We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
omagh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After disappointing service at the pier head where we were staying we headed across the road to the beach hotel where we were welcomed and treated like old friends. The staff offered us a fair exchange rate when we weren't offered anything in the pier head. It had a great atmosphere, in future I know where me and my partner will be staying. It may not have the pool that the other hotel offers but I know I would definitely prefer a great service and a warm cozy atmosphere then a half an hr in a cold pool

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank memeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you Memeii for your kind review. I'm delighted you found our staff to be friendly and the atmosphere cosy. We look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    68
    30
    22
    37
See reviews for
64
113
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just back from 2 days at Beach Hotel, not a 5star hotel by any means but a nice clean basic hotel well run by 2 lovely people , Louise & Pat. Nothing is to much trouble for them and having only bought the place a year ago I have no doubt they will make it a success. They have the perfect site , overlooking the harbour, and when the weather is warm and sunny it will be a perfect place to relax with a pint. It was a pleasure to stay there and meet to honest hard working owners and I wish them every success with their venture. We will be back.
R Murray

Room Tip: overlooking the harbour is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you Robert M for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. Thank you also for the good luck wishes!! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N. Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just returned from lovely weekend at The Beach Hotel with my husband, daughter, friends and their children. We were checked in at reception by Louise who made us feel so welcome and chatted away to the children who were very excited to go exploring. Our family room was very spacious with a large double bed and two single beds. We had such an amazing view over Mullaghmore. Once we settled in we went to the bar for a few drinks and the children enjoyed learning how to play pool. After a good night sleep in a very clean comfortable bed we enjoyed a hearty breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the lady in the breakfast room who even went out of her way to ensure my fussy eating daughter got something to eat. We went for a swim in the nearby leisure centre which was great and we enjoyed a lovely walk along the harbour. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was fantastic! After a long day we retired early and woke late the next morning - I haven't had such a long sleep in a long time so this place is definitely the place to recharge the batteries ;-) Again breakfast was delicious and service was second to none. We are planning more trips this year to Mullaghmore just to go back and visit The Beach Hotel. The owners, Louise and Pat are doing a fantastic job to make their guests feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them - we actually feel we were treated like old friends. We are looking forward to going back in the summer with the children and have already planned a couples weekend for our wedding anniversary in September! Keep up the good work Louise and Pat, you have a gem of a place thanks again! Karen, Gavin and Grace x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you Kazz_78 for your kind words. I'm delighted you slept so well & enjoyed your family room and the fabulous views. I look forward to welcoming you again for your anniversary, but will miss Grace's dancing!!!
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the Beach Hotel,although the weather wasn't the best we were well looked after by Louise and Pat. They went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The food in the bar was excellent as was the view over the harbour and across the bay, a most pleasant way to relax and spend an evening.

Room Tip: A view over the harbour if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverhave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you Riverhave for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted you had a relaxing break and enjoyed the food and scenery even though the weather was so bad.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you are looking for a 4/5 star luxury hotel then this is not for you.BUT if you want a family run, affordable,hotel with friendly staff, a warm atmosphere and good wholesome food,then you will be made more than welcome at the BEACH HOTEL. This is the first season for Louise and Pat who are doing their utmost to make it a success.Nothing is too much trouble for this couple,they will go that xtra mile to accommodate you.Our room overlooked the harbour(splendid view) and was light and spacious, with a good size bathroom which would need updating but was spotlessly clean. In the evening we had a bar meal which was tasty and modestly priced and later we were entertained by a folk group. Breakfast next morning was lovely and nicely presented If we were ever in this vicinity again during the summer we would not hesitate to stay. Highly reccommended. Good Luck Louise and Pat.
,

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking the harbour. Views are splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 402Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you Liz3 for your lovely review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and atmosphere- and the view from your room. Thank you also for the good luck wishes!
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunganon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just back from a beautiful relaxing two days in the Beach Hotel.

The hospitality, service and friendliness could not be bettered.
Room warm & cosy. (Although the room was small it may have been possible to design the layout to accommodate a couple of chairs & a small table)

Food excellent.

A beautiful friendly couple in Louise and Pat, the proprietors.
I believe that they have just recently taken over the hotel and if they continue to provide the service we enjoyed over the weekend they will deservedly succeed in their enterprise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you JackieC for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted you enjoyed the food and relaxation!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Beach Hotel very soon
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just home from a weekend here and just loved it. Lovely wee hotel with new owners who seem to be putting their heart and soul into giving it a new lease of life. Location right on the sea was fabulous. Rooms are spacious,clean and very warm and cosy. As I said already it's a work in progress and I have to say at the moment the bathroom, while very clean and functional with loads of hot water, is dated and not without flaw but that in no way affected or spoiled our stay. Bedlinen and towels were spotless. Bed was very comfortable and the peace and quiet was just lovely. We had breakfast and dinner on both days and have no complaints at all. Lounge where we ate was bright clean and comfortable. Food was very good, hot (important because I hate lukewarm food) and very generous portions. I asked for something not on the menu and it was no problem.The staff could not have been nicer and the owners, Pat and Louise, were adorable. In fact after two days Louise felt like like an old friend! Lovely couple. Now as I said it's by no means perfect so dont be expecting 5 star accommodation but the cons were far outweighed by the pros. If you want somewhere to relax surrounded by beautiful scenery and lovely people this is it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHotelOwner, Owner at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you SusanS for taking the time to review our hotel.
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the hotel, the food and the scenery in Mullaghmore. I hope its not long until we welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Louise McArdle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullaghmore
12.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
6.8 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,596 reviews
7.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
996 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Property: The Beach Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Mullaghmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 28 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have a sea view. Our ever popular sea view rooms have a panoramic view of Mullaghmore Harbour, Ben Bulben and the Dartry Mountain range, the village green and the expanse of the Atlantic Ocean. The window boxes in each sea view bedroom, provide a fabulous vantage point where you can sit and admire the beautiful surrounding area. There are Family Rooms- all Sea View, Double Rooms and Twin Rooms available. All bedrooms are tastefully decorated in tranquil serene pastels, with fresh, crisp, white linen ensuring a gentle peaceful sleep. Each Hotel bedroom includes the following facilities Private Bathroom with bath and shower Hairdryer Tea and coffee making facilities Dressing table with mirror and chair TV Complimentary shampoo and shower gel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing