We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and fantastic Castle/Lodge and grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Castle Leslie has everything you want in a relaxing break and excellent service. We booked a superior room in the Lodge which overlooked the Equestrian Centre. It was lovely to sit on the veranda and watch/hear the horses. Our room was luxurious and spacious. The cleanniness of our room and hotel was perfect. The stables were beautiful and the horses were well schooled. All staff polite and helpful and nothing was too much for them to do. Great location near Glaslough Village. The grounds are fabulous and we had some of the most amazing walks/views I have ever seen. The views are truely breathtaking. Would recommend to anyone who wishes to have a luxury relaxing break.

Room Tip: Superior room which overlooks the Equestrian Centre - which stayed in 'Tiffany room'. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janecooke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked the Old Stable Mews self catering for this leg of our journey which provided an opportunity to complete some laundry and take a break from hotel food/ living. The lady at reception was not very friendly but fortunately we did not need to go there again. The Old Stable Mews is nice enough but a strong smell was evident in the rooms for some reason. We purchased some air freshener to cope but difficult to open windows to air out the rooms due to the fact insects then invaded the rooms. The bathroom/ toilet room is extremely small and large people would have difficulty. Several lights were not working, kitchen utensils such as frypan need replacing and plates etc needed to be washed before use. We expected the room to be serviced because and the usual note to ask if you require replacement towels was in the bathroom but the room was not serviced. If management take some time to review the rooms and arrange maintenance etc this is a very nice setting and suitable for people who want to self cater but be prepared to be a bit disappointed unless management take some action.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DukeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

this is special,we were a bit taken aback by no shower but look, a bath in the middle of the floor a jug for pouring water,a packet of radox crystals,open your mind and relax ,theres no hurry,simply great food,great service,no fuss,fully professional,spotless, no staff ,well nearly none ,and yet everything you want in a jiffy,beats me,weather autumnal,very cosy,dying to go back, thanks

Room Tip: ask for the quirkiest,be bold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is not the first time I have stayed in Castle Leslie and it won't be the last. It's a relaxing oasis in Monaghan, a treat for the soul. We enjoyed afternoon tea and dinner in the lodge. Our every need was catered for by friendly staff. You are free to walk around the extensive grounds which are beautiful. Accommodation in the castle is quirky with themed rooms. I have now stayed in three of these each one is a delight and has individual features. We also made use of the cinema room in what was once the servant quarters. Highly recommend this destination.

Room Tip: Stay in Shane's room for a touch of elegance. Anita's room has a beautiful old world charm w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Old Stable Mews which are enormous. Two bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, kitchen and lounge. We eat in the bar and Snaffles Restaurant where the food and service were fantastic. Try clay pigeon shooting with Glenn - great fun and craic. Try a treatment in the Spa and be pampered. Walk round the fabulous grounds and marvel at the Castle. Ride or just visit the horses at the fully equipped equestrian centre where Jenny makes you feel at home. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and very helpful and made our weekend fantastic. Thanks to all at Castle Leslie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I surprised my husband for his birthday at The Lodge, from checking-in to checking-out was first class. The friendliness of the staff, our meal in Snaffles Restaurant, the breakfast was all lovely. They sent champagne over when they heard it was my husbands birthday and a special desert.

Our room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the stables.

Can't wait tor return!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were invited to attend a wedding at the Castle and didn't know what to expect but we were met with this fairytale setting for the occasion. The surrounds, food, and staff were excellent and nothing was left to chance as they had everything covered.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sliverfox18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
74 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
24.8 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: $199 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing