. Sandra and Richard were lovely to spend time with, especially discussing the upcoming visit of the Queen.
Besides a fine place for lodging, a gourmet dinner was prepared by Richard. it was the best meal we had on our vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mobarnane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mobarnane House

Address: Fethard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Fethard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fethard
Price Range: $123 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing