We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great meal”

The Forge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Carnaross
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“what a great meal”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

i and my family dined here and it was a wonderfull meal, price was very good too, the staff are the owners and are very good at looking after your needs. lovley place and great restaurant, booking advised

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcimtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food disappointing .....!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The restaurant itself is lovely and the staff really friendly but on the night we were there we found the food disappointing and unexciting....!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just brilliant”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a beautiful meal in the forge last nite, from the phone call to book until the coffee at the end of our meal it was brilliant. Lovely warm eatable food brilliant service what more can I say. We will definitely be back. Soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shamrockMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing poor service, over priced”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Haven't been to the forge for a few years. Went out with my partner for a meal there to celebrate my birthday was looking forward to something special. Firstly the decor is very dated could do with a revamp. The menu is still the same very little changes over the last few years.. Plenty of staff running around no customer service not friendly not efficient . The drinks are extremely expensive 35 for a sparkling wine! A glass of prosecco 8.50! I had a goats cheese tart with red onion marmalade ... All I tasted was sticky slimy marmalade tiny amount of cheese could not even taste it at all. The waiting between course was unreal, slow slow slow. My partner ordered venison for his main to be cooked medium, it was medium to well more on the well done side and to be honest it was tough. The food is over priced I have eaten out much better for half the price. You have no choice for veg or potatoes with your main.. Garlic potato is what is served , at least an option of maybe baked potato could be offered. Very disappointed won't be back again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emo-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
1 review
“A little gem in co meath ”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant over Christmas with friends. We have been here many times and we have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. The food is excellent along with the service. We could not recommend this dining experience highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank freshfaceCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forge Restaurant also viewed

Kells, County Meath
Kells, County Meath
 

Been to The Forge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing