We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here with work for one night. I had a room in the Lodge which was stunning - beautiful decor and facilities with a small balcony overlooking the stables. It was so peaceful. We had a small conference in one of the meeting rooms which was great. It was lovely to have a meeting in a place with some character for a change! The facilities and food were great and the staff were really friendly, I wish we could have stayed longer. I hope to go back soon for a un-work related visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLE1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
There are newer reviews for Castle Leslie Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in the townhomes up for let, and they were HUGE!!! I would come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank JungaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

One night stay in this fantastic hotel. We stayed in the Mauve room, which gives new meaning to sitting on the throne. The castle keeps all its original features and does not pretend to be a new swanky hotel. We took time to read all the history of the castle whilst relaxing in one of the many lounge rooms. The food in the lodge resturant was amazing as was the overall stay. Would highly recommend but have suitable credit to cover the cost as its not the cheapest of places. If I could get a deal for a couple of nights stay rather than just the one on this occasion I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Castle Leslie for our 24th wedding anniversary, on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Everything was perfect. The receptionist showed us to our room, which was spacious and comfortable with a large well-equipped bathroom and a balcony with table and chairs. Dinner was superb (after a pleasant walk around the grounds to build up an appetite!) An excellent night's sleep was followed by an equally delicious breakfast. It seemed such a shame to leave that we felt we had to go for another stroll in the grounds first!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Attended a family wedding for two days in late July. Everything was superb. I'd stayed in the castle before and have always been highly impressed and this time was no different. The castle is so homely and one of the charms of it is that it doesn't feel like you're staying in a hotel. It's more like staying in a big old grand house. I note from reviews that some people complain about the fact that there are no showers in some of the castle rooms. If you really need a shower as opposed to a bath, then maybe you should stay in the Lodge instead. But i really liked the quirky old bathrooms in the castle. Food throughout the whole weekend was amazing. For a wedding reception, the meal really was first class. To serve pefectly cooked fillet steaks to a large crowd is some achievement. Anyone that had the fish at our table also raved about it too. And as for breakfast in the Castle dining room, it was excellent both mornings. There's not one thing i could fault the castle on. It's not cheap but you pay for what you get. Already planning a return visit before Christmas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My experience in Castle Leslie, my family and I arrived at the house at first we had a little disappointment as it was not on the grounds but over the time we ran back and forward to the Castle and learned that this was great fun and a big adventure. As the town felt so safe the 3 older children 15, 13 and 10 all walked up and down to the Castle at their leisure. Our experience of the whole package was fantastic. The house amazing, the horse riding superb, all staff unbelievable, food at the lodge 10 out of 10 and my facial was the best I have ever had. I can’t thank the equestrian team enough, all who made my 6 and 10 year old feel as though they mastered a horse in 2 easy sessions great, the horse carriage around grounds was a very special treat. I even tried to rebook this on Sunday but was fully booked for friends of ours to go on. I hope this is a great success and would highly recommend it to a family. Castle was so busy with weddings each day that only got in on the day we were leaving and no tour guide that was a pity, but I got Jack’s tour speech and that helped. Maureen

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Had city deal here, great value & lovelyexperience. Stayed in lodge. Room was beautiful. Bucket of champagne & Butler's chocs as part of deal, lovely welcome. Gorgeous bathroom - free standing bath & wet room. Very luxurious room & surroundings. Had lovely walk around grounds. Only downside - because there was wedding on in Castle we were not allowed to walk around it. Also we were interested in kayaking on lake next day but apparently lake is reserved for wedding guests day after wedding 2. Ate in Snaffles brasserie, absolutely loved the food & the experience. It's not cheap but is extremely good from service to standard of food. Only real gripe was breakfast next morning. Buffet style but very poor standard. Requested vegetarian sausages but had to wait until someone else ordered them for them to be cooked in kitchen. I had to leave before they were ready. Also scrambled egg was of poor standard - too salty & just tasted of butter. Serving staff that morning were inexperienced at best in complete contrast to nite before. Check in staff day before were bit cold & detached. Nothing like being made to feel welcome in a hotel. Wouldn't deter me from repeat visit. Would definitely return for some luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnazzyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
5.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
606 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
24.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: $203 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough
Castle Leslie Estate Ireland/Glaslough, County Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing