We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another wonderful evening”

Ambledown Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from another great night in AMBLEDOWN, pizza was excellent and Jeremy a hoot- craic mighty. Have enjoyed the soup at lunch time on another occasion. and afternoon coffee and cake after a walk in Castle Grounds, great to live so near this lovely spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank una c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    43
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lord Ambledown a man to remember!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went here just last week great craic and great pizza. I had the ploughmans pizza and sat outside the only thing was service somewhat slow but to be honest we didn't mind!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What a perfect end to a perfect weekend"!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a fantastic evening we had at Ambledown Tea Rooms!! We got married in Castle Leslie on a beautiful Saturday in May! After having what was the best day of our lives, we were looking for somewhere intimate and relaxing to spend the day after with our close family and friends! We stumbled upon this quaint little cottage which to our surprise had the most delicious authentic pizza we have had in a long time!
Jeremy and his staff catered for our group by seating us in the garden under a charming candle lit gazebo complete with a wood burning stove (with an unending supply of wood) and plenty of blankets to keep us warm on the cool evening! We brought our own wine and the staff at Ambledown cooked up a storm of nibbles, garlic bread, pizza and desserts. Jeremy even had his son drive some of us back to Castle Leslie after (which was literally a 2 minute walk)...all part of the service!! It was the perfect evening and most definitely would recommend Ambledown Tea Rooms for those looking for an alternative post wedding day celebration!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyjane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza and most charming atmosphere. Must visit in Glaslough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a wonderful surprise this charming tea room was for my sister and I. With a fire in each intimate sitting area, the tea room is warm and cozy....but so much more than a tea room. Fabulous pizza, teas, coffees and desserts are offered either in one of the quaint sitting rooms or outside in the wonderful gardens. Don't miss this wonderful experience if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
955 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“Delightfully quaint wee cottage with a large garden.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

As we walked around Glaslough, we were hailed from a hearse. This unique event in our experience was what made us follow the undertaker's advice and pop into his tea room ten minutes later. The tea room is also a wee antique shop with much of the items for sale related to the owner/undertaker's passion for horse riding. It was no surprise that the large garden area (with ample seating and tables for al fresco snacking) leads directly into the equestrian centre of the neighbouring Castle Leslie estate. We sat near a roaring fire on a wet day and had an average bowl of soup. It would we even nicer on a fine day. The menu is small.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambledown Tea Rooms also viewed

Monaghan, County Monaghan
Glaslough, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Ambledown Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing