We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break Between Christmas and New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, nice location, good service and a lovely spa and swimming pool.

Business class rooms are worth the extra money, sofa, tables, mini-bar, robes and slippers, with a first class coffee machine. Breakfast is included, however as with all buffet style breakfasts, get there early as the food becomes "Plasticised" as the morning progresses. The breakfast tea and coffee are not good.

WiFi was a bit hit and miss, connections dropped quite a few times.

All said a good quality hotel and you can get a good deal typically £100ish per night for the business class room.

Restaurant and pub menu are very good and service is excellent. There are also a good variety of top-class restaurants in the area to choose from.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a bit strange, the temperatures work from an either heat or cool setting. Ours w...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,706)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights recently at a great value rate of €120 including breakfast. It's located about half way between Sligo town and Rosses point so getting a taxi is a must if you plan on having a drink out which can easily be organised by reception. I'd recommend heading into town as the hotel bar is lacking in atmosphere and entertainment. We were upgraded to a business class room that included a few little added luxuries including robes and slippers. However it was lacking in certain aspects such as the hair dryer being attached to the wall,old style telly and as silly as this sounds very cheap quality toilet paper(it's the little things in life after all!!) also the bed was two beds pushed together,which I'm aware this is common practice in many hotels,ours seemed to move apart throughout the night. Overall a lovely hotel with a nice location it just needs a few little areas of polish to make it worth coming back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphy2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here twice this year, we stopped on our way from Westport as the weather was fantastic we decided to grab another night away , as a family if 6 I thought it would be impossible to get a room to suit us all, we got x large family room which accommodated us very well, nice and big the buffet breakfast the next morn was worth the stay as I have teens big large appetites , would definetly be back if the price was right

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My mam and I visited the hotel for a 2 night spa break, the spa and leisure facilities were excellent as was the breakfast buffet.

We had a twin room the beds were side by side and when we separated the floor was filthy (I will not go into details!) We were disappointed that you only receive a dressing gown if you are business class, however we did request and receive them. There was an old school tv with snowy picture in the room. The rooms are very loud at night and you can hear people roaring and shouting outside, this happened on both nights (this was from people attending events in the function room). The bar food menu is standard and boring it was hard to pick something as nothing appealed to me. The tables are very low and you have to hunch over your food while eating and there is NO atmosphere in the bar whatsoever. And finally as pointed out in other reviews, the front of house staff may be efficient but were not very welcoming.

I am writing this review because simply I was expecting a luxurious stay when really we had a less than average break away, I think the radisson management need to start reading the trip advisor reviews!

Room Tip: The rooms are laid out around a court yard which at night time has smokers outside for long periods...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmcph03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Spent two nights here last weekend!... Had a lovely stay, traveled with family and everyone was impressed. Staff are lovely, great value in the bar on food and drink and the food is very nice. Check In was very good - fast, efficient and professional. Breakfast was lovely also. Will definitely be returning to this hotel. Rooms are are much bigger than some other hotels' standard rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hi Folks, booked into Radisson on Friday the 7th December 2012 at half twelve, no problems booking in, hotel receptionist was ok, both my husband and myself turned to each other and said he is not very friendly, for some reason if im going to spend money in a place i like a nice irish welcome and you know it leaves a nice feeling with you, made our way to our room and enjoyed the wedding very much, food was excellent and service was second to none. Retired to bed around twelve but unfortunately we were in room 257 and just over the disco which we had to endure until 2.15 and then the heating system kicked and and what a racket that was at that time of night. Mentioned it to receptionist next morning and was asked did i contact reception to which i replied i really did not feel like moving in the middle of night, she also said that as a guest at wedding she would assume we would be up until the disco was over, i asked do they not take age into consideration when putting people in those rooms and she said no, so people beware if you are not prepared to stay up until all hours request a room away from the noise. Having said all that the breakfast was absolutely lovely and the breakfast staff were nice and very friendly, i really toast who ever made the seeded bread, wish i could have taken a loaf back with me and please get some white pudding, stayed there last march for our wedding anniversary and will probably be back again, forgot to add bar staff were very nice and helpful as well, sorry to the people in the business class room, i stole your independent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for one night after attending a wedding in the Hotel. Had booked the room on the net in early Sept 12 but on arrival it took a long time to checkin. Person on the desk dident seem to be familiar with the computer booking system. Room was large & well equiped but avoid using the mini bar which has a markup of 200% plus on prices. A small bottle of water @ €3.35 & a quarter bottle of white or red wine @ €8.00. Room heating hot air ducting which was overwarm & we had to switch it off during the night & open the window.Breakfast was very good with lots to eat both hot & cold. The reception staff in general were anything but friendly & were mostly eastern european,s whos first language is not english. What happened the "Irish Welcome." I queried the price of my stay on checking out and was told its was a Friday night & the normal special rate dident apply for early booking. €65 is only applicable to mid week.
I have stayed in lots of Irish Hotels over the years as i worked as Regional Sales Manager for a Shipping Company & would not to rushing back to this one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAMDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,104 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
466 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.7 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range: $103 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing