We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding overnight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for one night after attending a wedding in the Hotel. Had booked the room on the net in early Sept 12 but on arrival it took a long time to checkin. Person on the desk dident seem to be familiar with the computer booking system. Room was large & well equiped but avoid using the mini bar which has a markup of 200% plus on prices. A small bottle of water @ €3.35 & a quarter bottle of white or red wine @ €8.00. Room heating hot air ducting which was overwarm & we had to switch it off during the night & open the window.Breakfast was very good with lots to eat both hot & cold. The reception staff in general were anything but friendly & were mostly eastern european,s whos first language is not english. What happened the "Irish Welcome." I queried the price of my stay on checking out and was told its was a Friday night & the normal special rate dident apply for early booking. €65 is only applicable to mid week.
I have stayed in lots of Irish Hotels over the years as i worked as Regional Sales Manager for a Shipping Company & would not to rushing back to this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAMDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    517
    226
    105
    44
See reviews for
338
683
52
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We paid about 60 euro for one night, an excellent value for money. Very extended breakfast (hot and cold). Took dinner in the hotel, was very good. Rooms are comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed in the Radisson Sligo for a girlie weekend and had a great time, We had a great laugh with the lady on check in, think her name was Ann, friendly and informative as was the girls in the spa, We didn't care about the bad weather outside as we spent the day relaxing in the spa and then the pool. We didn't try the Bar or Restaurant food as my friend had booked a place in the centre of Sligo but the breakfast was brilliant, there was so much choice.
The rooms are looking a little tired but they were clean which is the most important thing, I guess these days even the hotels can't afford to refurbish. We all liked the hotel and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms looking out at the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubu4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here one night after visiting the area for the afternoon and falling in love with the scenery. I hadn't made a reservation but was greeted with a warm Irish smile and welcome. Room was large and airy and the leisure centre top class. We enjoyed the bar food and took advantage of a very comfy room for a good nights sleep. All in all...a swell place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Myself and a group of colleagues stayed here after doing a show in the ballroom.

After a long day, we checked in just after midnight on a friday. The bar (beside reception) was jammed and it seemed like the staff were under pressure. I was checked in by an eastern european man who didn't seem to have good english. Our rooms were being paid for by a company credit card, the details of which had already been given to the hotel and to which i had no access. Other people in our party had checked in earlier in the day with no hassle yet i was told i would have to put a provisional charge of €50 on my own credit card and that "if i didn't spend it in the bar, i'd get it back in the morning". I was too tired to argue (I don't drink and all i wanted to do was sleep) so i just gave him my card and got my room. When i checked out the next morning and said i would like my money refunded, i was met by a woman who looked at me funny and said "oh, you want that back do you?" This was one of the strangest check in/out experiences i've had anywhere in the world. It also happened to one other out of our 10 person party so it wasn't a consistent thing.

As for the room, it was on the ground floor, average size and basic. There was a stain on the duvet on my bed and the bed was extremely soft, offering no support. The corridor in general was quite noisy with other guests coming and going from the bar and from room to room, but i think there was a wedding party staying in the adjacent rooms. Breakfast was below average.

I was only told this was a four star hotel when leaving. I didn't believe it then and i still don't believe it now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGilleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for a weekend in October. On arival we met a very unfriendly receptionist who barley spoke to us but simply handed us the key and rattled off times for food etc, just nothing friendly or welcoming about her at all. Our room was nice but the carpet and chairs were badly stained.On a positive note breakfast was really nice both mornings with plenty of choice. We decided to eat in the resturant on the Saturday night and it was just terrible. Our starter was pork pieces which was basically just fat on the plate, our main course was cold so we decided agaisnt dessert! The bar was fine but no atmosphere at all, having some music, even background music would help intice people to stay in the bar for the evening.
The leisure centre is lovely and clean which we both enjoyed but unfortunately we would not return to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBoyle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here rescently for one night got a very good rate over phone. Room was spacious and nice view of the bay, bed was very comfortable definatly the most comfortable hotel bed i have ever slept in! Fridge in our room which was very handy but could have done with a good cleaning-some mould on shelves.Barfood menu has great choice of dishes and is very reasonably priced. bar lacked atmosphere-tables far too close together for comfort. breakfast was good, great selection of breads, cereals, juices etc. Didnt have time to use the spa but it looked fabulous and had great offers on for guests. Overall would return to the hotel again-enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
2.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing