We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great hotel and location!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we arrived we parked our car in the carpark reserved exclusively for the patrons of the hotel, checking in was very quick and efficient, the receptionist was very friendly and professional. When we arrived at our room I was surprised at how easy it was to use the card key in the door lock, I have had problems with this in other hotels. The room had a hospitality tray, a flat screen tv, my wife's all important hair dryer and had a table at the window with two seats, where we were able to have our drinks as the sun set. The room was a good size and warm, the ensuite had all the usual toiletries that you would expect and the shower was probably our best ever. We ate in the bar/restaurant on both of our evenings, the food was very tasty with a reasonable sellection considering that it was still out of season, and very reasonably priced. From here there were also great views, a tip would be to reserve a seat by the window. The staff, witout exception were very very friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfasts were amazing, all tastes and appetites were catered for, and as the wall overlooking the sea beach and mountains was a wall of glass everyone had a view. Our room was overlooking the harbour, and on past that, the beach with the mountains in the back, an absolutely astounding view. The long beach had golden sand and was a five minute walk along the promenade from the hotel, It was also nice to walk around the harbour. If you walk from the hotel along the road in the opposite direction from the beach there are fantastic views of the cliffs and sea, with seating / picnic areas with palms growing.
This was our first time in Mullaghmore and we were so impressed with the area and this hotel, we are looking forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cap-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    169
    90
    44
    56
See reviews for
85
277
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
offaly, ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay in the Pier Head. This was my first time in Mullaghmore and I intend to return during the summer months. The hotels location is fabulous, the twin room we had was small but very clean. The tv is tiny and not really visible from anywhere in the room other than standing directly in front of it but we only had 3 channels so there wasn't much to watch anyway! We missed breakfast on the 1st morning so we had it in our room on the 2nd morning and it was delicious. The staff are good enough at their jobs although not terribly friendly. The beauty therapist (Sinead) is very nice. We recommend Henrys on the N15 between Grange and Sligo for dinner, good menu choice, good food and excellent attentive service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneOffaly_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here in april and although there was a wedding on there were still plenty of available staff to deal with those of us not attending the wedding. Rooms were clean and modern, breakfast was lovely and ate in the bar on both evenings and had great food on both times. Would definately recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

April is not a favourable time to visit any seaside village, nevertheless, allowing for the off-season period, we had a very enjoyable time in the Pierhead Hotel. We found all staff, without exception, to be very helpful, cheery, and attentive to our needs. Bar food was all that was available (Seasonal restrictions) but was well cooked, plentiful and did the job. Do not expect gourmet standards, but you will be well fed. If Wifi is a requirement, then ask for a room close to the Office as the network becomes tenuous in the further rooms.
All in all, value for money, and a very pleasant stay.
Expect us back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crusheen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Mullaghmore is probably one of my favourite places in Ireland, its quiet and really beautiful.
We stayed in the Pier Head Hotel for a few days in March, we were well outside the tourist season but none the less we enjoyed it. On a bright morning there is such enjoyment having breakfast overlooking the Atlantic.
The staff are really friendly and accomidating and when on our second evening we were enjoying ourselves they seemed delighted that we decided to stay for an extra night.
Ther is only one downside tho the Pier Head Hotel and that is that the bedroom doors seem to bang quite a lot and I wonder if it may be quite noisy at high season.
Sinead in the Spa is a lady and she relaxed and revived me before I faced back to the city. Cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: Sinead in the Spa is such an assett to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemyholidays80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, value, service, food, rooms. I got a great deal for a three day stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing break. The view from the dining room is amazing, Spa fantastic.
Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonm392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungiven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights B&B, breakfast was excellent, staff were excellent & very accommodating. The location was quiet but just what we wanted as it was very relaxing & the views were outstanding. We ate in the restaurant & the food was very good. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet76Dungiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullaghmore
12.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
11.8 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
15.1 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Property: Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Address: Mullaghmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3 star hotel (all rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs) Leisure Centre, Beauty Salon, Hair Dressing, 2 bars, Restaurant and Function Room. We cater for: singles, couples, families, groups, corporate, wedding, tours and more. Live music every Saturday night in our Quay Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Head Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre Hotel Mullaghmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing