We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value break at pier head hotel mullaghmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went on a living social voucher week end and a last minute booking-from 20/1012.the hotel was modernised in the last 7 yrs. had a small leisure centre with swimming pool. Also had a hot tub on 1st floor terrace, facing out to sea. An expensive fee of 20euro for a 30- min session. The room we were given was a little disappointing in size and location. It faced out to the car park, so sad with all the wonderful views available. The room itself was well equip but small. Very clean and small flat screen television. Tea and coffee making facility and hair dryer. Bed was a little hard and pillows flat.decor clean and bright . The bathroom was a good size, nicely fitted, spotless and plenty of towels. The staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was good and generous. We ate in the bar in the evening. Food portions were more than adequate, but a little pricy. Food was cooked to order and always fresh. On the whole a nice unpretentious hotel ,good food and service in a lovely restful location. Great place to unwind and recharge batteries. Will definately recommend and return for another visit. The coastal walks are so beautiful not to be missed. Also ladies should avail of a lovely beauty treatment in house, the very sweet sinead gave me a lovely facial and hand therapy, bliss . Thank you all at pier head for a lovely time . Next time I will ask for a sea facing room, not rm 215 ,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoinette778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 493 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

useful place to rest your head if you are around sligo, the rooms are basic enough although there seems to be nicer ones overlooking the upstairs terrace, breakfast is ok but avoid the pool - grotty....., also the price seems to vary quite a bit so its worth checking out in time
the ajoining bar is quite good but its the location that saves it lovely part of sligo

Room Tip: try to get one overlooking the terrace/bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderaroundabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, since your checkout in August we have refurbished our Leisure Centre.

Regards,
James Feeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself & 3 friends stayed here last weekend 28-30th Sept 12 for our weekend break, have to say really enjoyed our break, the food & service was very good, our room was a bit small but comfortable & clean but the next time we will know to ask for 2 twin room,we availed of the special offer that was running in the Beautians and have to say it was very good value & the beautian herself was a lovely girl & very good at the job, The Leisure centre could maybe doing with a bit of a makeover was a little rough around the edges, maybe ye could consider getting rid of the hottub and putting in a jacuzzi. But have to say really enjoyed our stay & will defiently will be returning.

Room Tip: If any of your party are smokers maybe ask for the rooms with the balconey,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiejump1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for posting a review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre. I am delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us. In relation to your comments about our Leisure Centre, I am pleased to tell you that refurbishment work has commenced this week and we hope to have this work completed very soon.

Thank you once again for your review and and I hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

James Feeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a middle aged man from the midlands and my wife and I had chosen to return to the Pier Hotel for a second getaway. From check in to check out could not fault this hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful as one of the mornings i was going fishing quite early and i had told one member of the staff this and to my surprise she packed me a lunch box to bring with me! The food and service in the resteraunt and bar were top class. we were very impressed. "Paradise..Well done!" :) Thanks to all for making our holiday break fabulous and shall look forward to seeing ye for a third visit!! 10/10

Room Tip: Rooms were great and its nice to have a sea view so if you like ask for balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Lynam

Thank you for posting a review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre. I thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and staff, I will certainly pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.
I hope to welcome you back to the Pier Head Hotel in the very near future for your 3rd visit.

Kindest Regards,
James Feeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Were passing this hotel and decided to call into the bar for a meal. First impressions were not good. The man behind the bar barely glanced at us when we asked for a menu. At the time it was not busy but no staff member came to our table to ask if we were okay. I then went up to enquire about a item on the menu and was barely answered with any information. All the staff in the bar seem to be completely bored with their work and most definently have never heard how to smile. I just feel that first impressions are so important when you call into a hotel and you were not made to feel welcome here. After our experience we did not eat in the hotel and just walked out. Management would need to look into the matter as bad manners will not be tolerated by their guests and most people will just walk out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly l thank you for posting a review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre. I am dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit and I am concerned at the points you raised. If you would like to discuss your review further please contact me directly on 071-9166171.

Kind Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been holidaying in Mullaghmore since I was child, and such my [new] husband and I decided it would be the perfect setting for our wedding.
The bar staff can sometimes be slow (generally as the place is always packed out with locals and tourists and they don't have enough staff to serve everyone immediately) and as such I had a small fear for actual wedding. However ...
James and his team were magnificent! Although we only stayed two nights in the hotel, most of our guests - both friends and family - stayed multiple nights and everyone had glowing reviews from the hotel and team.
James coordinated everything throughout the whole of the day, from making the room up for our civil ceremony to transforming the room for eating and again for the disco in record time! The room looked spectacular, the food was hot and seriously tasty, the drink was served and flowed regularly and we even had all our own bits & bobs that we brought with us neatly arranged in Nemo's bar the following morning to take away.
Hand on heart, I would recommend this hotel for the idyllic wedding that every bride and groom could possibly wish for! Check it out on their website for their wedding packages, I doubt you'll get a better offer anywhere else for an inclusive wedding package with breath-taking views of Donegal Bay and Ben Bulben.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsNasseri-Chahpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear MrsNasseri-Chahpar,

Thank you very much for your kind review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre. I will definitely pass on your comments to all of the team.
I would like to congratulate you once again and extend my best wishes to you both for a long and happy life together.

Kind Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I enjoyed my 2 night stay in the Pier head hotel but saying that with a few little changes that wouldn't be costly it would of made a huge difference to our stay.Our room was in a perfect location overlooking the pier which I was thrilled about. I do agree with the review that states it is a disgrace that you have to pay 20 euro for a half hour in the hot when you are already paying to stay in the hotel which completely put us off using this service. I was quite annoyed that the steam room was also out of order during our stay so all that was offered freely was the pool and sauna. A refurbishment in the leisure centre especially in the changing rooms and around the pool area would make a HUGE difference to this hotel. I found one particular hotel cleaning staff member very rude when I met her coming towards my room and asked when would she like to clean our room as we were just leaving to go out for the day. Her reply was 'well what would you like done' I found this very off putting..I think as a cleaner she should have known herself what needed cleaned and I think it should be every morning your bed sheets etc should be changed no matter how long your stay lasts! This made me think If I hadn't of confronted this female she would not have bothered cleaning our room. The carpet throughout the hotel could do with being renewed as I found it quite dirty in parts and I could also get a damp smell. There were alot of cobwebs throughout the hotel so I definitely think the cleaning staff could make more of an effort. I do agree with a past review that the windows should be sealed better in bedrooms as you are always likely to have a strong breeze by the sea which did cause the bedroom door to bang during the night. The staff at reception were very friendly. Breakfast was good but I do think there could have been a better selection of hot food for example some potatoe bread hash browns or even some mushrooms! Apart from that the pier head hotel is the perfect place to go if you want to see some beautiful scenery and enjoy a good spa treatment. Sinead was extremely friendly and made us both feel very relaxed, we really enjoyed our spa treatments with her only the time went too quick. The hotel should have a sheltered allocated smoking area to save noise outside when people are trying to sleep.I would return to the Pier head hotel after being informed that some of the following changes were made especially to the leisure centre.

Room Tip: I would go for a room over looking the sea or the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D001meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear D001meg,

Thank you for posting a review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
We do offer very good accommodation deals in the hotel which includes full use of our swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. Unfortunately the steam room was out of order throughout your stay, we are currently waiting on delivery of a part for this facility, I apologise about this.
Our outdoor hot-tub has substantial running costs, we feel that €20 per half hour for up to 6 people is reasonable for the private and exclusive use of this facility, we will indeed review this cost. We are a 3 star hotel so the requirement would be to refresh rooms daily with a change of bed linen every second day.
We are constantly upgrading our facilities and refurbishment of parts of the hotel including the leisure centre is planned for later in the season.
I thank you for and welcome all your comments and hope that you return to the Pier Head Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullaghmore
12.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
7.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,019 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,693 reviews
11.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
14.7 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Address: Mullaghmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range: $76 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3 star hotel (all rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs) Leisure Centre, Beauty Salon, Hair Dressing, 2 bars, Restaurant and Function Room. We cater for: singles, couples, families, groups, corporate, wedding, tours and more. Live music every Saturday night in our Quay Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre Hotel Mullaghmore
Pier Head Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing