We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If god had created anything better he would have kept it for himself”
Review of Clonacody House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clonacody House
Ranked #2 of 3 Fethard B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If god had created anything better he would have kept it for himself”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Where else could you stay in a stunning mansion built in 1740' with true opulence and luxury, in which the owners make you feel like part of the family. Helen, michel and family, not forgeting rusty the smillie dog make you so welcome its hard to leave,both jules and I will be returning again on our next trip back and will be recommending Clonacoy House to all our friends and relatives.
Peter Dixon
Perth
Western Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

the house is a proper old irish country house with lots of the original features. I stayed in a lovely room with stripped wood floors a four poster bed the decor was very modern, my bathroom was heavenly and my bath was freestanding in the middle of the room and huge almost the best bath I have ever had. My room overlooked the gardens which were lovely. Helen the owner was lovely and very accomodating when after a rather heavy night did not mind me not coming down for breakfast until 10.30. The dining room was epic painted the same colour her mother had painted it 40 years ago but was timeless, again great decor. Breakfast freshly cooked and delicious. All in all I could not fault my stay for venue, service and the fact you really felt like it was a treat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pennyleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rep of Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

What a beautiful house. I had a lovely weekend in Clonacody House. It is so welcoming and warm. Helen was so lovely and welcoming and provided lovely food all weekend long. I'll definately be back sometime soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Clonacody House is a hidden treasure. The history of the house and Kellett family history deserve more recognition. The house has huge potential for private parties and is ideal for intimate gatherings. I also got the feeling that any such event would be at your own discretion, so you would get the run of the place. There are many local attractions and alot of exploring to be done. We plan a return sooner rather than later, with friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Clonacody House offers guests charming, comfortable and secluded accommodation in a meticulously cared for country house. Located just outside of Fethard, a postcard perfect town, one can reach Clonacody House traveling off the beaten path on local roads. At the end of a long drive lies a charming place, lovingly cared for by Helen and Michael.

Admittedly, I became a little lost, and arrived very late due to a significant delay in my car rental. Helen and Michael were supremely hospitable and understanding, and made my road weary and bedraggled family welcome and comfortable. We promptly tucked into the drawing room with some wine and warm fire and the melted into what could quite possibly be the world's most comfortable couches.

The following morning we were greeted with a delicious breakfast, prepared by Helen. Afterwards we walked the grounds, and were greeted by charming pups and beautiful pastures.

Be certain to email Helen for directions prior to your trip to ensure you reach this special hidden gem. The owners have mastered the perfect blend of historic home surrounded by modern comforts. We instantly felt at home in this special estate. My only complaint is that I had to leave!

TNT

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaNoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had the pleasure to be put up for one night in Clonacody House recently. This place is kind of hard to find but Helen, the proprietor, gave us accurate instructions on the phone. A long drive way reveals a magnificent stately home which, inside, is lovingly and sympathetically restored and decorated to provide understated, old fashioned luxury. The rooms are stunning, the beds and bedding top class and the bathrooms spectacular and all this for the price of a very ordinary hotel. Freshly cooked breakfast with quality ingredients too!
By arrangement, Helen was providing us with dinner too which proved to be a beautifully cooked, home style, simple yet elegant meal, prepared fresh with wine and homemade dessert and served in the amazing diningroom.
We also arranged for a picnic hamper for the following day; what a lovely surprise when we opened the classic old style picnic basket: a beautiful array of pates, posh sausage rolls, fresh fruit, yoghurts, melba toast, salad. Beautiful.
We didn't have time to explore the gardens on our stay but we were really charmed by Helen and her beautiful house. Despite some of our party arriving very late and cancelling the dinner they had arranged and us needing and extremely early breakfast our host was never anything but gracious (at 6AM!).
This was one of my most enjoyable food and accommodation experiences in Ireland.
I'd recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful - one of them is a little small but when the bed is this good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Black_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious rooms set in lovely gardens.

Whether you want to be part of the buzz or find a quiet corner Clonacody House has it all.

A real home from home, complete with the Irish welcome.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagesmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clonacody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonacody House

Property: Clonacody House
Address: Fethard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Fethard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fethard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clonacody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing