We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Creighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creighton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Clones B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My sister and I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was fantastic - plenty of room to move around with a great, modern bathroom. Good price in a lovely location. Breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day. It was great to have secure parking and everyone was very welcoming and friendly. We only stayed one night, but it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatonsof68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreightonHotel, Manager at Creighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. Our bedroom renovation has only been completed this month and it is fantastic to receive positive feed back. We are delighted that you enjoyed our stay and the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
7
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clones, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I love going into the Creighton hotel for a few drinks at the weekend.the girls working there are friendly and always eyeing me up!
The food looks and smells nice,i will try something on the menu whenever I save up enough money.my friend atty flood let me lick his plate and it really hit the spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

nice hotel very central good parking at the back of the hotel was up for family get together drinks and dinner in the evening the staff and food lovely very friendly great breakfast too will stay there again when I,m in clones

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrelandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is located in Clones which was about 1.45 from Dublin, we go tthe bus which was quite straightforward. Overall we had a great stay, nearby to everything and the hotel is in the centre of the town with a supermarket/ ATM machines across the road. Food was very good an d we never went hungry, we also went to the dancing that was on the night we were there and would definately recommend it. There was also a quirky little shop recently open across the street which my wife loved. We would definatley go back, good atmosphere and overall we had a wonderful time, 5 stars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was back in Clones with my husband and children for a family gathering in September and stayed in the hotel. We all had a great weekend and were delighted with our overall experience. Great atmosphere, food and rooms. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel looked like it was recently renovated and was very busy for the entire stay. I would highly recommend the food especially the chicken pasta. We parked in the hotel carpark and used the side door of the new building to enter which was really convenient with the bad weather and babies buggy. I had recently read the other comments before making our booking but after staying I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

There is not much to chose from in Clones and what the Creighton lacks in comfort it makes up with the effort of its staff. The hotel is dated and the rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. Food takes a while and the bar could be cleaner but it is hard to complain when everyone is so nice and helpful. The one way system makes it difficult to find the hotel and if you miss it you have to go a long way around again. The car park is right next to the hotel but space is limited and I am not sure where else you would park if the hotel got crowded. Others mentioned the noise but we were on the first floor overlooking the main road and did not really notice the noise, but then again it was not the weekend and the town was very quiet.

I booked using email and my email was answered promptly. Given the lack of choice in the area the room price was probably a little high and the food while not great or fast was reasonably priced. All in all it was a good place to stay with good parking and good local shops. if you are doing ancestry search, start with the local library, it is within walking distance and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISO8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Room are small, furniture a mix'n'match of different styles and inadequate, bathroom really small with basin in the room, very noisy even with the windows closed. food at the lowest in ireland, in one of the most expensive accomodations in over two weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pradu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clones
9.7 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
14.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
12.2 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
16.9 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,484 reviews
12.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creighton Hotel

Property: Creighton Hotel
Address: Fermanagh Street, Clones, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Clones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creighton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Creighton Hotel Since the early 1980’s the hotel has been run by generations of the McCarville family, who are dedicated to ensure that the great history and reputation of the Hotel is continued for many years to come. The Creighton hotel is iconic building situated on lower Fermanagh Street on the junction with the Newtownbutler road locally known as Creighton Corner. The hotel was built in 1884 by Creighton Duncan. Although the hotel has undergone major refurbishments over the years, the previous and current owners have all ensured that the hotel has retained its great architectural aspects throughout. In the last number of years the Creighton Hotel has undergone major refurbishment, to ensure that our customers are ensured not only great Irish Hospitality from our professional staff, but great facilities to compliment our fantastic food. The Creighton Hotel caters for all family and business occasions, Weddings, funerals, christenings, parties, conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing