We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“One night in heaven!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend just picked me up from Dublin airport after a long flight and I didn't know he booked this place for us on the way to Donegal.(Approximately an hour dive from Dublin Airport) I always dream of staying in a castle as I grew up and believe me this is a dream comes true! The whole place is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in Papa Jack's room and loved everything about it.

We also had dinner at the restaurant there and the food was just perfect.

You can check out my photos and please vote"helpful" for me if you think my review is any good to you. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying in Papa Jack's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    194
    60
    39
    23
See reviews for
245
799
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Castle Leslie is an enigma. Essentially the focus is upon horse riding so I feel one must remember that when visiting, it really excels with their equestrian provision. The accommodation then subdivides into the castle, the lodge and houses located in the local village and a driving distance away. The rooms in the lodge are perfectly adequate for a horse riding weekend and well maintained. The rooms in the castle are old and atmospheric but totally devoid of modern luxuries and the village houses are just that village houses. Most people go to eat in the lodge and you can eat in the downstairs bar which has a very very poor menu. It has remianed the same now for years and needs a complete overhaul and complete revamp . Snaffles restaurant is very hit and miss but by no means fine dining. It also requires an overhaul. Also the bar area needs redecorated to maintain standards.

Room Tip: Perfect place for horse riding but not a luxury place by no means
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Where to start is the only problem I will ever have with this amazing hotel.
We stayed in the lodge and chose to have a bar meal instead of booking snaffles restaurant for a change but either option a fine one.
Beds get turned down when ur at dinner(how lovely)
Staff soooo friendly and genuine and all the rooms are named after racehorses as a result has a few funny room names like "dick" and "top gear" but all good fun
We've stayed 4 times and counting
Just get down there And you will return :0)

Room Tip: Jigsaw room a good upgrade with its own front door and lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had our wedding there in march and would highly recommend it. The venue was lovely, staff were brilliant and looked after everything for us on the day. We stayed in the self catering houses in the village and they were great value and loads of room in them. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshyDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Seized the opportunity to say for dinner, bed and breakfast at the Castle recently and really enjoyed it. Our room in the Lodge was comfortable and dinner in Snaffels was excellent, including Uncle Jack at the piano! The breakfast was good too. It's a place with its own ambience and quirkiness which all makes it unique and delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erudite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in the castle under a citydeal offer for one night, from the minute we entered reception we were met in a professional and friendly manner. They didn't treat us differently as we were on an offer which was comforting. The receptionist was pleasant and the porter was brilliant he whisked away our stuff up to Seymores room and chatted about the locality.

Our room was a little dull, but this might be due to it being a dull day outside as well!! We overlooked the lake so was a great view. It was at the top of the house so a good few stairs. There was a victorian toilet and a large bath and was no shower. There was also no tea or coffee facilities or a tv - so bring a book or be prepared for this. It was refreshing to not have a tv although a bit of a shock when we first arrived.

I went on a hack and really recommend it. It was raining while we were there which meant we couldnt walk around the grounds so was great to see it on horseback. Dermot was great and it was a brilliant hour. The horses are well trained.

We also had a dip in the outdoor hot tub and also the Victorian steam-baths which were great for something different. The girls at the spa were great and very friendly. We also ate at the lodge that evening as the dinner at the castle was 6 course and 65 euro. The food in Connors bar was tasty and reasonable, there was also a band on so we spent the evening well.

There is only a small shop in the local village so if you want to bring snacks with you it would be advisable to buy on route.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently had our wedding reception at Castle Leslie. We cannot say enough good things about ths place.
The staff were brilliant so friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble. The service was really impressive and the attention to detail first class. All of the food from start to finish was fabulous. The Castle is spectacular and the marquee where we had our reception meal was stunning.
We stayed in the Lodge the following night and again the rooms, food, service etc were all excellent.
We are so pleased we chose this as our wedding venue- we (and we imagine many of guests) will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
680 reviews
11.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Leslie Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing