We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Park Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Clones B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went for a family weekend (brought both sets of inlaws) and we had a lovely time, despite the weather forecasting a wet and wild weekend. We couldn't have received a warmer welcome. It was lovely and cosy by the fire in the gorgeous drawing room, beautiful bedrooms, top notch meals, and for those who care, Neal's Yard toiletries in the bathroom. The children enjoyed the table tennis and rocking horse in the kids playroom and they loved the experience of being in a grand country house and being able to explore the estate.

We went to Enniskillen for an excursion but the castle was unfortunately closed. Still, we enjoyed the local town and hospitality of the local pub. It was lovely to return to Hilton Park and be welcomed with hot tea and cake.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holmansonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Park Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

One of the most special places I have ever been. The food that is all grown on the grounds was to die for. Fred and Joanna are two fantastically welcoming people. This venue would be amazing for a wedding or even a family get together. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RON212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hilton Park in late October for one night (tried for two nights, but there was no availability). We were warmly welcomed by Joanna, and given tea with a choice of two cakes, served in the drawing room. The grounds are good for walking, and bicycles are available at no charge. Golf is free at Clones Golf Club. Croquet on the front lawn was great fun. A four-course dinner was served that night in the dining room - the food and presentation were excellent - a real treat! Breakfast was very good. Rooms are spacious, beds comfortable. The only drawback to the accommodation is that there are no showers - bathtubs only, respecting tradition. The house has been in the same family for years, and they are very gracious hosts.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nordic1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had an intimate wedding at Hilton Park in July, and this place was the most perfect and romantic setting for the wedding ceremony we wanted. We found Fred and Joanna to be amazing hosts- they were incredibly accommodating, and we were very warmly welcomed and looked after.
The food was amazing from the homemade elderflower cordial to the divine courgette bread served with breakfast and not to mention the impressive dinner service in the dining room.
The rooms were beautifully decorated with attention to detail - luxurious towels, bath salts, fresh flowers, quality linen, and it was quite an experience to sleep in a four-poster bed!
My family travelled to many other places in Europe and the UK over the weeks following the wedding, but all had to agree that staying at Hilton Park was the highlight of our trip. Thanks Fred and Joanna for making this such a delightful and memorable experience for us- We'll definitely be returning at some stage in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our extended family ended a two-week road trip around Ireland with two quiet, relaxing days at Hilton Park. The house and estate were beautiful, and the food and hospitality were terrific. The owners, Fred and Joanna, work hard to continue the success of this historic house, which has been in their family for some 300 years. The place is a little out of the way, and the nearby town (Clones) is nothing special, but Hilton Park is a wonderful place to slow down, relax, do some reading, walking, wine-drinking and fishing, and recover from the hurry-up-and-go-see pace of travel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reattig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago as my friend was getting married in Ireland and the wedding party was held here. I cannot recommend this place enough, Fred and Joanna who live and own the house couldn't do enough for you, I almost felt I lived there as the hospitality was 1st class.

The food was excellent, breakfast was full of home baked goodies, to include breads, muffins, biscuits, beautiful fruits,, afternoon teas, etc. Wedding Party dinner was outstanding.

The wedding was beautiful and so was this place one I will remember for a long time.

Thank you so much to Fred, Joanna, your family and staff....... oh and not forgetting the dogsx

Michele Buckman

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele_29x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My son and daughter-in-law chose Hilton Park for the setting of their small intimate wedding. From the moment we descended upon the beautiful historic house, Fred and Joanna were there to make the weekend so magical.

On arrival we were treated to tea and cake on the lawn. Breakfast served both mornings were the best I have ever tasted. The wedding breakfast for 30 guests was set in the gorgeous dining room overlooking the beautiful surroundings. The food served was delicious! They also allowed us to use the basement for a small party to celebrate, it was wonderful. Nothing was too much for the amazing hosts. Attention to detail was second to none.

Thank you Fred, Joanna, Lucy and all your staff for making the weekend so memorable. Thank you for letting us share your beautiful home for a short time, we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget_1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clones
10.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
19.5 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,503 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
7.8 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Park Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Park Country House

Address: Hilton Park, Clones, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Clones
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clones
Price Range: $229 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Park Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clones
Clones Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing