We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a fabulous spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a fabulous spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed in the Pillo Hotel for a night because the hotel and spa was recommended by a friend.
The hotel is suitated a bi out of the town.
We had no issues with the hotel at all, we arrived at 1pm to use the spa and swimming pool excepting not to be able to check in but our room was really and waiting for us which was a bonus. Our package included a 3 course evening meal which was lovely and we had a choice of 4/5 on each course. We all ordered different things and none of us had any problems.
The pool area is really nice but the spa area is fabulous, so relaxing and all the girls looked after us very well and very friendly.
I would recommend the hotel for the spa area alone. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishnic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Irishnic1982,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Pillo Hotel.

I was delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed all aspects of the facilities at the hotel. I was especially pleased to read that you would have no hesitation in returning and that would highly recommend the hotel.
I will ensure your compliments are passed on to all departments especially the Jules Spa.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Pillo Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    400
    163
    81
    54
See reviews for
646
299
17
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Pillo on the 19th Oct in a triple room. B&B rate was very reasonable for 3 people and staff were very helpful when I asked for a quiet room in a non smoking area.

There are 3 reception desks which is great as you're not left waiting for any length of time!
Our room was very comfortable and spacious despite it being a triple room. Beds were cosy and even though there was a wedding on, the room was fairly sound-proof (4th floor)
If I was to nitpick there weren't enough towels or toiletries in bathroom but I'm sure this could have been remedied if needed, as none of us used the shower.

We went down for breakfast around 9.50 and noticed a lot of people waiting in the foyer, the reason for this turned out to be that the breakfast room was quite small and with the hotel being large, there was a 15 minute wait for tables. The breakfast itself was quite nice with a selection of the usual cereal and hot Irish breakfast. Again if I were to nitpick we couldn't get the attention of any breakfast staff which meant not having our tea and coffee until after we'd finished our meal, but to be fair, the staff were run off their feet with the amount of people and still managed to smile and say goodbye.

Overall the Pillo is a clean, comfortable hotel with large rooms and very helpful and pleasant staff. They also have great B&B rate, so make sure to check directly with hotel for this!

Room Tip: 4th floor is smoke-free and more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Angelboo,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay on trip advisor.

I was delighted to read that your found the hotel clean, comfortable and relaxing. The spacious rooms are a feature of our hotel which makes us very popular for families also. Your comments in relation to the toiletries has been noted - you are also correct in your assumption that there are plenty of extra toiletries available on request however we will ensure we have plenty of same in the rooms with multiple occupancy.

I have also taken on board your comments with regard to breakfast following your experience and observations. I will ensure these are passed onto the food and beverage management team.

Thank you once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pillo Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights October bank holiday weekend. Room was fabulous. Check in very efficient. Only ate in bar but food was lovely. Breakfast very good & a wide choice available. Swimming pool lovely. If I had one compliant it would be that changing rooms felt very cold after leaving the pool area. Also a bit messy at times but this was no fault of the hotel, it was the guests... How anyone thinks it's acceptable to remove a baby's nappy & just throw it in the floor is beyond me. Very much a family hotel which is less than a 10 minute drive to Tayto Park. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPHWEXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear MPHwexford,

Firstly I wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on trip advisor.

I was obviously delighted to read your comments and to see your 5 out of 5 rating for the hotel - Many thanks. I was especially pleased that you got to sample all the facilities at the hotel including the swimming pool and that your were very happy with your overall experience. In relation to the temperature of the changing rooms, I will speak to the Leisure Club Manager regarding this immediately.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Pillo Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Totally indifferent staff. Long wait for breakfast despite lots of tables available. Shortage of staff to clean the tables or to serve teas and coffees. Breakfast cereal stand was disgusting. Hotel itself was clean and beds very comfy. Lots of children about but there is plenty of room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholiday745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Happyholiday745,

Thank you for taking thetime to post a review of The Pillo Hotel on tripadvisor.

Obviously I was extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy all aspects of your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you found the hotel to be clean, spacious and comfortable. I have noted your comments with regard to breakfast service and I will discuss same with the food and beverage management team.

I do hope this does not deter you from returning to The Pillo Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here on a trip to Tayto Park.The staff were very friendly.The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The kids club was great with a movie night included. If you're taking the family on a trip to Tayto Park, you won't do better than this hotel. I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianmac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Brianmac25,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Pillo Hotel.

We certainly have becme a very popular hotel for families large and small so I am especially pleased that your children enjoyed the kids club, movie night and the neighbouring Tayto Park.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Pillo Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel happily ticks all the boxes. Had a different hotel booked, one that I always use, clean reliable etc. but with bringing the kids on the mid term break it was a bit on the dear side. When I found the Pillo hotel I was a bit worried because of the unknown but it I was pleasantly surprised. Firstly was the entertainment organised for the kids was well thought out and a large function room was set aside for a kids disco, arts&crafts and finally a cinema sized movie viewing. With all of this, I am happy to say there was no compromise on standards. For less than €100/night we got a large family room with 2 large double beds with all the latest mod cons and high standard of finishings. Very modern trendy bar and restaurants serving beautiful food and drink with a spacious family friendly lobby for the kids to wander. A huge pool and modern gym to top it all off. Definitely making a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltaromeo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Deltaromeo82,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and 5 out of 5 rating.

I was delighted to read how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at The Pillo Hotel. I was especially pleased that your children enjoyed the kids club and activities as well as the pool facilities. We have received exceptional feedback from numerous familes who very much enjoyed their time at our hotel. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our family offers and packages.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Pillo Hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently spent one night's B&B at the Pillo Hotel, whilst attending a wedding in the area. My overall reaction was that I wished I was staying longer! The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful; the check-in and check-out was very fast & efficient; the room was huge, spotless and well-equipped; and the breakfast was delicious. But the absolute best thing about the Pillo Hotel was the bed! I had the best night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel (and possibly ever!). The kingsize bed was really high, which I love, and unbelievably comfortable - mainly thanks to a lovely thick & soft mattress topper. The pillows were lovely & soft too. I just didn't want to leave!
I would highly recommend this hotel, and can't wait for a reason to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JeanO,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review on tripadvisor!
I took great pleasure in reading all of your comments and I will ensure they are passed on to the Management & Staff here at The Pillo Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Property: Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing