We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambledown Tea Rooms

Ambledown Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

this is a lovely little place, only does pizzas, garlic breads & wedges but they are fantastic. Has cosy little rooms, you bring your own drink, not that expensive about the same price as any takeaway but you get to eat it in a lovely setting..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tamccann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    43
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from another great night in AMBLEDOWN, pizza was excellent and Jeremy a hoot- craic mighty. Have enjoyed the soup at lunch time on another occasion. and afternoon coffee and cake after a walk in Castle Grounds, great to live so near this lovely spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank una c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lord Ambledown a man to remember!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went here just last week great craic and great pizza. I had the ploughmans pizza and sat outside the only thing was service somewhat slow but to be honest we didn't mind!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What a perfect end to a perfect weekend"!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a fantastic evening we had at Ambledown Tea Rooms!! We got married in Castle Leslie on a beautiful Saturday in May! After having what was the best day of our lives, we were looking for somewhere intimate and relaxing to spend the day after with our close family and friends! We stumbled upon this quaint little cottage which to our surprise had the most delicious authentic pizza we have had in a long time!
Jeremy and his staff catered for our group by seating us in the garden under a charming candle lit gazebo complete with a wood burning stove (with an unending supply of wood) and plenty of blankets to keep us warm on the cool evening! We brought our own wine and the staff at Ambledown cooked up a storm of nibbles, garlic bread, pizza and desserts. Jeremy even had his son drive some of us back to Castle Leslie after (which was literally a 2 minute walk)...all part of the service!! It was the perfect evening and most definitely would recommend Ambledown Tea Rooms for those looking for an alternative post wedding day celebration!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyjane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza and most charming atmosphere. Must visit in Glaslough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a wonderful surprise this charming tea room was for my sister and I. With a fire in each intimate sitting area, the tea room is warm and cozy....but so much more than a tea room. Fabulous pizza, teas, coffees and desserts are offered either in one of the quaint sitting rooms or outside in the wonderful gardens. Don't miss this wonderful experience if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambledown Tea Rooms also viewed

Monaghan, County Monaghan
Glaslough, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Ambledown Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing