We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stay anywhere but here. The rooms are beat up with chips & dents. Rust in the bathroom. Our 1st room' s a/ c didn' t work on day when Ireland was having a heat wave. After the 1st call produced nothing the duty manager came up on the 2nd call & proceeded to lecture my husband on how to work the on/off switch. When we still didn't have air I went down to the desk and asked for another room to which I got a lot of push back. Customer service is not this hotel' s strong suit. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBrantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Amazing location, bus stops right out the front door going to either Sligo or Rosses Point though it is possible to walk in to Sligo quite easily. Beautiful views from the executive suite of the sea and mountains. Room was large and the bed very comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. We only ate in the bar on one night but the food was very good and the bar staff were great fun, breakfast was tasty especially the fresh breads and there was a great selection. The spa is nicely appointed and a great place for relaxing, the pool and gym are also worth a visit. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break within easy reach of the beach!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiv367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If this hotel could be moved 3 miles along the road to Rosses Point I'd be giving it a 4-star rating . As it is , it's beside nothing of much interest with views to match . The bar and restaurant menu prices were rather high and choice was limited . Otherwise it was a good modern hotel , very clean and pleasant , with small but useful touches like a free safe in the room , ice bucket and wine glasses in the room , etc. Breakfast was fair . On balance I don't think I'd choose to stay here again .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasound220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend night and can only say good things about the hotel and its staff. Check in was quick, informative and friendly. Bedroom was well mainteined and clean. Dinner in teh restaurant was excellent, one of the best i have had in a long time. Breakfast, while very busy was still enjoyable, with lovely fresh coffee.
Well done to all at Radisson Sligo, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmyles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at The Radisson Blu Sligo..what a fab hotel!!! The grounds around the hotel provided a great first impression for us and we weren't disappointed. We received first class service from check in to check out. Any staff member we encountered were very friendly yet professional, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Our room had a lovely view over the bay, was well maintained and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a pleasure with huge selection of both hot and cold food which set us up for the day. We didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities but will definitely be back to sample them. A great hotel keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wexgirl_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel with my children, staff friendly and helpful.Lovely pool for the kids. Very clean. Beds very comfortable and big.Plenty to do in the area. Would definitly go back..Sligo town is a lovely place with plenty of shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Radisson Blu Sligo is about 4 kilometers from the city on the road to Rosses Point. It has an elevated position with fine views over the sea and countryside, there is plenty of parking and well tended grounds. A bus stop is located outside the front gate for the service into the city, local timetables should be checked especially for night time services, otherwise its a quick cab ride into Sligo.

Its been two years since I last visited and was looking forward to my stay, first impressions were good with friendly and fast check in, I asked for a quiet room and was given one with terrific sea and coastal views. However while the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, there were some aspects of the room that frankly you don't expect at a four star hotel.

Extractor Fan in bathroom didn't work, tv remote control was not working properly, some advertised tv channels weren't available and fridge was empty and turned off. The tv was an elderly one, in fact I've taken newer models to the recycling centre! What's going on at the Radisson? Is room maintenance not taking place, are rooms not being refurbished?

We had dinner one night and it was superb with attentive service, in fact the staff in general are excellent. However breakfast is poor, orange juice watered down, scrambled egg watery, bacon a partcularly sad sight.

Its a shame really that standards are slipping as the hotel has a multiplicity of assests, its location, superb staff, terrific leisure centre etc. All that's needed here is some attention to detail by the management.

But please Radisson Management, no bland replies, just some evidence that complaints like this are actually been acted upon. You have time to sort this out,the summer season is just beginning and you've a good product to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,110 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
2.0 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range: $102 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing