We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used for convenient location by the airport. Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Interesting design. All that is expected from a good Marriott hotel - functional, clean, upper-end room decor, very nice beds. Only negative: initial room was on top floor, and when wiindy these rooms are loud from the exterior decorative grate that's on top of the roof. When I asked for another room, they quickly accomodated, and stated that they get the complaint all the time. (Which begs the question - why don't they fix it or not give the room to guests?)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlund999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
There are newer reviews for Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

We spent a comfortable 3 nights at this hotel using Marriott rewards points. The staff was very helpful throughout our stay with many recomendations and advice during our time there. There was public transportation right outside the hotel that provided service into Dublin that was quite convenient. The city was also close to Newgrange, Trim, and other area attractions. We found Ashbourne to be an interesting little town with a number of good restaurants. At the hotel the food was only so so and was very expensive. The breakfast buffet was only average and cost about $70. Overall, a clean, stylish hotel.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank WVtravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Booked hotel for 2 nights room only.got a great deal. room very big & comfortable.pool excellent.staff very professional & helpful.had dinner in hotel on the 2nd night of our stay & a friend met up with us.set menu for 2 €59 including a bottle of wine - excellent value & beautifully prepared & presented. Cant fault this hotel at all. will definitely recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamikGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was very much a last minute booking but we were not disappointed. This is a lovely hotel. The pool, sauna, steam room are really nice. The gym is the best I have seen. The room was clean and large. No complaints at all. The staff at check in were lovely. The village is worth a quick look around too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucozdekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed for one night spur of the moment stay. We only booked an hour before we arrived and got a 78 euro room only rate. Room was lovley, bed huge and so comfortable. Shower was great - easy to use! Really impressed with the pool area nad gym - the gym was juge with very modern equipment. Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't try any of the food so can't comment on that. Absolutely no negatives at all. Loved it and would retun in an instant!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducks_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Spent a night at the Marriott before heading back home to the States. Had a nice rate through Marriott Rewards and the room was excellent. One of the nicer hotel rooms I've had in the past few years. The kids (and adults) really enjoyed the pool and the various water jets you could play with. Be warned, however, swim caps are required and they're 2 euros each with set us back 10E for a swim. If we had known in advance we might not have swam but hard to say no when you've been building up the pool all day and three young kids are standing at the desk in their swim gear. Restaurant, Bar and Fitness Center looked really nice but we did not use. Had originally planned to stay here for two nights but it was recommended that we move closer to the airport for our final night and I'm glad we did. I can't say the hotel isn't convenient but it's not next door to downtown or the airport if that's what you're looking for. Overall, though, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joptak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We travelled to the Ashbourne Marriott for a three night stay and were pleasantly surprised. We are Marriott Platinum reward customers and when we checked in we were upgraded to very large room with king sized bed,also a rollaway bed for our three year old daughter, flat screen TV, and mini bar,(we asked the staff if we could use this as a fridge and they promptly emptied it). The bedding was excellent and bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked really well and kept the room nice and cool.
We also had the bathrobes and slippers though we never used them.

The hotel is very well situated with the town of Ashbourne only about 2km away. There is a nice variety of shops , a few restaurants and the usual McDonalds, Dominos/Pizza Hut Takeaways.With having a young child we went to a few play areas, one being puddenhill, the other an indoor waterpark called Fantasia, both were within a 20/30 minute drive. We would definately reccommend Fantasia as it caters for all ages with soft play areas, climbing walls, waterpark and gaming area.

We also used the hotel pool,(everyone must wear swimming caps) which was a lovely area, with spa jets at one side and nice jacuzzi at the other,it also had a nice small toddler pool. Everything in the hotel seemed fresh and new,and modern.

With regards to the breakfast it was fine, not a great variety of fruits and bread, but hot buffet was nice and fresh and warm, with the chef making what you require to order.
We ate in the bar and have to say the food was lovely, well presented and not overly expensive, would definately reccommend it!

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and had the typical Marriott ethos of good customer service. We would definately stay again for a short break
and think it is good choice for familys.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lufcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
289 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
10.1 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $113 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing