We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Castle break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxury Castle break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent two nights at The Lodge at Castle Leslie last week on their Country Getaway offer. We had a lovely big room (Fintra - all rooms are named after horses) with a huge bathroom where we had very hot water on tap at all times. A tea/coffee tray is replenished every day and a large bottle of estate spring water with drinking glasses is a particularly nice touch. Two comfortable armchairs sit either side of a coffee table. The only small niggle (and it is a petty one) was that there were no drawers in the room for shirts, underwear etc. There were two small drawers in the desk and a large locker underneath the bedside drawer. Conor's bar was a series of connecting rooms, welcoming and comfortable, with friendly staff and excellent bar food. Snaffles Restaurant where we had breakfast and dinner was dressed in starched white linen and sparkling glasses; here again the staff were plentiful, helpful and very friendly. The food was excellent. There are lots of recommended walks and the garden and lake surrounding the castle are pleasant places to sit when the weather is favourable. The equestrian centre seemed busy and popular. A well-run and highly recommended place to spend relaxing days and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F&MBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    192
    60
    39
    22
See reviews for
242
790
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our room was a great size, ideal for manouvering in my wheelchair.
Generally the area was suitable for my wheelchair, although the actual shower chair was far too far away from where i had to leave my wheelchair, therefore i required help getting into & out of the shower - this was a big disappointment! :(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1983Gary1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently booked afternoon tea for two in Castle Leslie Estate. I cannot recommend this highly enough. The staff were extremely attentive and the food was amazing. There was a lovely atmosphere in the room where we had the afternoon tea. I brought a friend for her birthday and she was thrilled with the whole afternoon from the warm welcome we received to the high level of service and the quality and presentation of the food. The location is picture perfect and I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOR1984OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have just returned from a much anticipated stay at Castle Leslie and while the hotel itself was warm and welcoming, there were many aspects of our stay which were seriously disappointing.
Dinner is no longer served at the castle; instead guests eat at Snaffles Restaurant which is situated at the end of the long driveway. On a very cold, wet and wintry evening this was not the start I had envisaged to diner. Apparently transport can be arranged but this was never mentioned. The restaurant prides itself as an award winning restaurant and yet the food was wholly disappointing. The meal began with a mixed up drinks order and was very quickly followed by the starters. While these looked good, they severely lacked in taste. The main course was good but my oh my, the deserts were, and I choose my words carefully here, atrocious. My partner had ordered crème brûlée but it was inedible, while my choux bun was so hard you could have knock out a tune on the top of it.
Up until this point the waiting staff had been good but when our waitress came to clear the plates and could clearly see desserts had hardly been touched, she did not ask if everything was alright instead when we commented on how extremely disappointing they had been and not at all what had appeared on the menu, her only response was, ‘I’ll tell the chef ’.
All of this, as you can imagine left a very bad taste in our mouths. Come on Snaffles try a bit harder, in this year of The Gathering let’s deliver excellence, rather than just talk about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublindays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Everything about this place is great. Food, rooms the staff. Don't take my word for it, book and see for yourself. I'm just sorry to be going home.
Everything is beautifully decorated and the estate is a fab place for long walks. The food in Snaffles was outstanding! The bar downstairs has a lovely fireplace, and there are plenty of places to hide away if you want so privacy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigIan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Glorious Hotel. From the moment I drove in till the time I left this place was special. Only pity was I didn't have longer to enjoy the experience, but theres always next time. Picturesque, Friendly, rooms are really fantastic. The food was wonderful and great staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carraiglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Was there for sisters wedding last weekend. Fantastic venue, staff were great, food great, great atmosphere. We stayed in a five bed house just outside the castle gates, part of the resort. Had small issue with heating but staff solved it quickly. Loads of room.
The wedding was great, food was beautiful, castle was lovely, very real and lots of space to chill out before the reception. We've three boys under 8, the staff were great with them. They even had a fantastic cinema room set up to use, kids went there when the speeches were on, really allowed us to enjoy the night.
Great place, highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heberdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing