We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but needs some upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've just come back from a two night stay in this hotel. Maybe our expectations of a Radisson Blu are higher than other hotel chains but we were slightly disappointed with the standard of this hotel.
The plus points are that it's in a lovely location, the staff are very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was good and the leisure centre is great. On the down side the bedrooms are dated - stains on lampshades, old TVs (no flat screens), old carpets and very old beds! Our bed was so bad on the first night that we had to move rooms the following morning BUT the staff were very nice about it and moved us to another room without any complaints.
Overall we would stay here again but we would have to request a firm bed! There's an option to upgrade to a business class room on check-in for €25 which in hindsight might have been a good idea to ensure a higher spec room.

Room Tip: The ideal room is away from the function room with a firm bed and a sea view! We managed two of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,276 - 1,282 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend a few years ago and was impressed with the staff and the setting of the hotel. It was within easy reach of Sligo as well as the numerous beaches nearby and was a good choice for a relaxing weekend with the family. We arrived on Friday afternoon and had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant.

Unfortunately, the weekend we chose also happened to coincide with a major Irish dancing competition held at the hotel. To cut a very long story short, hundreds of dancers and their parents, friends and various entourage started arriving at the hotel from early Saturday morning and continued to do so for the rest of the day. Doors were constantly slamming as the dancers paraded in and out of the competition areas through the hotel lobby and it was like trying to relax in the middle of spaghetti junction.

It was almost impossible to get bar and food service in the lobby that evening (both eateries were located there) but the worst was yet to come.

In their wisdom, the hotel staff had decided to put us in rooms just one floor up and directly over the public and competition areas, which meant there was no possibility of going to sleep until well past midnight as doors continued to slam and dancers continued to tap and chat under our rooms.

When we phoned and complained, we were told the hotel was full to capacity and there was no possibility of changing rooms but they apologised and promised to upgrade us on us next visit.

In short, this is a very popular local hotel for competitions etc so check specifically when booking to make sure you will be placed well away from any major events and activities!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for the one evening with our 13 month old. The room was spacious, clean and modern with a huge bed. Plenty of storage space and a decent bathroom.
We had a meal in the bar which was very good and not expensive compared to other hotels in Ireland. Breakfast was a full hot and cold buffet which was very tasty with the dining room offering lovely views over sligo bay.
We also used the pool which is large and includes a shallow area for kids and hydro jets. The only complaint re the pool was that the water was a bit cold especially for our wee boy. Otherwise it is very clean and does welcome children at any time. The sauna and steam room are also very good.
The staff were friendly in particular the guy on reception who was very courteous and helpful.
We got an internet deal for £46 for the night b&b which was fantastic value for money.
In conclusion, this is a lovely hotel worthy of its 4 Stars and offers excellent value for money in a lovely part of rural Sligo.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we have just returned from the radisson blu sligo. it was an amazing stay from start to finish. friendly staff especially caine in the bar. food was great real tasty plenty of choice both at breakfast and the evening menus.

Room Tip: room 359 has great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Thus a good Radisson Hotel, clean efficient etc. However the restaurant is absolutely fab, the food is superb and created with a real passion for quality and perfection, every dish was perfect and just delicious. Service is very professional and friendly. Bar is big and busy and food looked good. Rooms are a good size clean with usual stuff for 4 star. Overall, good hotel and absloutely great restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugeDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I had a very good time at the Radisson. The Hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. We will be back again and have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel. The Hotel is rated as a four star but I think it should be 5 star

Room Tip: The Hotel and Staff were excellent and we had a very relaxing few days, the food was exceptionaly go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgeen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Booked here short notice for a mid week hotel break. Impressed by staff on arrival at reception which was replicated in all areas across the Hotel. Room excellent, fantastic views of Sligo bay. Spa, gym and pool where very clean and all equipment was in best condition. Had all our meals here, Restaurant and bar food excellent and reasonably priced. Excellent Service across the board with a special word of praise to Tomasz at reception & Caine in the bar. Very Impressed by the team ethos, efficient, friendly and genuine welcoming attitude displayed by all staff. Thanks, We will be back and will recommend highly to others.

Room Tip: Seek rooms to Front Facing south across Sligo Bay or west towards Rosses point Stunning views all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stgparkview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,742 reviews
2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
563 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
504 reviews
4.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
2 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing