We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Lodge Break at Castle Leslie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a two night Getaway On Horseback Break, staying at the Lodge at Castle Leslie.

Our room was well appointed, spacious, spotlessly clean, with large very comfortable bed. Ensuite bathroom, with luxurious bath and large separate shower. Room had a balcony overlooking the stable yard.

First night we ate in Conor's Bar, the food was excellent, good choice and great value. Staff were friendly and efficient. Second night we dined in Snaffles Restaurant, this five course meal was included in the price of our break, and was excellent.

The highlight of our break was a two hour beginners hack around the 1000 acre estate. As a couple of novices, we were slightly apprehensive. The equestrian staff were friendly, professional and soon made us feel at ease and soon on board our horses Murray and Fernando. All the staff were helpful, patient and friendly, especially Mary Ann our instructor and we would thoroughly recommend this to horse lovers of all abilities, the facilities are excellent.

As there was no function booked at the Castle, we were able to explore the public areas. All very impressive and staff welcoming. As it was Halloween the rooms were decorated accordingly and this was very atmospheric, from the lit church candles in the bar area and the carved pumpkins etc. library, reading room also impressive, yet cosy for sitting and relaxing.

Would thoroughly recommend for a luxurious relaxing break, for horse lovers, for fabulous food, or just for pampering in the Victorian Treatment Rooms, there is something for everyone.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the stables, for horse lovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am a little late to the review game here when it comes to our ireland trip, but this castle was amazing! We stayed in the Asian Suite which they have sense updated ( I might follow them on facebook) They knew we were going to be engaged and they went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. They told us sites to see and just let us do our own relaxed thing. The grounds and the village surrounding it are beautiful. We booked a year in advance and because of that and the special occasion our room got bumped up to a suite in the main house. There are no televisions just total and utter relaxation. The breakfast the next day was above and beyond. Everything was so yummy and fresh made. I intend to come back again and just relax and recoup.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure recently of spending three days at Castle Leslie. We had a room at the castle (they serve great breakfasts!!), which was very comfortable and included a nicely appointed/modern bathroom with a claw foot bathtub which came in very handy after riding. Which brings me to the main reason for this entry.....the equestrian facility.
As a bit of background, we are a middle aged couple. My wife is a very accomplished rider so no troubles there, me........not so much, to say the least ! To be totally truthful, my riding "career" was comprised of one hour on horseback over 30 years ago and 3 indoor lessons during the 2 weeks just before our Ireland trip. So I was a little apprehensive about our 3 day "Happy Hacker" package of horse riding along trails throughout the property. I had little to worry about as it turned out. Upon arrival they size you up by having you complete a questionnaire and watch you ride to evaluate your ability. They pair you with an appropriate horse and off to their excellent indoor arena for an initial lesson with Jen who is a superb instructor. She very easily tutored a number of riders of various abilities in the same session providing helpful instruction to each of us. All the while in a fun manner which made learning that much easier. During the afternoons we went riding on the trails of the estate.

Jen is also the equestrian centre's operations manager who oversees a smooth running operation and the friendly staff who care for the horses. They were never idle and always had a smile for us as they went about their jobs. Each day our healthy and well conditioned horses were saddled and waiting as we arrived for our outings. The trails were well groomed, through wooded areas, open fields and take you past three lakes.

We will stay at the lodge on our next visit, nothing negative to say about the castle, it's just that the lodge overlooks the stable area making it very convenient. You literally walk out the back door and you are in the stable courtyard. Food wise, O'Connor's bar located in the lodge was very good and all of the staff were excellent.

As a final note on the equestrian centre staff, they are all truly beautiful people and this made for a very enjoyable environment for a riding vacation. We will return on another trip as a direct result of all their efforts.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I was initially unsure of coming to stay, but the Estate has surpassed our expectations. Huge grounds ideal for tramping around in Autumn days. Incredible authentic Castle and equally unique Lodge (where we stayed in a lovely suite) we have been strolling around from room to room just taking in the ambiance and amazing decor. It's a winner, excellent package for dinner B&B too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KymberlyDunneFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were there for a family wedding but would have loved to have spent longer, so we will be back and hopefully soon. We had a room in the Lodge which was beautifully furnished, comfortable and tranquil. The Castle reception rooms were stunning and the grounds, the bits we saw, around the lake were magical. Really didn't want to leave this little paradise and thank you for looking after us so well.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank EMKemp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I keep meaning to write a review of this amazing place. My partner and I had our first visit to Castle Leslie (the Castle) last December for two nights. They had just put up their Christmas decorations and it was simply magical. The room was quirky, with a free standing roll top bath in an alcove of the room. The staff were lovely. The Castle was a treasure trove of interesting artifacts, books, pictures. The roaring fires made the place so cosy. The breakfast in the mornings were outstanding and our dinner in Snaffles on one night was so delicious that we still talk about it. We enjoyed the snugness of Conors Bar.

We had such a great time that we went back for an impromptu visit this Spring. This time we stayed in the Lodge as we had our dogs with us and they were able to stay in the Stables overnight. We had time to explore the vast grounds that the Castle Leslie Estate has to offer. Again the staff, the food and the ambiance were as fantastic this time round as they had been in December. It was during this visit that we decided to have our Wedding there. We met with one of the estates events team and had our quote within a few hours. We are very much looking to our return visit this December and our Wedding next Autumn.

Room Tip: Both the Castle and the Lodge have excellent accommodation ... but there is something magical about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Reception staff not very welcoming,escorted to drawing room where we had pre-booked afternoon tea. Waitress pleasant, table setting noting exciting, cakestand taken in with variety of finger food, tea arrived about 5 mins later, not very satisfactory, people walking trough room to adjacent room constantly. The grounds are the only thing that would bring me back. beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
623 reviews
11.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough H18 RX05, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: $181 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing