We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT WEDDING VENUE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coolbawn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“BRILLIANT WEDDING VENUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My son and daughter in law were married in coolbawn quay hotel last may. The venue is stunning as it is situated beside a marina and lake It's a unique venue with accommodation of excellent houses on site coupled with a spectacular marquee that has to be seen to be believed. The staff, service and venue made it a memorable few days and I would recommend it for any event but especially a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    24
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
62
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had our wedding in Coolbawn Quay in July, and it was the most perfect experience. Terry and her staff are a credit to the place, and could not have been more friendly or helpful. The standard of both food and accommodation is top notch. The whole experience was wonderful and we did not want to leave. I would highly recommend Coolbawn Quay both as a wedding venue and also as a place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahmenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went here for a hen. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the restaurant service absolutely fantastic. The food was 5* and could not be faulted.
They offered breakfast at the cottages as part of the package, however since the check-in staff did not tell us that we needed to order it the night before nor did anyone think to ask about that, ended up having to go out to the main restaurant for breakfast.

The view from the relaxation room in the spa is very nice. The down side for us was that the spa was quite cool/cold and the treatment rooms took awhile to heat up. My feet were frozen through most of the massage treatment. The relaxation room was cosy if you sat on the couch but the loungers were not that comfortable as you had to sit at a 90 degree angle. They are quite strict on the number of the Aqua Suite users being 4 or less, though I'm sure it could easily fit 6-8 if spread out among the sauna/steam-room/pool. The pool is quite small and was closed that weekend. The sauna was really good. However, while the steam-room seemed to have a lot of steam visually, it felt rather cool as well and you could feel a breeze coming in from under the glass door. The showers are open (i.e. shared) and there's only one toilet, probably ok for only 4 people though. Also disappointed they did not offer any herbal tea or smoothies as a refreshment nor fresh fruit, which I'm used to seeing at many other spas. There was some water and orange squash.

The cottages are fabulous. Very cosy, well heated, well equipped and have a lovely linen smell. The showers have really good water power and the toiletries are decent. Would definitely go back, though probably not to the spa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Attended a family wedding in July and cannot speak highly enough of the people at Coolbawn Quay who helped make it a most memorable occassion.Terry and her staff were just brilliant, nothing was a problem for them throughout what was a wonderful weekend. The food was excellent and the attention to detail superb, and they simply could not do enough.
We were blessed with fine weather and Coolbawn Quay was at its radiant best, The accomodation was superb and village created a brilliant atmosphere for all the guests.The people of Terryglass also contributed greatly to the success of the venue,Guests who stayed in B&B's there were brought to and from the wedding and the local hostelries,particularly Mairead of Paddy's Bar & Restaurant, played their role in organising transport, babysitters and any other services required...all in all a brilliant example of a small community supporting each other.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMMC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and had our wedding reception at Coolbawn Quay on the 28th of April, 2012. It was such a perfect place to bring friends and family to for a wedding, really different to the normal wedding hotel operation. It wasn't too far from the church but felt so remote and exclusive to just us. All the pretty little houses were filled with friends and family and the atmosphere in the place was perfect.

Terry and her team were fantastic in the run up to the wedding, I was organising everything from abroad and it was really easy because Coolbawn made it easy. On the day, they had everything covered. I asked many little annoying questions and every single one was already well covered by Terry even if I hadn't asked. They know what they are doing so you really don't have much to worry about at all.

As a visitor to the place, the rooms are beautiful, certainly 4-5 star quality. They have little fireplaces in the houses that they will light. The bar on site is really 'Irish' style, a good atmosphere for people looking for an Irish escape. I didnt use the spa but I'm sure it is top rate. Just up the road you have the village of Terryglass which is a buzzing little place on the lake (2 traditional pubs and not much else!), filled with boating people, fishing tourists and locals all summer.

We can't recommend Coolbawn enough, well worth a visit and a real Irish escape.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just back from an amazing weekend at this gem..we had a girlie get away for 8 of us at lilac cottage..lamps lit,stove ready to go on.. we felt we were on an island such a village feel to the majestic place..breakfast and evening meal,excellent..complements to the chef..staff v friendly and helpful,tks terry for providing me with a new toothbrush as I forgot mine and 20 mins drive to nenagh! Spa staff fab,in particular Carol! Heineken and Guinness draft nicest ever in the snug bar.defo go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cccola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Myself and my beautiful wife got married here on the 02/06/12. Terry, Rob and her team were so accommodating. We filled the onsite accommodation with our friends and family. Everyone was completely blown away by the venue. We met the owners the Brophy's the day after the wedding and they told us that they struggled to define what Coolbawn was..... My take is that it is a holiday village that feels like a real village..... The marina is the key to this as the "boat people" have generally been there for a while lending a sense of community to the place.... Well, they bought me a beer while myself and me wife were waiting to go into the main marquee reception venue, what more can I say!

Room Tip: Swimming pool is lough Derg.... Fitness centre, as I said, lough Derg is the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolbawn
18.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
10.7 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
20.5 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa

Property: Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa
Address: Coolbawn | Lough Derg, Coolbawn, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Coolbawn
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coolbawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Coolbawn Quay Hotel Marina
Coolbawn Quay Club, Marina & Spa County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing