We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Stable Mews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I spent a weekend at Castle Leslie in July 2009 with my brother and his fiancée staying in one of the twelve two-bedroom apartments in the Old Stable Mews. We chose this because it suited us to cook on the evening we arrived, and we wanted to have plenty of space throughout the day and in the evenings.

The apartment itself was excellent – there is no question that you could very easily live there! The large bedrooms with comfortable beds were upstairs, and the bathrooms were well kitted out. The main draw was the huge living / dining / kitchen room on the ground floor, with patio doors opening out to gardens and individual patios. Everything we needed was there, and it was great to arrive and be able to immediately start relaxing. In the winter the open fireplace would be a real treat.

On the Saturday after we arrived we ate lunch in Conor's Bar in the Hunting Lodge which was informal and friendly. The pub grub was brilliant and the staff were good craic. This is the place to go for casual dining and drinks.

On the Sunday evening we ate in ‘The Club’ fine dining restaurant in the Castle itself. As we had walked passed the Castle a number if times we felt that we wouldn’t be getting the whole Castle Leslie experience if we didn’t try it out. This was a great evening in every way – the beautiful candle-lit dining room we were in was stunning, the service was excellent and the food and wine were delicious. Afterwards we walked out the back into the private gardens and down to the waters edge of Glas Lough just after the sun had set.

The Estate is perfect for exploring and we went for a couple of really long walks, roughly following the walking trails but not getting worried when we inevitably got lost! From the Old Stable Mews it’s a comfortable ten-minute stroll to the Castle, and a further five minutes to the Hunting Lodge at the front entrance. The grounds are full of wildlife and there were plenty of very well looked after horses in the fields.

I would thoroughly recommend Castle Leslie, and have no doubt that it won’t be too long before we return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2009

The hotel was like a museum. The bedrooms were individually and tastefully designed. The staff endevoured to make us feel welcome and provided friendly advice. The breakfast was lovely with a good selection of hot options. There is no television in the rooms, however, this suited us for the purposes of a relaxing stay. There was no shower in the room and this proved a challenge, however, there was a bath. I would certainly recommend the Castle for accomodation, however, only for a romantic getaway or for those who would appreciate tradition and history. I imagine it would be a lovely setting for a wedding. I would not recommend this hotel for children. The Lodge accomdodation would probably be better suited for children.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We have family in Monaghan and spent 2 weeks there in July.
Monaghan County has some of the most beautiful views you'll ever experience - drive to Crosses and follow the lanes by car or on foot and you won't be disappointed.
I took my 6 year old daughter to Castle Leslie to the equestrian centre and hired out a couple of horses for a hack round the estate, well worth it, the centre is spotlessly clean, the horses were fantastic and Sarah our guide was really helpful and a good laugh. We visited the gardens and church and spent a lovely day enjoying the peace and tranquility. Castle Leslie also has a brilliant spa so even if you're not a guest in the hotel you can still book yourself in for a treatment.
The newly refurbished Monaghan leisure centre is worth a visit, the swimming pool was big with a good range of facilities and the staff helpful. The Visitors Centre is at the leisure centre, the lady I spoke to was so helpful I came out with armfuls of guides on days out and places to visit and I've been going there for years!
There are museums, excellent pubs, good shops and restaurants, in particular Andys Bar which has won some prestigious awards in the past and deservedly so. Their Chicken Monaghan (a speciality dish) was delightful. There is also a good chinese restaurant near the Diamond and a cinema showing all the latest films. The hotels in Monaghan cater for families and couples and there is a good golf course and driving range. Monaghan is definately worth a visit, it might not be the first place you think of when planning a trip to Ireland, but its well worth the effort and the people will make you feel so welcome you'll want to go back. Glasslough is a must see day out, the area is oustandingly beautiful with a lovely pub and antique shop.

Thank julesBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Last year 4 of us stayed in the hunting lodge on an equestrian package which was great value. The lodge bedrooms were fab and we all loved the fact that they looked out onto the stables which are just superb. We spent all our time riding which was excellent, the level of instruction is extremely good in the lessons which are held in a huge indoor arena. The cross country was very challenging as it was our first time but the instructors were very persuasive and made us jump logs we wouldnt have dreamt of, but they also kept us safe and within our capabilities.

This year 8 of us went for 4 days. We opted to stay in one of the castle leslie village houses as they were much better value than the hunting lodge. We saved about £300 overall each as we took all our own food. It was a 4 bedroom house with loads of space, 3 bathrooms and a downstairs cloakroom. The kitchen was very well equipped, the only downside being there is no nearby large supermarket, we already knew that and had bought food to take. We all thoroughly enjoyed the riding, the crosscountry jumps are so varied you would never get bored and the instructors again were fantastic- Louise and Sarah thank you, we have come home much better riders and already planning next years trip.
BTW we flew from prestwick the first year but this year went by ferry from troon to larne whcih was by far the better option as we could chuck as much stuff as we wanted in the cars, as well as food and booze.

To all riders I would say go for it, no matter beginner or experienced, it is a truly beautiful place to ride and the horses really look after you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

The hunting lodge looked lovely and I wish we had stayed there. We were in the very expensive Castle. Its difficult to describe this place, faded grandeur in a beautiful setting may be apt. However the room we stayed in is reminiscent of a very nice B&B, not a fabulous hotel. The amenities in the room were poor, the furniture scuffed and not antique but just old. There were rugs and furnitures which I would have thrown out years ago. Food was very good, staff were attentive but there was just an odd atmosphere about the place, ithe weather was also bad and left us unable to explore and with no TVs or internet we maybe got a bit bored - but all of us? Other people we spoke to said they also would not return, yet it is difficult to say what's wrong. Perhaps there are now too many 5 star hotels of this nature in Ireland that really deserve rave reviews and this place compares very unfavourably. The equestrian centre did look fabulous but the first thing I saw walking into the cookery school was a rodent trap of some kind and there was also one in our bedroom, very obvious to the eye - gross!!! I had a spa treatment which was nice but the facilities in it would not warrant 2 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

we stayed here for our first wedding anniversary,i cant begin to describe how fantastic it was. we stayed in the lodge, it was beautiful, we were there on a rainy saturday, but that made no difference at all. the room was beautiful, very big, clean and comfortable. we found the staff to be very friendly, and the food was very good value, and pleasent. overall the room package was great value, i cant wait to go back, to explore more

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouthTbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had been told by a friend of a great last minute deal at castle leslie and decided to try it out. I had eaten in the lodge a few years ago for my mum’s 70th so looked forward to trying out the rooms.
We stayed in a superior room in the hunting lodge. The rooms are large. You don’t get all the mod-cons but for comfort and quiet it was wonderful. Special mention goes to the bathroom with the roll-top bath and the huge separate walk in shower.
We ate in the hunting lodge bar both nights and the food was delicious. The breakfast was excellent. A great range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fruit coulis and pastries and a great fried breakfast to order.
We had a walk around the estate one morning. One thing to note, the paths are in most cases bridleways so walking boots or wellies are required. When we got back to the hotel with muddy shoes, we asked if there was somewhere we could clean them so not to tramp mud through the place. We were surprised when we were shown to the ‘Boot Room’ with a big Belfast sink to clean the shoes. We were told we could borrow wellies if we wanted to go back out again. This is one of the perks of staying in a country house with stables attached. The place was so peaceful at night and we could see the stars on a stroll in the grounds after dinner.
We didn’t make it to up to the castle for a look around. We had planned to look around after we checked-out but the workmen were filling in potholes in the driveway.
It was a wonderful place to stay and very romantic being in a country house and not having the hustle and bustle of a city hotel. We are definitely planning to stay again and will keep our eyes out for another great deal, and maybe stay in the castle itself the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC-belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
623 reviews
11.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough H18 RX05, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: $177 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing