We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding Irish Hospitality and Quiet Comfort”
Review of Clonacody House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clonacody House
Ranked #2 of 3 Fethard B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Clonacody House offers guests charming, comfortable and secluded accommodation in a meticulously cared for country house. Located just outside of Fethard, a postcard perfect town, one can reach Clonacody House traveling off the beaten path on local roads. At the end of a long drive lies a charming place, lovingly cared for by Helen and Michael.

Admittedly, I became a little lost, and arrived very late due to a significant delay in my car rental. Helen and Michael were supremely hospitable and understanding, and made my road weary and bedraggled family welcome and comfortable. We promptly tucked into the drawing room with some wine and warm fire and the melted into what could quite possibly be the world's most comfortable couches.

The following morning we were greeted with a delicious breakfast, prepared by Helen. Afterwards we walked the grounds, and were greeted by charming pups and beautiful pastures.

Be certain to email Helen for directions prior to your trip to ensure you reach this special hidden gem. The owners have mastered the perfect blend of historic home surrounded by modern comforts. We instantly felt at home in this special estate. My only complaint is that I had to leave!

TNT

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheresaNoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had the pleasure to be put up for one night in Clonacody House recently. This place is kind of hard to find but Helen, the proprietor, gave us accurate instructions on the phone. A long drive way reveals a magnificent stately home which, inside, is lovingly and sympathetically restored and decorated to provide understated, old fashioned luxury. The rooms are stunning, the beds and bedding top class and the bathrooms spectacular and all this for the price of a very ordinary hotel. Freshly cooked breakfast with quality ingredients too!
By arrangement, Helen was providing us with dinner too which proved to be a beautifully cooked, home style, simple yet elegant meal, prepared fresh with wine and homemade dessert and served in the amazing diningroom.
We also arranged for a picnic hamper for the following day; what a lovely surprise when we opened the classic old style picnic basket: a beautiful array of pates, posh sausage rolls, fresh fruit, yoghurts, melba toast, salad. Beautiful.
We didn't have time to explore the gardens on our stay but we were really charmed by Helen and her beautiful house. Despite some of our party arriving very late and cancelling the dinner they had arranged and us needing and extremely early breakfast our host was never anything but gracious (at 6AM!).
This was one of my most enjoyable food and accommodation experiences in Ireland.
I'd recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful - one of them is a little small but when the bed is this good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Black_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious rooms set in lovely gardens.

Whether you want to be part of the buzz or find a quiet corner Clonacody House has it all.

A real home from home, complete with the Irish welcome.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyagesmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was so glad we kept this lovely spot for the end of our whirlwind trip around Ireland--things immediately slowed way down once we walked into Clonacody House and were welcomed by Helen and Michael and a nice warm fire in the drawing room. This house is amazing. Built in 1750, and in Helen's family for nearly 50 years, she and her partner have restored it into a perfect blend of modern comfort and unpretentious luxury. The bedrooms, with delightfully comfy bedding, antique furniture (most pieces original to the house) and contemporary touches, are chock full of light and warmth. Almost all bathrooms come with big claw foot tubs, and leaving without a nice long hot soak in one of them would be a crime. Breakfasts are served in the gorgeous dining room, by candlelight, which is how I think I will have all my breakfasts from now on. Michael executes the full Irish exquisitely (complete with homemade bread from his mother), but will also happily accommodate requests. The grounds are huge and lush and worth exploring, and the views are painting-worthy. You will most certainly be offered tea, which should be taken in the drawing room so you can pretend you're in a Jane Austen PBS special while drinking it (that's what I did anyway). For all this, I thought the price was incredibly reasonable. My only disappointment was the lack of a sign (which made for some excess driving around) and lack of internet access, but all the more reason to head into Fethard to McCarthy's for a pint to ask for directions or jump on their wireless.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notsofrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I was going to Fethard with friends and we were told that we should stay in this new B&B called "Clonacody House", approximately 5 minutes drive from Fethard itself and about 10 minutes from Clonmel. When we arrived we could not believe the size of the B&B and were very excited. The grounds were magnificent. We were met by Helen and Michael, who took our bags! Very posh for a B&B! It was dark when we arrived and a large fire was lit in the hall. It was so welcoming. Helen gave us all a cup of tea/coffee and we were then shown to our rooms. Couldnt believe the rooms. They were so quaint with a modern twist. This place is an absolute gem! You have to stay there. Breakfast was given to us in a fantastically large dining room with a huge burning fire with large windows where we had a fantastic view of the grounds. We were only to stay one night but ended up staying two. Were going back in July and cannot wait.
www.clonacodyhouse.com

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrieg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qu importe, toutes les chambres sont très chaleureuses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odiledinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind toll - jedes Zimmel individuell eingerichtet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clonacody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonacody House

Address: Fethard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Fethard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fethard
Price Range: $120 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clonacody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing