We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but a bad end to weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
Dublin,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but a bad end to weekend”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We travelled to the Pier Head in October and found the experience for the most part very good, but for the sting in the tail when leaving. We found the staff, the leisure centre pool and food of very good quality. We discussed among ourselves returning again but on check out this idea changed. The previous night we had booked the hot tub for an hour and my wife paid the person running the leisure centre at the time the fee in cash and got no receipt. On leaving she was questioned as to why the money had not been paid, a book produced, my wife had to assure both people that the money was paid before we could leave. She found the whole experience very distressing, we left under this cloud and will never return, a sad end to an otherwise great weekend. to the Pier Head in October and found the experience for the most part very good, but for the sting in the tail when leaving. We found the staff, the leisure cenre pool and food of very good quality. We discussed among ourselves returning again but on check out this idea changed. The previous night we had booked the hot tub for an hour and my wife paid the person running the leisure centre at the time the fee in cash and got no receipt. On leaving she was questioned as to why the money had not been paid, a book produced, my wife had to assure both people that the money was paid before we could leave. She found the whole experience very distressing, we left under this cloud and will never return, a sad end to an otherwise great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    172
    90
    45
    56
See reviews for
87
278
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have stayed with friends overnight and really enjoyed the atmosphere in this lovely hotel. We welcomed by friendly staff and a warm hotel room on what was a very cold night. The food in the bar was lovely as was the breakfast with the added views from the restaurant windows. A beautiful part of the world and looking forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights last week and found it a lovely quiet hotel. very good breakfast evening meal very good served.
The room we were given was quite nice with a view overlooking the pier the only disappointment was that there was no tea making facilities in the room.
The leisure centre was okay the changing rooms very very small.
All in all I would return and will recommend it to my friends

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first fllor overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from a lovely two day break at this hotel.Staff really helpful and especially Grainne for sorting out our room.The views are spectacular.The hotel was very comfortable.Breakfast was very good as was the meal in the bar.I find the pool very clean and staff there very good as well.This is our second visit to this hotel and we will be back again.Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonegalPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

just back from pier head lovely spot views are fantastic hotel your average 3 star bar food good breakfast not great but staff very helpfull and friendly , we saw first snow of the season
this morning .must say hotel lovely and warm

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annA5942IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Ct USA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Mullaghmore is a nice little oceanfront town with scenery making it worth while the visit. The Restaurant inside the hotel is fine, the Seafood chowder and brown bread were ok, the service slow. remember this is October, staffing is down. This is my second visit to the restaurant, and I would try another one across the street when I visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went on a living social voucher week end and a last minute booking-from 20/1012.the hotel was modernised in the last 7 yrs. had a small leisure centre with swimming pool. Also had a hot tub on 1st floor terrace, facing out to sea. An expensive fee of 20euro for a 30- min session. The room we were given was a little disappointing in size and location. It faced out to the car park, so sad with all the wonderful views available. The room itself was well equip but small. Very clean and small flat screen television. Tea and coffee making facility and hair dryer. Bed was a little hard and pillows flat.decor clean and bright . The bathroom was a good size, nicely fitted, spotless and plenty of towels. The staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was good and generous. We ate in the bar in the evening. Food portions were more than adequate, but a little pricy. Food was cooked to order and always fresh. On the whole a nice unpretentious hotel ,good food and service in a lovely restful location. Great place to unwind and recharge batteries. Will definately recommend and return for another visit. The coastal walks are so beautiful not to be missed. Also ladies should avail of a lovely beauty treatment in house, the very sweet sinead gave me a lovely facial and hand therapy, bliss . Thank you all at pier head for a lovely time . Next time I will ask for a sea facing room, not rm 215 ,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullaghmore
12.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
11.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
7.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,615 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
8.9 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Property: Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Address: Mullaghmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3 star hotel (all rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs) Leisure Centre, Beauty Salon, Hair Dressing, 2 bars, Restaurant and Function Room. We cater for: singles, couples, families, groups, corporate, wedding, tours and more. Live music every Saturday night in our Quay Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Head Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre Hotel Mullaghmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing