We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”
Review of Philmar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Philmar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballincar B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was a wonderful B and B. Mary, the hostess went above and beyond. They beds were comfy and breakfast delicious. Very close to town and some great pubs and restaurants. Would definatly return here next time in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed recently at Philmar House for the second year in a row. Mary is a warm and welcoming hostess. We arrived early just to drop off our bags, before going in to Sligo, and Mary was very accommodating, even though she was still getting our room ready. Philmar House is a quick and easy drive into Sligo city center, especially the Modal Museum. Even better is its convenient location to Rosses Point! We had a sunset walk on the beach that couldn't be beat. Mary provided tea and coffee on arrival and we had a delicious filling breakfast the next morning. If we are in Sligo again, we will definitely stay at Philmar House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irelandfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had an overnight stay at this pleasant b&b. Considering you could pay more than double for the radisson across the road, this accomodation really has all the basic facilities you would need for a short stay. The landlady Mary came across as a natural hostess, friendly and helpful In all the right ways. Breakfast was plentiful and Rosses Point is only 5 mins drive away as is Sligo town.
I had a peaceful nights sleep which is real value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmax41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great host - very friendly, excellent location, wide choice of breakfast meals, competitive rates, rooms were spotless and good sized; overall an very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryHaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilmarHouse, Owner at Philmar House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments, it was great to have you stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Best Wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

In a wonderful location between Sligo and Rosses Point, the Philmar House B&B serves up the finest of breakfasts, a friendly family and beautiful garden. We loved sitting in their breakfast room with a view of the garden eating a quintesseninal Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeLGreenbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilmarHouse, Owner at Philmar House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review it was great to meet you both and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a brief but lovely stay. What a beautiful hostess.
We arrived quite late and that was no issue.
Had a brilliant sleep. Lovely rooms.
A delicious breakfast. And she even led us into an ATM and posted the receipt as I forgot to ask for one. Thankyou for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy_Smith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilmarHouse, Manager at Philmar House, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Hi Roxy,

Thank you so much for going to the time of writing a review, and your lovely words. Hopefully our paths will meet again.

Best Wishes,
Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Graet B&B used by the family as a base for trip to Sligo. We booked three rooms including the room with the large clean bathroom across the hall. Very clean and comfortable and with the worst rain on record lashing down outside, we were toasty warm.
Mary was a great host with the legendary bountiful breakfast every morning. Homemade bread went down a treat. Great value, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms great as location quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jblnd3811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.2 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
4.2 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
393 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
386 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philmar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philmar House

Property: Philmar House
Address: Philmar Philmar Rosses Point Road, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philmar House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philmar B&B enjoys old world charm with modern comforts in a quiet scenic location just 4km form the town of Sligo. This delightful B&B is an Ideal base for touring Yeats country and Donegal and features a large garden for guests to relax. All bedrooms are located on the ground floor and consists of TV, hairdryer, tea making facilities. Relax in the comfortable guest sitting room. Delicious breakfast menu available in the dining area. Come and enjoy the 21st anniversary of Sligo International Choral Festival with music and singing and includes 40 choirs from 5 countries which is held over 5 days in October. The accommodation is just minutes away from championship golf course, beaches, yachting and tennis. Conveniently the B&B is beside the Raddison Hotel and only minutes from the Clarion Hotel, Sligo. Throughout your stay, you are ideally located to enjoy hill walking, cycling, fishing and surfing or you could just make your way to Rosses Point where the beaches are perfect for walking and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Philmar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing