We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From we arrived to we left I had the best time we spent my 30th birthday here and it was everything I wanted and more. The lady at reception greeted us and was so helpful she allocated our room even though we had arrived at lunchtime she escorted us to our room showing us Snaffles Resturant and the Victoria Spa and explained the names of the rooms. I treated myself to a day in the spa what can I say I felt like I was floating on a cloud after my treatments I didn't want to leave. We ate in the Snaffles Resturant again staff were lovely and food was excellent. We also ate lunch twice in Conor's Bar again food and service excellent I would definately recommend a caramel hot chocolate you won't be disappointed. Breakfast in Snaffles again excellent it was cooked to order with a great selection my husband and I went for full irish. We loved it so much we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 1 night at Castle Leslie Estate.Stayed in Upper stable room in Lodge. Could not fault the hotel, facilities, food or hospitality. Excellent choice of food. Good value for money. Had afternoon tea in Castle which is essential. Beautiful walks in stunning location. Staff very helpful. Just book it !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfocus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate and for your positive comments and feedback.

It is very encouraging to hear that you enjoyed the facilities on offer and that you gave a special mention regarding Uncle Jack's Afternoon Tea at The Castle, it is as you mention in your review "essential" to take the opportunity to enjoy.

My team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent visit and discovered the beauty of the estate.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate.

Winner of "Best Four Star Hotel" in the Hotel & Catering Gold Medal Awards 2012
Winner of "Best Boutique Hotel" in the National Hospitality Awards 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I had originally booked to stay for one night but loved it so much we stayed an extra night,we stayed in the castle and it was superb,room was really nice and spotlessly clean,the food was really good and the grounds are amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wow wow wow!!!!! I think that sums it up! Stayed in the old stable mews for a weekend and loved every single second of our stay. From start to finish I have not a bad word to say! Immaculately clean, amazing staff, fantastic food in Snaffles restaurant, the castle is amazing, the spa is amazing, the horse riding is amazing...the clay pigeon shooting was so much fun, glen the instructors made it for us....the walks in the grounds are fantastic....I think you get the picture.....go go go! If you don't like it there is something wring with you!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited the Lodge for morning coffee and were met by the most grumpy person they must employ, he failed to even say hello. We waited for a long period of time for service and eventually had to leave due to the fact that the food on offer was not freshly made on the day.

Of all the places in the world we have been, this has to be the most disappointing. It has beautiful surroundings but the staff leave alot to be desired.

Will definitely be avoiding this for food again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shieldsgenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Visitor

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent visit to The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team and I are disappointed to read your comments regarding the service you experienced whilst visiting Conor's Bar at The Lodge. The delay you experienced was unfortunate and we have spoken to the team member involved and we will learn from this experience and customer feedback.

However, with respect I find your comment regarding the quality of our food at Castle Leslie Estate, as being unfair and misleading.

We will continually work harder to ensure we deliver a service and experience above our guest’s expectations.

I would invite you respectfully to contact me directly through the hotel, to enable me to speak to you in person and learn more about your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate

Winner of "Best Four Star Hotel" in the Hotel & Catering Gold Medal Awards 2012
Winner of "Best Boutique Hotel" in the National Hospitality Awards 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in The Mews which are on the grounds of the hotel, set in a wooded area, ideal for walks. The house was very nice with an open fire and very cosy. Mary the housekeeper was extremely nice and couldn't do enough for us. The castle was lovely and you could roam around at ease. Food in The Lodge was good and the staff were all very nice. Monaghan was about a 10 minute drive away. It has a leisure centre but I didn't think it was a great shopping town. My daugher went horse riding, though there is not alot for kids to do and there wasn't many kids around. Would really like to go back, it was a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

4 weeks ago I had stayed with my partner in the Hunting Lodge on Castle Leslie Estate and the service and attention to detail we have experienced was like nothing we have ever seen before.

The estate is just beautiful, the staff so attentive and friendly and the food so delicious.
It was my partners birthday on our second night and I had asked the manageress Kinga if she could organise something for a surprise and when my partner’s dessert came out, it was presented with a “Happy birthday” written in Chocolate all over the plate.

All the staff made us feel so special during our stay, especially Kinga, who looked after us in the restaurant with such professionalism. Her passion and enthusiasm makes her one of the most memorable members of your staff, but everyone else is just great and very helpful and friendly.

I cannot recommend the estate enough and everyone should experience hospitality on the highest level like it is standard at Castle Leslie Estate!
We cannot wait to have an excuse to return next year.

Kind regards, May Tubirty

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank may t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
74 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
24.8 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: $199 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing