We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In desperate need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Sulzbach, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In desperate need of refurbishment”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Castle Leslie and the cost was phenomenal the room we was in was in need of some TLC and the bathroom was disgusting the toilet was filthy there was just enough room for the bath, no shower only a tin can!!
Value for money it was not, and I would never be tempted to return...

Room Tip: Have no tips if they are all like our room go to the travelodge instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    199
    62
    40
    23
See reviews for
253
816
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Lodge at Castle Leslie, and it surpassed our expectations. We were warmly welcomed like old friends yet in a professional manner when we checked in. We were escorted to our room over looking the stables by a member of the reception team who enquired about our journey instead of being handed a key card and told which floor we were on! Our room was spotless and spacious.
We spent a lazy few hours in Conor's Bar where we had tasty bar snacks, my husband spotted his favourite single malt which he enjoyed later on that night. The bar staff were friendly and chatty and full of local knowledge. In the late afternoon we went down to the spa located near reception for the treatments we had pre booked. The girls in the spa were absolutely lovely, we left it feeling relaxed and wonderful.
Our experience in Snaffles Restaurant was excellent, the staff were friendly, professional, helpful and smiling! The lady who brought us to our table explained the menu and made some excellent recommendations.The service was faultless our wine and water was constantly topped, our napkin was folded I was amazed! The food was excellent adequate portions very tasty.The manager made a point of checking each table personally and enquired again on our departure if everything was satisfactory. We had such a wonderful experience we dined in Snaffles again on the Saturday evening and to our surprise and delight received a house plant as did all the ladies in the restaurant that night.
We had a great weekend enhanced by the friendly staff, fabulous location, beautiful grounds and our very brief encounter with Jack on our way to the car park!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Seven friends and I booked the Girls Getaway package months ago, and we were really looking forward to it. The package includes a five bedroomed house, complete with three bottles of wine, 3 six packs of premium beer, three pizzas and three tubs of ice cream, along with a selection of chick flicks, for that perfect girlie night in. There's also a 'mouth watering welcome breakfast basket' mentioned on the website. We were thrilled on arrival when we saw the house, it was beautiful. Massive rooms, comfy couches and snuggly beds, and quite importantly when there are 8 women involved, lots of en suites. We were a little disappointed to discover when we hit the kitchen that some of the promised goodies were absent, so we called reception to notify them. While they did drop down our missing wine, beer, and pizza, (but not the ice cream!) there was a little disagreement over the aforementioned breakfast basket. We, perhaps optimistically, expected something along the lines of the basics for a full Irish. What we were told was that breakfast basics were provided, and included a loaf of bread, some fruit and 4 yoghurt's. While technically I suppose this could constitute breakfast, I think the wording on the website is a tad misleading. But, in fairness, they did drop down a basket of croissants the following afternoon...

On the Saturday morning, we received quite a rude phone call regarding a mix up with our dinner reservation for that evening, accusing us of being a no show the previous evening. While this was blatantly untrue, as we had made our 7.30 dinner reservation at the time of the original booking, the manner of the receptionist made the situation that much more unpleasant. They offered to fit us in for dinner at 9.30, which we refused, so they got us a table for 8pm, but seemed to make it appear like they were doing us a favour. However, they did provide us with a glass of bubbly when we arrived at the restaurant, to compensate for our troubles. While not exactly a deal breaker, those little things did cast a bit of a shadow over the weekend.

Having said all that though, we did have a fantastic time. As mentioned, the Village House was fabulous, the spa treatments were very nice, the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, the food in Snaffles restaurant was delicious, and the service there wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to a friend, I'd just say beware of all the details, and double check everything before you go to enjoy a completely relaxing break!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandElle_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I, along with his elderly parents, stayed at Castle Leslie for two nights recently (Sept 2011). What a fabulous experience, one that truly made us feel special. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms authentic, and the meals were excellent. A highlight was actually getting to meet Sir Jack one evening in the living room. I ended up purchasing both Sir Jack and Desmond's books and read them. It was fascinating to read the history of the family and the struggles they went to in order to save the castle and keep it in the family. Three cheers for Sammie for creating a truly unique experience and sharing the family home. We also did a horse ride around the estate which was fun. This was one of my two favorite places we stayed while on our two week holiday. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imn2flwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendoon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

As guests at a wedding at the end of june 2011 we were warmly welcomed into the baronial entrance hall by charming staff. The atmosphere brought back memories of when the castle prior to refurbishment in the past decade used to host the most fabulous opera dinners. Once you arrive in Castle Leslie you realise you are somewhere realy quite unique. Thankfully this is not another badly extended former castle or fine country house ruined by an insensetive extension or makeover. Most definitely not, there remains an air of faded grandeur about the place which is a testament to the sensetivity and very informed confidence of the recent improvements.The castle though victorian has a much earlier feel and a distinctly italian ambience contributed to by the magnificent De La Robbia fireplace in the drawing room to the fine italian furniture mirrors and Paintings you rather feel like you are in an ex pats Palazzo. The dining room is wonderfully furnished with family portraits and overseen by a large blanc de chine model of guanyin imperiously ensconsed on the rooms fine irish georgian fireplace. The conservatory is the perfect place for afternoon tea of a coffee the air heavy with the smell of jasmine. The pavillion which is a permanent Marquee is the most romantic and classically beautiful wedding reception venue in Ireland with twinkling torches leading down to the lake overlooked by the loggia and fountain of the garden front. The bedrooms range from the stately to the comfy/quirky and are all unique which is another relief from the bland facsimile madeover rooms (most now in nama which have carabuncle- like been annexed to some of our finest houses and castles). This is what irish hospitality should be like and is a great place to bring foreign visitors. Our hosts booked out the Castle for the weekend and this is to be advised as it means you SHOULD NOT have have any non guests in the Castle. The food is appropriately fine and the staff both courteous and helpful. The omnipresent jewel in the crown is of course the erudite and endlessly fascinatiing Sir John Leslie with his wonderful anecdotes of a life less ordinary lived in his wonderful home and as a pow to becoming a champion of restoration in the Badia and in trastevere. This place is a joy and its realy great that the owners and management have not fixed what was not broken.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandpD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent the night at Castle Leslie and I have to say it's re-set my ideas of what you should expect from quality establishments.

We stayed in the Lodge rather than the Castle, but from the moment we arrived, it was clear that we were in for a treat. We had booked through a Groupon offer, or CityDeal as they termed it, but never did we feel as though we were treated as inferior. Our bags were whisked away while we waited for the room to be ready after arriving early and we sat in the sunny atrium of Conor's Bar to have lunch.

Throughout our whole stay every member of staff we encountered could not have been more friendly, helpful and courteous. It felt like they were welcoming friends into their own homes! The horse riding was a treat as were the Victorian Steam Boxes. Dinner in Snaffles was superb and it was only later in the evening that we realised that it was Sir John "Jack" Leslie himself dining alongside us, when he got up and played the piano!

The room itself was spacious and comfortable and very clean and we hadn't expected a turn-down service.

Breakfast was equally as good as set us up nicely for a walk round the grounds, an exploration of the castle itself before we had afternoon tea overlooking the lake.

The estate itself is still four years away from the end of it's 25 year restoration, but if our experience is anything to go by, it will all be finished off to the highest standards. We didn't get to avail of the picnic offers or venture as far as the self-catering cottages, but that just leaves us with someone to look forward to next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjhughes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Attended a Friends wedding at Castle Leslie. We didn't actually stay in the Castle or the Lodge but booked the self catering houses in the Village of Glaslough which is a short walk from the Castle. The houses are fab. They are newly built but the style of the houses is in keeping with the estate. We stayed in a 4 bed house that had two rooms ensuite, main bathroom, toilet down stairs, kitchen and dining room and two sitting rooms. House was very comfortable - just could have done with more pillows. The Wedding in Castle Leslie was fantastic. The Castle itself is lovely - we had a great time exploring all the rooms and the grounds. Wedding was in a marquee off the Castle (but felt like it was part of the Castle). Food was excellent and service was fantastic as well. Wine was topped up very frequently and everybody at the table got their meals at the same time which meant that none of us had to wait. Really impressed with the whole experince here - the only problem was that it was too short. Will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandeleur79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
223 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
72 reviews
11.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing