We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitethorn Lodge

Whitethorn Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitethorn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Ballina B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently spent a week at Whitethorn Lodge on a cousin's recommendation & it lived up to expectations and more. Having just left very disappointing accomodation in Dublin, it was a real treat and Anne looked after us like we were family. Genealogy was the purpose of my visit and whenever she could Anne offered help with my research, even to the point of inviting a cousin to meet us there, in her sitting room. And as an added bonus, she offered to do our laundry, very much appreciated by two senior Australian travellers. Our room was large and confortable, the beds good and the breakfasts superb. I would certainly recommend this B&B to any of our friends who wanted to enjoy this beautiful & historically interesting area of Ireland.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
28
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Österreich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Togehter with friends I stayed for two nights at Whitethorn Lodge in Ballina. Anne gave us a very warm welcome, that we felt immediately like at home. The rooms are large and comfortable equipped. Anne offers a large breakfast-menu, even with salmon. The centres of Ballina and Killaloe with restaurants, pubs and shops can be reached within a 15 minutes walk. I can only recommend this B&B to everybody, who wants to visit the Shannon region.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Austria_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in Whitethorn Lodge in while attending a wedding. We arrived before the wedding to drop out bags and found the atmosphere welcoming and relaxed. Anne was very helpful and offered a lift to the hotel too pick up the car etc. As a wheelchair user, I found the rooms perfectly suitable and would recommend them for anyone. Anne was very helpful in offering assistance and looking for feedback. We had a great chat the next morning and will recommend this B&B to friends. We will be back at some point. Thank you Anne.

Room Tip: If you have specific requirements as a person with a disability, just ask. Anne will be more than ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

unfortunately we only stayed for one night, but before that we have had contact via email which was very nice as well. Anne is a very nice and helpful person and we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaLoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Comfortable, spacious rooms, great breakfast at a time that suits you, helpful friendly hosts. Free wi-fi, quiet location close to town, wheelchair accessible. We keep coming back. You couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I spent a night in Whitethorn Lodge in early November and found it an absolutely superb B&B. Only a ten minute stroll from the town centre, it is a home from home. There is plenty of parking around the house. Anne is a wonderful hostess and made us feel very welcome. She was also kind enough to drop us into the village when we were going out to eat. Great service!

The room was spotless and very large. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. The rooms also cater for disabled guests. The location is very quiet and we had a great night's sleep.

Our breakfast was fresh and very tasty. Anne offers both a cooked and a continental option and the quality is good, most of the produce locally sourced. Overall Whitethorn Lodge offers great value and is an excellent choice if staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank our_man_in_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at Whitethorn Lodge for a week, whilst searching for my branch of the O'Brien ancestors. I could not fault the kindness and hospitality I received from Anne and her family. The accommodation and breakfasts were excellent, and Anne, with her knowledge of the area and the locals, actually helped me locate my branch of the family. Anyone looking for their Irish ancestors in the area would be well advised to make this their base.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
12.0 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitethorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitethorn Lodge

Property: Whitethorn Lodge
Address: Whitethorn Lodge 1 Shannon View, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Ballina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitethorn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whitethorn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing