We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
130
182
99
51
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
182
99
51
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspier headdonegal bayleisure centrepatio doorssea viewrelaxing breakstunning locationbreakfast roomsteakboth nightsbar menuwild atlantic wayhotel barsconeshazel
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 519 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights mid August. We had a sea view, however, the room we had was disappointing (room 104) as it was long and narrow with very little room to move around the beds. It was very warm and claustrophobic with one small window which for safety reasons only opened a little. All staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Rosemarie and Carmel on reception. We ate in the bar on two evenings. The food was good on the first night, however, I would not recommend the crumbed chicken we had on the second night. The service was a bit slow but staff were friendly. Breakfast was excellent and we ordrered porridge which was delicious. We also used the swimming pool which was good. If I was to stay again I would prefer a more spacious room with a door leading out to the terrace. Overall we had a pleasant stay and I would stay there again. The hotel is in a beautiful location and has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Christine082012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Having written a review of this place in 2015, what a disappointment to see the same, drab room and seemingly, no management in sight. I counted five uncleared tables in the bar section in which we were and the floor had squashed peas and general dirt on it. Having regard to it being a busy August Sunday, this might be an excuse but it was 4.30 in the afternoon. No sign of anybody taking an order, so one of our group had to go to the bar for service, although there were plenty of staff behind the bar. The coffees were not good but the scones were fine - better if they were heated, but we were not given that option. Jam looked more like insipid jelly and no spoons, just wooden stirrers! What is wrong with the hotels in Mullaghmore - they have one of the best locations in Ireland?

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank omfarrell2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Family trip. Hotel is in an idyllic location untouched by commercialism, overlooking harbour and beach. Staff at hotel very pleasant. Rooms are small but perfect size for short breaks. View from hotel was beautiful. Atmosphere in hotel bar was very relaxed. Evening meal was delicious and very filling. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Wished we had stayed longer. Perfect spot for touring the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms with view of harbour beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MCNON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Everything looked well on the web page
I'll keep this as brief as possible. 99% pleasant staff were friendly but it only takes one to spoil the weekend added to other things that were not right with the hotel. The first bedroom we were given was just about bigger than the bed, very small for two adults. We were then given a larger room but I don't thing there were any springs left in the mattress. We are both of average size but every time you rolled over the bed squeaked and cracked. I tried the smaller bed which was a lot worse. The beds were very uncomfortable I went down just after 9 to get into the pool which was not open at the time stated. The fire door outside our room cracked and banged every time someone opened it which woke us at night. The noise of the extractor in the bathroom and believe it or not other guests turning the water on full woke us several occasions over the weekend.
There is a limited food menu and when we asked for a menu we were told to lift one from the end of the bar. We ate both nights in the hotel across the road. One of the worst things was the table tops where you ate breakfast were sticky and tacky, obviously a cleaning product problem. I just feel someone needs to go round the hotel and sort a few items out. It's lovely setting for a hotel. Try and get a room out the back as the front room we had is also noisy due to the heat having to leave the window open and people sitting outside the hotel late at night. We did report these things on the Saturday but nothing was done. It's a take the money and run due to volume of people using the hotel. Unfortunate. Sorry Pier Head but at that sort of money €120.00 a night I would of expected much better.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
6  Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

From booking the accommodation on the phone right through to our departure, the staff were so helpful, friendly, and very pleasant. We had a lovely evening meal in the bar which was tasty, fresh, and presented beautifully. The fantastic sea views from all our rooms really enhanced our stay and thanks here must go to Carmel who did everything possible to ensure our stay was scenic and pleasant. Thanks to all at The Pier Hotel.
Mary

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews