We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Leslie Estate
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashleigh House(Monaghan)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$121
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlemont House(Dungannon)
$102
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Lodge(Dungannon)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Glencarn Hotel(Castleblayney)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,619)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveler rating
1,273
209
66
44
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
209
66
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingcastle lesliesnaffles restaurantafternoon teahunting lodgeequestrian centrecross countryroll top bathtreatment roomsstable mewssuperior roomold worldself cateringconnors barcourse mealgrounds are beautifulbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,196 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Seized the opportunity to say for dinner, bed and breakfast at the Castle recently and really enjoyed it. Our room in the Lodge was comfortable and dinner in Snaffels was excellent, including Uncle Jack at the piano! The breakfast was good too. It's a place with its own ambience and quirkiness which all makes it unique and delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erudite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in the castle under a citydeal offer for one night, from the minute we entered reception we were met in a professional and friendly manner. They didn't treat us differently as we were on an offer which was comforting. The receptionist was pleasant and the porter was brilliant he whisked away our stuff up to Seymores room and chatted about the locality.

Our room was a little dull, but this might be due to it being a dull day outside as well!! We overlooked the lake so was a great view. It was at the top of the house so a good few stairs. There was a victorian toilet and a large bath and was no shower. There was also no tea or coffee facilities or a tv - so bring a book or be prepared for this. It was refreshing to not have a tv although a bit of a shock when we first arrived.

I went on a hack and really recommend it. It was raining while we were there which meant we couldnt walk around the grounds so was great to see it on horseback. Dermot was great and it was a brilliant hour. The horses are well trained.

We also had a dip in the outdoor hot tub and also the Victorian steam-baths which were great for something different. The girls at the spa were great and very friendly. We also ate at the lodge that evening as the dinner at the castle was 6 course and 65 euro. The food in Connors bar was tasty and reasonable, there was also a band on so we spent the evening well.

There is only a small shop in the local village so if you want to bring snacks with you it would be advisable to buy on route.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently had our wedding reception at Castle Leslie. We cannot say enough good things about ths place.
The staff were brilliant so friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble. The service was really impressive and the attention to detail first class. All of the food from start to finish was fabulous. The Castle is spectacular and the marquee where we had our reception meal was stunning.
We stayed in the Lodge the following night and again the rooms, food, service etc were all excellent.
We are so pleased we chose this as our wedding venue- we (and we imagine many of guests) will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Afternoon tea for a party of 5 in the Castle was booked to celebrate my 40th Birthday. It did not fail to disappoint - the castle and setting was amazing. Upon arrival to the castle we were greeted by Geraldine who had called to confirm the booking that morning. Afternoon tea was served in the pale blue room with the adjoining Orangery. Staff had only just got the log burner going resulting in a bit of a smokey welcome to the room instead of established embers easing us into the ambience, particularly when tea @ 2pm had already been confirmed. Choice of tea as asked and the plates of sandwiches, pancakes, fruit loaf, mini Chelsea buns and scones with the trimmings arrived. All tasted divine. The cakes were also brought at the same time, however we asked for these to be returned to the refrigerator as the sunlight streaming into the room was beginning to melt them. Petit lemon meringue pie, coffee gateau, eclair, cream cornets were among the passionately made selection of cakes and I had one of each and thoroughly enjoyed each one for the taste and workmanship that had gone into each. A stroll through the adjoining wing where Wedding functions are hosted with a permanent marquee was the perfect remedy, and revealed an opulent and spacious facility.
A walk back down to the Hunting Lodge gave more opportunity to take on the beautiful setting and further facilities to return to in the future.
I would love to return for a weekend break and experience the full amenities this fabulous estate has to offer.
You must go - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank GillianSaieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As a Canadian "Leslie" it was lovely to visit the "Family Home". It is a beautiful location and our room in the Lodge was excellent. Really enjoyed the pub...but...Snaffles, I do not believe lives up to the rest of the place. Dinner with wine was "okay"...but NOT my best meal in Ireland and I must say that we had much better breakfasts in B&B's in many other locations.The staff were impeccable.. no complaints in that department at all. We were made to feel welcome and even though we were staying in the Lodge, felt welcomed by the Castle staff to visit it also.

Biggest complaint about Snaffles...they spend too much money to provide "hovering" servers....which we casual Canadians found to be a bit much and maybe do not spend the money hiring top quality chefs /products??? Although interesting..the food was less than satisfying. HOWEVER...for a once in a lifetime treat...I would recommend it. Not sorry we "blew the budget ." to stay there and I would return....it was that delightful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Lodge are much more modern and luxurious. Initially I was disappointed that there was no room in the Castle for our dates...but...after seeing a couple of the Castle rooms...so glad we stayed in the lodge. Nicer rooms..way less money...go figure!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews